Fiction logo

The Yellow Hibiscus Chapter 18

How did she know about the 'Yellow Hibiscus'? Why was she so afraid of me?

By Annelise Lords Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Image by Annelise Lords

I sighed, thinking I must find out if the diamond in my possession was natural and, if so, how many carats. Of course, the problem was that I had a weapon, and I couldn't really let anyone touch it until I knew exactly what it was. I sat there, afraid to move, wondering what the gypsy had seen while she was reading my palm.

How did she know about the 'Yellow Hibiscus'? Why was she so afraid of me? Or was she afraid of the Yellow Hibiscus? But how did she know I had it? And why should she be afraid of it?

I'd said nothing to her. I'd extended my palm that had touched the diamond. Her reaction proved, amazingly, that she wasn't a fake. A fake would never have been able to intuit or know about the Yellow Diamond Hibiscus. I, too, was in the dark!

I returned to the flower shop. The New York City Fire Department extinguished the fire and placed wooden horses and yellow tape around the area. It effectively blocked off pedestrian and street traffic, preventing unsuspecting spectators from trampling on evidence. I stood behind a large crowd gathered around the shop, praying Juan was alive and hoping that if Lucy were around, she wouldn't recognize me. Maybe Juan wasn't even there and had been transported to the hospital for burns. I prayed again that he was okay. Reporters from channels 2, 5, and 7 were at the scene with their cameras, aimed and ready to capture a story. The fire started by the diamond only caused minor damage to the flower shop. Thank God for that!

Listening to a group of spectators saying that Juan had suffered severe burns all over his body confirmed my suspicion about Juan. He was in Mount Sinai Regional Hospital. One woman lamented that she would miss him, telling her how beautiful she looked when she purchased flowers from him.

I hurried to Mount Sinai Regional Hospital on 69th Street, on the East side of Manhattan. Afraid, praying he would live, but hoping he could tell me something.

I was doubtful that anyone would let me into a burn unit, but I had to try.

I lied to the nurse at the nursing station that Juan Luiz was my father. She was helpful and sympathetic and told me he was in serious condition in intensive care in the Walter Jacobs Burnt Unit on the fifth floor. "But, dear, visitors are forbidden from going to Intensive Care. We'll have additional information after the doctors complete their examination of your father."

I wandered around praying for Juan's life and my thoughts on his family. Since losing my parents, I knew how they would feel. I felt like a hit-and-run driver. The mountain of guilt I carried around made me even crazier than I thought with the yellow diamond's unknown origin and why my parents had it. Maybe I should find Juan's family.

"What are you going to say to them?" my inner voice asked.

"I don't know. Maybe Willoby can help.'"

I fished about in my handbag but couldn't find the card Willoby had given me with his phone number. It must be back at home somewhere. It was probably better to talk with him in person since who knows who else was watching me. They might even have tapped my phone! I made a mental note to be careful about what I said on the phone and what I searched for on the internet.

I made my way to the 49th precinct in the Bronx, where Willoby had taken me on the day after my parents passed. Though I truly didn't trust him, I was hanging on to hope. Hoping he'd be of help. At the precinct, I asked for Sargent Willoby. Blank stares met me. I began describing him. Strangely, no one at the precinct knew who he was!

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoy it and will savor more from some talented writers on this platform.

https://vocal.media/fiction/flashdrive

https://vocal.media/fiction/to-life-tribute-58wjd00fri

https://vocal.media/fiction/success-uv8n3m0ibi

AdventureClassicalMysterySci FiHistorical

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Annelise Lords Written by Annelise Lords

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.