Fiction logo

The Witch in the Kitchen 1

I have a little secret that no one knows about.

By Stephane PerezPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have a little secret that no one knows about. Although my family is average, my job is ordinary, and my appearance is plain and unimpressive in every way, this secret is what makes me special. I'm a witch. Shhh, keep it to yourself, this secret only works in the kitchen of the apartment I live in. That's where all the secrets of my spells are hidden. Don't be surprised, in today's scientific society, every witch can master a limited number of spells, some because no one teaches them, some because they are too lazy to learn, and from one generation to the next, the subtle and complex spells have long been lost, and more are small tricks for living at home. For example, my mother will let the clothes wash themselves clean, while my aunt can make the wet clothes quickly become dry. But when the washing machine with drying function is on the market, the two of them immediately seem to have a lot of extra magic power, regret the grandmother straight sigh. I should have known that I should have taught the two girls to use magic cooking skills. Grandma is chagrined every time she talks about it. But the daughters have grown up, each married a human husband who can cook, have their own work, fun and social circle, naturally is no longer willing to bother to learn the grandmother's hard-won skills. So the burden of inheriting the family skills all fell on me. Unfortunately, I was probably not enlightened as a child, and no matter how hard my grandmother taught me, the limit of the spells I could use was just to cook a cup of instant noodles. But Grandma was not worried, always said I was still young, and when I grew up, I would naturally use the good. At that time, I was still a child, I did not understand, all the way to college graduation, in the city thousands of miles away from home to find a job, rented the apartment where I live now, is considered to be enlightened. According to the experience of the witches' profession, which has been passed down from generation to generation, many spells need a special place to be performed. The kitchen of the apartment is where my spell is. Look, the kitchen is full of all kinds of magic tools, large refrigerator, oven, gas stove, small dinner plates and rice cooker. Of course, all kinds of magic medicine is also essential, Li Ji's soy sauce, Zhang Ji's vinegar, and Liu Ji's bean paste, all neatly yarded on the small dining cabinet against the wall. Hmm? Some people want to ask why these so-called magic weapons and medicines are all discounted goods that I found from the online shopping mall? Hey, what law says we witches can't keep up with the times? Come on, it's not the backward era where you have to prepare all the raw materials by yourself anymore. In any case, I usually have nothing to do in this small kitchen to learn and practice, the grandmother handed down to me at the beginning of the thick book of magic recipes until rotten, is considered to have worked out a lot of spell casting tips to. At least every time I come home for the holidays, my mother will no longer go out to play mahjong and not come home for dinner as an excuse to refuse to try my dishes. But I always feel that something is still missing. Otherwise, how could even Dad's handmade dishes not even compare to those of an ordinary person. *** My grandmother has been dead for many years, and my mother is a fake witch who has no interest in spells, so no one can give me the right guidance. Fortunately, when my aunt visited me on a business trip, she politely reminded me that a man is still missing to engage in cooperation with this kind of spell like I am practicing. Although I suspected that this was a ploy by my aunt in collaboration with my parents to promote marriage, a little flipping through the history books of the witch world - which are usually titled "so-and-so fairy tales" to confuse ordinary people who don't know spells - I felt that my aunt was right. -I think my aunt has a point.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Stephane Perez

I hope you like my story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.