Fiction logo

The Young Fling

The Blood That Stains

By Michael J. HarrisPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
The Young Fling
Photo by Cassi Josh on Unsplash

Walking hurts as the pain goes from my heart to my toes. Shocked that the knife didn’t cut deeper. Blood dripping turning my white button up into a sea of crimson.

Behind me is a sea of blue and red. A sea of blood and lights from those trying to help.

The search is on, as I try to run, not truly knowing why. Panic striking as I stumble onto the road.

Whrrrrr... the cars zoom around me.

“Move out the way!” the cab driver yells as he slams on his brakes.

His once irate face softens as his gaze goes to my wound.

He quickly gets out and helps me to the back seat.

“W...hat happened?” He asked trying to regain his thoughts as he flew on the streets of the Bronx.

Catching my breath I did my best to recount what took place.

See I was at this house. Not just a regular house. It was a mansion.

This pretty young thing, this girl of my dreams invited me to this party.

Her family owns the bodega up the street.

Wait is this... no it can’t be.

We was just.... I can’t recall.

We ate dinner and went to the room I think?

This blood is it her’s? I thought to myself as I tried to denounce any thoughts of trying to kill a love I once admired for years from our art school years to now.

Going to the Bondega, Mrs. Hernandez always gave me discounts on anything.

Thinking back to this last time I was there, it was weird. All these people in the shop, men in suits talking in the back. Sophia was in a rush and breifly gave me a kiss on my cheek before fleeing out the door.

Sir you don’t have a clue. Nah you wouldn’t have one.

“Try me, what’s on your mind?”

Gaining my weak thoughts I asked.

“Do you know the Bondega up the street? You know the one my the art school? I’m trying to rethink something from my day?” I asked.

His demeanor changed and I saw a fierce smile. As he looked in the rear view mirror I noticed.

He was one of the men from the Bondega. As I dug deeper, I remember him from Sophia’s family parties. Always talking, laughing and looking at me.

What is going on? In my weak state of mind I tried to escape! He locked the doors! I yelled and fought with the my all as tears fell.

“Don’t get all messy on me. First of all you did nothing wrong to nobody but yourself. The young fling you liked, my niece set all this up. You see our family has a legacy.” He said in a sinister tone.

My thoart tighten as he was speaking. Sophia is his niece. What is this madnesses?

“To stay on top we need organs and a story. So Sophia was wearing a fake face all these years and you fell for it. You are young and a hip twenty year old. We need to stay alive and run the corners. Let’s go on a trip.” He continued.

I passed out and.....

My organs were generously donated for the well being of the Hernandez estate.

As my headless body dangle from the operating time, my lifeless eyes locked into the barn owl.

Stone cold eyes, this owl laughing at me. Jabbing and poking at my wounds that Sophia created for years.

My parents will never get the justice they deserve. And you know who will be on the front row for the memorial service?

The Hernandez family will be, with Sophia giving an Oscar award performance crying into my mom’s chest, as my family tries to figure out why the cops have not done a thing.

Still shopping at the Bodega, as they continue to harvest organs in the background. Our blood is their foundation.

Short Story

About the Creator

Michael J. Harris

I'm a young inspiring author and youth leader. I hope that through my YouTube and my writings that I can inspire the youth to both do and be more. Building on a ministry of stepping into the youth lives and allowing them to be themselves.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Michael J. HarrisWritten by Michael J. Harris

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.