Fiction logo

The Wooden Boat

Memory

By DanilBosPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

My hometown, in a word: "poor countryside", lack of everything, lack of money, lack of roads, lack of tall buildings. Every midnight, the lone street lamp cast a vague yellow light, shining on the scattered houses, can not help but give people the feeling of desolation and dilapidation. But there is one thing that the hometown will never lack, and that is the inexhaustible flow of the river.

It flows through grandpa's old times, through dad's recent times, and to my present times. The wooden boats in my hometown, which are not whole and chaotic, are scattered between the rivers and ponds. The atmosphere of "light boats have passed ten thousand mountains" is not something that can be sought after. But what I like is that it's a hundred turns and a thousand returns, and the mountains are heavy and the water is dark.

The wooden boat in my hometown has a unique place in my memory, and now the memory is unsealed again, just like an old wine that has been sealed for many years, giving off its unique fragrance. "I didn't know I was a guest in my dream, I was so happy to hear it."

"Yah!" When I was young, I proudly jumped on the wooden boat, as if I was saying, "Look how capable I am!" Shaking up to the bow, squatting down, take off the slippers, put the feet into the white and cool stream, a cool feeling from the bottom of the feet to the heart, really, really - too comfortable! Feet patting the water, flooding the water, looking up at the sky, looking at the sky flowing clouds, static sun, from time to time skimming the birds, really nice! Occasionally, when I fell asleep on the boat, the breeze brushed my face, and the sleeping me swung and swung with the wooden boat, as if I was wandering in the sky, and suddenly I had a kind of Zen flavor of "lying down to see the sky full of clouds and not moving, not knowing that the clouds and I are all east".

In the evening, it was time for my grandmother to come out and look for me for dinner, and the voices calling me came from all directions, so I hurriedly pulled my feet out of the water and sneaked up to the shore to meet my grandmother walking towards the river. My grandmother would always tell me about the water monkeys, saying that they love to catch little kids like me, and I listened to her with my head hanging down. Although I had no doubt about my grandmother's words, I had never seen a water monkey before, and my heart itched to see one. So the next day I jumped on the wooden boat again, hoping that the water monkey would come and catch me, but unfortunately, it never appeared and never came to catch me.

When the rape blossoms were in bloom, my grandfather took me to the fields in his canoe to work on the farm, but it was actually my grandfather who worked on the farm, and I always went to my cricket and frog friends, with whom I always had endless whispers. So, in a large field of rapeseed flowers, you can always see a three-inch man with a goat's horn braid, jumping and running after a small cricket. The first thing you need to do is to get a good idea of what you are getting into.

The first thing you need to do is to get a good idea of what you're getting into. When I have nowhere to tell my heart, I like to row my boat alone and go deeper into the reeds. The farmland is dotted with farmland, the weeping willows along the shore, the red liao and white apples along the river, and the willow fluttering in the air ------ are all decorated with a hazy mood for March. Look up at the sky, swallows soaring lightly, dragonflies flying all over the sky, clouds running freely in the sky. Look down and look around, the sparrows on the field monopoly swoosh and talk, the peach blossoms on the shore are burning open, and the bees and butterflies among the flowers are hovering and dancing. The east wind is blowing, and three thousand petals are falling, one after the other as if they were jumping elves. Under the peach blossom tree, in the rain of petals, in such breathtakingly beautiful scenery, I forgot all my worries, and just quietly listened to the sound of petals falling and falling to the ground.

When I sat in the boat when I was tired, I opened the essay on my lap and drank the tea I brought along, and suddenly I saw "The wind comes to the bamboo, the wind passes by without leaving a sound; the geese cross the cold pond, the geese pass by without leaving a shadow." It turns out that the green bamboo, the cold pond, also know "not to like things, not to their own sadness", that I, more like the bamboo like the pond, to do "things to come and the heart began to appear, things to go and the heart with empty."

Once in a while in the cabin to sleep, listening to the sound of water under the boat, sleepiness is gradually fading, simply get up and go outside the cabin to see the stars. I still remember that at that time, the sky is far away, the moon like a hook, in the sky in the fireflies, full of emotion and happiness. Soon, in the air in the burst of grass fragrance, into dreamland. The dense water mist in the river gave me a cicada-like neon dress, like a dream, indistinct and hazy. The next morning, I realized that I was sleeping with nature outside the cabin. Raise your arm, found a striking mosquito bag, can not help but smile ------

The wooden boat of my hometown, the wooden boat of my hometown that carried my childhood, swings leisurely, now, but I do not know where it has sailed to. I stood on the bank of the river of the heart, calling out to the distance: "My wooden boat, my childhood, you wander the four seas, after all the vicissitudes, must remember to return, back to the home of my soul!"

Classical
Like

About the Creator

DanilBos

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.