Fiction logo

The Worst Summer Ever

The diary of a teen girl during quarantine.

By Lea RuePublished 4 months ago 9 min read
4
The Worst Summer Ever
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Dear Diary,

March 13th, 7:30 a.m.

Nothing could be worse than having to go to school when Spring Break is just around the corner. All these rumors going around school that we are going to be on eLearning for two weeks because of a global pandemic. I just don’t believe it. Not because I don’t believe that there is a global pandemic, because I do, but because it is just a silly rumor. What is the harm of it? Nothing can keep us from school or our friends. Can it?

Yours Truly,

Avery Jacobs

Dear Diary,

March 13th, 3:30 p.m.

Apparently, they can take school and our friends away from us. The most annoying part is everyone at school was right, two weeks away from everyone. I can do this. It is only two weeks nothing bad can happen. This is going to be a piece of cake. Two weeks. Spring Break. What could go wrong? Nothing I hope. Not being able to see my friends is going to be hard. I am a very social person. I need to be around people. My family and I have a trip to pack for anyway, so I will be distracted during Spring Break. Florida here I come.

Yours Truly,

Avery Jacobs

Dear Diary,

March 13th, 5:00 p.m.

Trip canceled. This pandemic is ruining my life. What am I supposed to do during Spring Break now? No friends. No life. No nothing. My life is completely over. School is going to be easy though I hope. I already miss my friends. Covid. Pandemic. Are two words that I now strongly dislike to be in any sentence out of my parents’ mouths. It just means bad news is coming. This quarantine is going to be very boring if we can’t go anywhere. I have never spent this much time with my family. Now, I am told I have to stay in the same house as them for two weeks. I am going to get cabin fever quickly.

Yours Truly,

Avery Jacobs

Dear Diary,

March 14th, 8:00 a.m.

I am already losing it and it hasn’t even been a day yet. Can’t wait for summer to come. This is torture. I have confined myself to my room because I can listen to whatever I want to without anyone yelling at me. No one will listen to me. All I have to keep me company is my phone, which is how I keep in contact with my friends. I feel so alone in this world. All I have is my family and that is not enough. What is wrong with me? What is wrong with this world? What is wrong with my family? Why can’t I see my friends? Why is everything digital? Why can’t I go to dance class? These are only half the questions I have for the scientist and my parents.

Yours Truly,

Avery Jacobs

Dear Diary,

March 15th, 8:00 a.m.

No one has answers to my questions. All I get is “We don’t know. This is all so new to us.” They act like that is an answer but it isn’t it just makes me more confused. Think of it as a mystery that is brought up, but you can’t solve it because you are locked in your house forever. I am bored and there is no way to find out what is going on, not even the internet has anything. How are people supposed to know what is going on if the internet has nothing? The news people are just talking about what is happening with it in the Eastern Hemisphere. There is something definitely wrong with the world today. I have no idea where to start solving it.

Yours Truly,

Avery Jacobs

Dear Diary,

March 16th, 8:00 a.m.

I am so alone in this world. Mom says I am not. Dad says I am being overdramatic. If I was being overdramatic I would be flopping on my bed by now. No social interaction with other human beings besides my family is torture. My best friends can’t come over and they are hanging out without me. I am not allowed to talk or be next to someone. This world might as well make me invisible. No one is paying attention to me and my friends are having fun without me, so what is the point. It is like the world wants me to suffer. Is the whole point of this pandemic to split friends apart. It sure seems like it. Every day is the same as the day before, so what is the point of getting up in the morning if nothing ever changes in the world. Why am I still writing in my diary? Soon you are going to get tired of the same thing being written every day. Every day is the same as the last. No one can help me feel better. I am going into a depression and no one can help.

Yours Truly,

Avery Jacobs

Dear Diary,

March 20th, 8:00 a.m.

