Fiction logo

The Winter's Love for Spring

By Kevin Jimenez

By Kevin JimenezPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2

This is Winter, but I did not feel as I usually did. The winds raged on yet without end and the snow fell ever infinite. Spring showed no signs of awakening. My beloved still lay dormant, frozen in an endless slumber and numb to all her surroundings. Her beauty forever preserved for me to watch with the knowledge that I may never get to touch her caramel colored skin. The warm breeze that would normally blow her into my arms along with her scent of honey and lavender, replaced by the stinging frost of this wretched storm.

The crunching of the snow beneath my feet reminded me of the leaves that fell last Autumn.

How long has it been since then? I asked myself.

I did not feel any decrease in my strength. Instead I can feel my power increasing steadily each day. And with each day that passes i dread that Spring will never awaken. I reached my destination. My head slowly lowered and I can see her.

Beneath the layer of ice of the frozen pond, there lay my counter part. Her wavy brown hair adorned by the wreath of green leaves crowning her as the Queen of Spring. Closed eyelids were the only thing keeping me from gazing into her beautiful eyes. I placed my hand on the surface of the ice where, if only it was thawed, my hand would have touched her cheek.

"What could have done this to us?" I said falling on my knees trying to touch her forehead with mine. "How I long to feel your warmth. I beg you, please awaken... my love." My tears fell from my face uninhibited. I came to a realization. The tears stopped and were replaced by the ice cold fluid pumping through my veins.

As if flipping a switch my emotions went from weeping sadness to the rage of a blizzard. If the humans had not weakened the environment, then Spring wouldn't have to rest for as long as she has. With a newfound ferocity and vigor I rose to my feet.

The northern winds raged and spiraled around my body. Their howls grew louder the faster they spiraled around me. The winds kicked up the snow powder and took on the shape of wolves. An entire pack waiting patiently, yet eager to obey my every command. They heard the cries of fury from within my heart.

I could only feel anger towards the humans every last one of them. Little by little they drove away mystical creatures with factories that turned the oceans murky and metal machines that uprooted trees. Now they threatened the balance of the seasons themselves.

I took a deep breath and exhaled a cloud of frosty air. "Tear down their homes. Hunt them down. Destroy everything that breathes." With howls that echoed through the sky, the wolves flew off to the corners of the world. As they left I could hear the cries and prayers of all the destroyed lives my creations were causing.

A temporary joy filled my heart, only to leave me just as quickly. This wouldn't change anything. Spring would still be trapped and without her the seasons wouldn't be able to continue. Over time even I would cease to exist for all life would eventually cease to exist. Without life, there is no death and without Summer, there cannot be Winter. I sealed my fate with nowhere to turn.

"Please, help her." For the first time I prayed to a higher power if any.

"You who sought destruction just mere moments ago, pray to save a life you doomed. What is your wish?" A voice growled from above me. I glanced up to look into the eyes of a massive Tiger. It's fur black as night and its stripes glowed red like hot embers. The eyes glared at me with a heavenly gold color.

"Yes, let me be selfish and ask you to melt the ice that keeps the Spring frozen in time." I pleaded, iIcould sense the power this beast had within. It burned hot as the Sun.

"I refuse." The Tiger said pawing at the ice with it's claws. My heart dropped with the loss of hope. "However I will tell you how you can free your beloved. Look there." I turned my head to see what I should be looking at. A single bright red flower, an orchid, was floating on a lily pad.

The surface of the pond where the flower grew was melted. The steam combined with the slight glow of the petals, making it seem as though it were engulfed in a calm flame.

"That flower will grant you the power of Summer. You will be able to melt this pond and restore Spring. However you will lose all your powers of Winter and therefore perish." The tiger patiently waited for a response from me. If it meant saving my love, I will do anything.

"How do I use it?" I asked. The Tiger seemed pleased with my answer as it brought the flower to me in its maw. "You must consume the Orchid completely. Once you do you must not fight the energy it will give you. You will be put through the worst physical pain imaginable."

I cupped my hands and it dropped the flower into my palms. The petals were warm on my fingers. In one swift motion I swallowed the flower. There were no doubts in my mind and I didn't want to waste any more time. Finally, I had a chance to see her again and nothing was going to keep me from doing that.

"I don't feel-" I started, but my throat suddenly dried up. The Orchid was dissolving in my stomach and spreading its energy throughout my entire body. It was like having thousands of needles sticking the veins all throughout my body.

The cold that has been within me since my creation was replaced by a blazing Sun, scorching my insides. If this kept going I could tell it wouldn't be long before my body was turned to ashes. I couldn't see anything aside from the flames that engulfed my body, ready for destruction. The Tiger growled "Embrace it! If you fight you will be consumed by it."

As I inhaled, I allowed the smokey fumes to sting my lungs. The flames followed the smoke into every organ. At first they burned, slowly becoming tendrils that tickled my skin. A warm stream filled my veins, muscles and bones. When it reached my mind, my transformation began.

"Behold, Winter passes and has now become Summer. Today will be the only time Summer comes before Spring." The Tiger burst into flame and exploded, vanishing leaving no trace of it ever being there. I examined my new body. There was a warmth that came with the aura of Summer. It was both rejuvenating and destructive.

Just by standing on the frozen pond the surface melted around me. I took all the energy I had within myself and let it expand outward slowly. A golden warm light formed a dome that, as it grew, melted away the snow and restored the lush green grass. The trees sprouted fresh green leaves, while the ground sprouted bushes and ferns. I took in all the beauty my new powers created.

"Winter?" The voice I wanted to hear for so long, like the feeling you get from drinking warm milk before going to bed on a cold windy night. Her scent of lavender and honey was now mixed with a hint of crushed mint leaves. Her brown eyes shined like copper in the sunlight.

My vision was blurred from the tears flowing from my eyes. "I had to give up all of my being to free you. Now that I have, my vessel will fade into nothing and I will never be able to see you again." I burst into tears realizing that all this time it was me that trapped her in that pond.

"It's okay." she clasped my hands gently in hers, "Will you hold me in your arms and dance with me before you go?" She asked with a gentle smile on her face. I dried my face and wrapped my arms around her. When we started swaying side to side I heard her giggle softly.

"What's so funny?" I asked her. She looked up at me with big eyes that took in all beauty. "You're so warm, I love that. You don't smell like frost anymore, now you smell like tea leaves and lemons." She buried her face in my chest, taking in a deep breath of my scent. With every motion we made new wild flowers and cherry blossoms bloomed in the area.

While the cherry blossom petals and leaves fell around us, I held Spring's face in my nearly transparent hands and kissed her forehead gently. We locked eyes, for a minute second our worlds became one and nothing else mattered. It was just the two of us, Winter and Spring. Then there was just Spring.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Kevin Jimenez

An up and coming writer sharing stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.