Fiction logo

The young man riding on the back of a silver dragon

March 7th, light rain.

By Stephane PerezPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

March 7th, light rain.

It was particularly light, and when I stood in this rain, I also simply thought it was nothing more than fog.

Was it rain? Well, it probably was, after all, that's what mom said, but the weather was so nice and the sun was so high, could it also be rain?

"It's the silver dragon coming. If the silver dragon comes, it will bring a drizzle. Here, this is for you."

"Sunflower?"

"Yes, isn't it beautiful?"

Sunflowers were the only flowers my mother planted in her small vegetable garden, and at that time I thought she wanted to collect sunflower seeds to eat in the fall.

"Our family lives on a sunny slope, so if we plant sunflowers, they must be the best looking on the whole hill, right?" Mom looked at me with this smile.

I don't know when the world changed, but my mother said she didn't like this kind of calculation and rivalry, and then she moved to this deserted mountain, and my father also left.

"People with backbone are the most handsome, right?" She always taught me that if I was bullied I had to be brave and bully back, so she must have had her backbone too.

"What are you fuming about? Sunflower for you."

"Aren't you the most precious of your flowers? How can you give them to me?"

"You know what? If the silver dragon comes, you have to make a wish with the silver dragon, it's very spiritual, if you use sunflowers." Mom handed me the sunflower, and her hands together seemed to be making a wish.

A silver dragon! If you can hear me, I hope my mom will live a long and healthy life, and I hope we will have more money, please!

It's silly, isn't it? It's really silly ......

April 10th, sunny.

"When the hell are you going to get it!" As far as I can remember that was the first time mom raised her voice, before she always spoke very softly and quietly.

"And who will understand? Why let go of the big house in the city, Dad has been forced to leave by you, so why not I go too!"

Mom raised her hand and stopped in mid-air, she seemed angry, I saw her so angry for the first time, but it seemed, her eyes were filled with tears again.

"I'm sorry mommy can't take you to a good life, but please don't leave mommy, mommy ...... mommy can't go back anymore."

At that time, I only thought of leaving this wilderness, and did not notice the tears in my mother's eyes.

The sunflower inside the vase on the windowsill has now withered, like the way we are now, with a tattered appearance and a more fragile heart.

"Mom, this won't work, I really have to go, if we don't make money, we'll all starve to death, we'll definitely starve to death ......"

Mom was originally a person of many words, but when I finished these words, she was silent for a long time.

A gust of wind blew by and the dried sunflowers swayed in the vase.

"Okay, mommy will pack your luggage for you, and you should write often and report your safety." She seemed to have made up her mind so much that these words came out in a near whimper.

"Hmm." I answered her, perhaps she wanted to open up, I was thinking.

O Silver Dragon, where have you been? Is it that you don't like sunflowers anymore? How else could you not hear my wish?

April 12th, sunny.

The day of departure was a sunny day, I brought almost nothing, but also brought a lot, my mother gave me all the family savings, and a sunflower she planted in the garden.

I looked at her and smiled, she looked at me and smiled a little embarrassed and smiled along with me, in fact, my mother has always been very gentle and smiled beautifully.

We waved goodbye, and I left without looking back.

I walked through the mountains, the jungle, the creek with the sunflower, and then I saw the big city I longed for, it was beautiful and new, and I was excited.

I don't understand why mom doesn't like big cities, where there are friendly people, delicious food, great opportunities, and money to be made, and everyone can succeed if they work hard.

O Silver Dragon, I may have misunderstood you, you heard my wish that I should work hard to earn money and bring her over when I settle down.

But then, no matter how I invited, she refused to return to the city.

March 7th, light rain.

Time seems to be a reincarnation, I feel very dazed, as if I am back to years ago.

She still did not want to come and live with me, and she refused to go back to visit us.

My wife used to complain to me about this, but since we had our own children, she hasn't complained a word.

Today I bought a sunflower for my wife and asked her to make a wish, and asked her why she didn't complain about her mother anymore.

"After becoming a mother I realized how courageous my mother was back then. You left and took away her perseverance, her sunflower, her whole being."

This day, I tirelessly took the car to go back to my home back then, but I found that I had forgotten the way back, and by the time I found the way, I realized that it was too late.

The house where I had lived with my mother for almost ten years had become completely unfamiliar at this moment.

Is this house so small? Is it this broken? It clearly felt big enough at first to shelter me and my mother from the wind and rain, and to allow me to play with her in the house.

The house is still there, but mommy is not in the room.

O Silver Dragon, where did mom go? Did she live a long and healthy life?

It turns out that after there are no attachments, you can go so freely, as when the father, when I, and now the mother also left like this.

In my mother's garden, the newborn sunflowers grew extraordinarily well.

"O Silver Dragon! Just please tell me, where did she go, mom?" I plucked a sunflower, as if I was talking to myself.

The rain stopped and there were only a few faint clouds. Through the thin layer of clouds, I saw a silvery shining creature passing over the clouds.

In an instant, heaven and earth were gone, leaving only me and the silver dragon, which flew down from the clouds and flew to me to look at me quietly, how familiar was that look.

Mom, is that you?

The light disappeared, and the silver dragon followed, as if Mom's gentle smile, also disappeared at that moment.

I thought, I may never see her again.

Later, I found my mother's diary in my room.

That diary told the story of my mother's life, an unfortunate woman who sold the family fortune because her husband gambled, moved because her son was ridiculed as a wild child, and finally was relieved because her son grew up and left.

Except for the first page and the last page.

The first page of the diary: March 7, rain. The silver dragon that turns into a human begins its life on earth.

The final page of the diary: March 7, rain. The silver dragon that turned into a human is finally going back.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Stephane Perez

I hope you like my story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.