Fiction logo

The World According To Ignatius

The Parade

By Misty RaePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Runner-Up in The Aquarium Challenge
15
The World According To Ignatius
Photo by Biljana Martinić on Unsplash

My name's Ignatius. Some of my friends call me Iggy. I wish they wouldn't. Such an undignified-sounding name for an adult, don't you think? All those names, well most of them with that ending, the eeee sound are like that, Timmy, Tommy, they're great for the young, but they don't age well.

I was born just south of here and have been an aquarium enthusiast for most of my life. There's nothing more fascinating than observing other species doing what comes naturally to them.

There's so much beautiful life in the world. All different types of creatures, or differing sizes, shapes and colours. Some are big and scary. Some are small and almost timid. Some are loud. Some say nothing at all. Some move very slowly. Others are very swift, almost jerky in their movements.

One of my favourite things at the aquarium is called The Parade. It starts at 9 am sharp and runs intermittently throughout the day. As a student of animal behaviour, it's never failed to amaze me.

Of course, I eat first. As they say, breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and if I don't get mine, I find myself getting cranky. Protein, I've discovered, is the key - sticks to your ribs, gives you fuel for the day.

The first wave of activity usually starts right at 9 and goes for about 25 to 30 minutes. Then it dies down a bit. Around noon, it picks up again. Usually, I'm having lunch by that time and someone will say, "Hey, Iggy, the parade's going again, let's go see."

Creatures in captivity are a funny thing. Not funny as in ha ha, funny as in curious or maybe peculiar. I always find myself peering into their eyes. They're the window to the soul, that's what they say at least. You can tell a lot about someone by looking into their eyes.

I often wonder, are they happy? Some look positively delighted, ambling around, almost animated, in both their expressions and movements, their mouths wide and open. Their eyes look bright.

Those are often the smaller, younger creatures, I'm not sure why. I suppose for the same reason I appeared happier when I was young, the cares and worries of the world are beyond your understanding. Everything is fresh and fun and new. There aren't the aches and pains either.

Then there are others that just sort of slog through life. You can tell they're just over it, so to speak. Their eyes are dull, almost lifeless.

I think I'd be one of the latter if the positions were reversed. I can't imagine being captured, taken from my home and forced to live out all my days entertaining others. I suppose I should feel guilty watching them. Maybe I should boycott, I don't know. Take a moral stand. Naw, I'm not going to, I talk a big game, but it's such good fun.

I've thought about it, but now my son is hooked. Yeah, little Theodore just loves the aquarium! Maybe even more than I do.

He's a smart one, that boy of mine. He's the one that pointed out that the creatures in The Parade don't have gills. They also have their eyes right on the front of their faces. Funny looking, I have to tell you. They'd never survive out here in the water. There'd be no way for them to breathe.

Yet they seem to want to try.

They're always tapping the glass on the tank they're in. It's a huge tank, but it never fails, tap, tap, tap. They press their faces up against the side, peering out at us, their mouths moving. I can't hear what they're saying. I guess the tank is soundproof. But from what I gather, they're begging for our help to set them free.

It's like they don't have the good sense to realize they couldn't survive out here. I've been tempted to let one go, just to see what would happen, but first, security is tight and I really don't want to get arrested. Second, that would be cruel and irresponsible. You can't just take a creature from captivity and toss it into the wild.

Especially these humans in The Parade, they don't seem terribly bright. Maybe that's not fair of me to say. I don't know what they do when I'm not looking. That's just my assessment as an old Tiger Shark that's been watching them at the aquarium for years.

FantasyShort Story
15

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    This is a.fascinating POV! I enjoyed it - thank you for sharing! :)

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Aww I relate with Ignatius! I always wondered if fish and other creatures like being gawked at behind cages and glass Beautiful story

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Wow, this was a great story. I wasn't ready for the ending, revealing it was the perspective of a shark! So well written and set up for the twisty!

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    Oh, dang I loved this! You told this story so masterfully, right from the very first sentence 😉 Fantastic and clever reference, plus Iggy's distinct character voice had me waiting for the pieces to fall into place, which made for wonderful tension and such a fun, rewarding payout! I loved going back and finding the clues/foreshadowing that I missed the first time. This is a great piece, magnificently told! I hope it does well in the challenge. Awesome work.💙

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Loved the flipped perspective, and how you so eloquently showed that both sides of the glass can feel the same. Great work!

  • Haha. I loved it. Felt like i was in the mind of a quirky fish. Thanks for sharing. Giving it a heart. Would love your feedback on my entree if you have the time.

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    You played this really well. Great stuff.

  • Gal Mux2 years ago

    Wow! This is wonderful

  • Morgana Miller2 years ago

    Love the twist and the commentary that comes with it <3

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic!!! Love it!!!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is a great take. Who's really trapped? hmmmmm. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.