They are closing everything down! What?! I didn’t even know they could do that to a business. So many people are going to lose their job and for what, a pandemic. This is ridiculous. This situation is going to cost people their only way to get money. Now that everything is closed my mother is making every meal for us. They are the same every other day and that is boring. When I complain all she says is “We have to work with what we have” but that isn’t fair. It isn’t my fault that my taste buds are getting tired of the food to the point of not liking it anymore. Then I go to my room alone and depressed. I have no idea how to fix this depression I am in. Maybe I just need to see people in person. That might help to see my friends. Yeah that is a bond to help. All I have to do is make it until April 4th. I will be able to see them again. Right?

Yours Truly,

Avery Jacobs

Dear Diary,

April 5th, 8:00 a.m.

They are extending the quarantine! Now, we can’t go back to school. I won’t be able to see my friends ever again it seems. I am going to have a mental breakdown if I don’t get to see my friends in person. My whole life is ruined. Everyone at school was wrong. We aren’t going to be elearning for two weeks. We are going to be elearning for the rest of the year. What has come of this world? If people would only stay home and not around other people maybe just maybe we could go back to school. I have resorted to listening to music in my room alone to get away from my family and to drown out all the drama of the world. It seems to be working, but it is also the only thing that makes me happy these days. Not seeing friends has been hard but the only constant I have had is music. Music makes me really happy.

Yours Truly,

Avery Jacobs

Dear Diary,

April 10th, 8:00 a.m.

Nothing is different than it was five days ago. It is like our days are on pause and just the same every day. Pretty boring really. I wish more was going on but nothing really has changed except for my attitude. I am actually happier than I was five days ago. Listening to music everyday has helped me extremely. Who needs professional help when you can find something that calms you down and do that everyday. I am living proof that it does help. I still feel very much alone and depressed but I think that will end when I can see my friends again. Some things take more time to heal than others. I guess I need to trust that it will happen someday. Right now I think I will rely on music to help me through the day.

Yours Truly,

Avery Jacobs

Dear Diary,

May 15th, 8:00 a.m.

School has been over for a while, so now I have all day to listen to music. Some things are opening up but not enough to make the “deserted” town look any different. My friends are still not allowed over and my loneliness and depression is getting worse because of it. I need people to function through the day. Music is helping a little but not enough. When will I be able to see my friends again? Why is nothing the way I want it to be? The world is messed up. Mom says maybe in a few weeks I can have a friend, who lives around the corner, over outside to talk six feet apart of course. My family is strict on the restrictions that the CDC sends out. I think it is great that they give us something to show that this pandemic is real and how you can prevent getting the virus.

Yours Truly,

Avery Jacobs

Dear Diary,

June 10th, 8:00 p.m.

I got to see my friend today! I am so happy today. I feel like I can live now knowing that my parents will let her come over if we sit six feet apart. All of that loneliness and depression I was feeling a couple of weeks ago is gone now. I think all I really needed was to see one of my friends in person because I feel so much better about myself. All I need now is to be with all my friends at once but that won’t happen for a couple of months I expect. I will take what I can get. It was amazing to see my friend after not being able to for so long. I can’t wait for school to start again. If it ever starts again.

Yours Truly,

Avery Jacobs

Dear Diary,

June 15th, 8:00 a.m.

My friend is coming over later and I am so excited. I feel like I can get through this global pandemic as long as I can see my friends safely. My depression and loneliness that I was feeling is gone. All I feel now is anxious for school to start again, so all of my friends can be in one place. I just want to see more people, but at least I don’t feel alone anymore. Life is good. I can make it through everyday knowing that just around the corner is a friend that can come over. A global pandemic doesn't have to rule your life unless you let it. Learn from my mistakes and stay positive as long as you can. Remember the thing that might change your attitude could be just around the corner.

Yours Truly,

Avery Jacobs

PsychologicalShort Story
4

About the Creator

Lea Rue

If you are looking for a mix of Harry Potter and many different topics then you have come to the right place. I love writing poems and explanations about anything Harry Potter. I love reading murder mysteries and writing about them

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • real Jema4 months ago

    Hi, let's subscribe to each other

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.