Fiction logo

The Willow Tree Triangle

The entity

By Lissa Jean Johnson Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 13 min read
Like

The Willow Tree Triangle.

The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window."

Driving down the road, Stacy can’t help but explain to me about her dream, again. “We were at a cabin, and in the middle of these three trees, there was money buried beneath the earth. And I am telling you, I dreamt about this place for a reason, which is why we are going there today”.

“I guess I don’t understand why you had to drag me along for the ride”?” Seriously? Because you were in the dream too, so I feel it would be most beneficial for you to come with me”.

” Beneficial for who? You or me”?

“Both!” If we find money, we can split it!”

As we pull down a dirt road, I can hear crows cawing, the sides of the road are covered in wildflowers, our car is vibrating like crazy as we drive on the loose gravel.

“Wow, is that the cabin”?

“It is, isn’t it beautiful”?

“I mean wow, are you sure this place is abandoned”?

“Yes, it has been abandoned for over fifty years. The last person who lived here disappeared and no one ever moved in after that.”

As we came to a stop, the first thing I noticed was a lit candle. Although, it was not the candle that held my attention, it was the bay window which sits to the left of the house. In the middle of the window is where the candle rests. The window itself is in a triangle shape, with a piece of white oak running down the center of it.

“Is that candle lit”?

“It looks that way”.

I have never seen a candle quite like this one. The candle was tall, red, and the flame burned blue, a deep midnight blue. I am getting this feeling that I have no idea how to articulate into words when I look at the candle, I almost don’t want to take my eyes off of it.

“Why exactly are we here? This is not my type of a good time, and I am feeling pretty annoyed right now”.

I know that I am more nervous than anything and I am not really annoyed.

“Seriously, I really don’t want to take part in this little adventure of yours. We are in the middle of nowhere and I have watched far too many horror movies to not see how this is going to end. First, I will be the one taken out, probably by the typical trip over a leaf or something stupid like that. I look to Staci in hopes she will agree with me, and we can turn back. Nope, Stacy appears to be very intrigued by the candle in the window also. I couldn’t help but take a moment to notice how stunning Stacy is, standing there in her black flats, yellow halter top and her famous blue jean shorts. I have to acknowledge that Stacy has an ass like no other and those jean shorts are ravishing on her. Don't even get me started on her stunningly long, silky black hair, which is pulled back into a perfect braid that sits right above her butt. Then there’s me, just your average Jane, 5’6, dirty blonde hair with absolutely no ass, in fact, I have been told a time or two that my ass reminds people of a frog's ass… Non-existent. As if she wasn’t blessed enough with good looks, she is incredibly intelligent too. Stacy has a full scholarship to Berkeley, for gymnastics and her 4.0 GPA which she held all of her high school career. Stacy locks eyes with me and in that second, I know that all hopes of walking back to the car and skipping this little “adventure”, “we needed” to experience, before leaving for college.

“Anna, don’t you dare start with your anxiety crap right now, let’s keep going. “As of this moment, I am trying to entertain my options; Option one, walk back to the car alone and get murdered by some maniac, OR option two, go to the creepy cabin with a random candle burning with you, and get murdered by some maniac”.

Staci just shook her head, grabbed my hand, and started pulling me towards the cabin. “

Exactly what I was thinking Stacy, option two, at least we can get murdered together”, we both start laughing as we walk closer to the house.

I can’t help but notice how abandoned the cabin appears, the front porch is covered in cobwebs.

“Be careful walking on the steps Stacy, some of the wood may rot and your foot will go right through it”.

As we round the corner of the porch, to the side yard, I can’t help but notice three very large willow trees. The trees were very captivating. So full of life, with an abundance of mixed shades of yellows and greens. There is something surrounding the trees.

“Stacy, what is going on around the trees”?

“I am not sure; it almost looks like some sort of rock formation”.

The rocks are all similar in size and make a perfect circle encasing the trees.

“Let’s get a closer look! I can't believe how eerily similar this resembles my dream. I have never seen anything like this, even with all of my research on different cultures and rock formations”.

“Stacy, I am not feeling comfortable right now”.

“I can understand your anxiety, although I can’t let that hold us back this time. Come on, this is a once in a lifetime experience, and how cool is this place”?

“Fine”! I say with a bit of a tone.” I will walk down with you, but I refuse to enter that radius with those rocks and trees”.

As we get closer, I notice three more candles, however, these ones are not lit, but placed at the base of each willow tree, on what appears to be an altar. The willow trees are set in a perfect triangle, separated by thirty feet of straight earth. The altars are made out of a deep blue granite, reminding me of the galaxy that remains untouchable.

“Hey Staci, do you think whoever made this picked granite because it’s made up of 80% of minerals? Do you think there could be a bigger picture to this than what we are seeing”?

“Seriously Anna, what are you talking about”? I don’t know, all I know is my gut is telling me something is off and maybe we shouldn’t be here”?

“To be fair, your gut is always telling you something, now please come check this out and get out of your head”.

All three candles out here are identical, and where the candle is red in the cabin the candles under the willow trees are blue. I can't help but feel as if these candles are meant to unify something and stand for something much bigger than we can understand. I am sure Stacy is right, and I am just over thinking.

“Anna, take a breath and just think about this for a minute. What do you think could possibly happen right now? Don’t actually answer that question because it’s a rhetorical question. The answer would be, nothing, nothing is going to happen. You understand that a group of kids probably got bored and wanted to scare the crap out of people and spent hours setting this up. I mean we should give them some credit; this is pretty cool.”

As Stacy walked over the border of the rock foundation, my chest got tight, it felt like someone had just placed a cement block on it. I couldn’t help but feel an immense amount of terror.

“Come on in” Stacy says while waving me on to follow her”!

“No thank you, I will stay on the outside of the circle, and you can relay everything you see back to me, while I stay right here”.

“Ok, but keep in mind that you might regret not coming in here with me”.

“Doubtful”.

Wow, this altar has a perfect hole in it to hold the candle, would you like to guess on if whoever made this drilled the holes before or after bringing these heavy slabs of granite out here”?

Suddenly, there is this loud crashing noise in the distance, followed by another, and another. We spun around and tried to figure out where the noise was coming from.

“Stacy, do you see anything”?

“No, I am sure it was nothing, just a few dead branches breaking off of some dead trees out in the woods”.

I am going to go check out the other altar, are you sure you don’t want to come with me”?

“Nope, seriously, I am good right here, this doesn’t feel right, plus I would like to evaluate these rocks further and see if there is any pattern going on here”.

“Suit yourself”.

While standing there, watching Stacy walk to the point of the willow tree triangle, I feel the wind start to pick up, the branches of the willow trees start to sway like a mother cradling her infant. Stacy stops and turns to look at me, as I am staring into her ice blue eyes, the candle wick bursts into a flame, one right after the other.

I have a sense of urgency sweep over my body.

“Stacy, RUN.”

I felt as if my feet were frozen to the ground, stuck in some sort of invincible ice shoes. I couldn’t move to get to her. Stacy is now sprinting towards me, as she is sprinting, I can feel this powerful energy pass through me, with the breeze of the wind. It feels like a lifetime before she finally reaches the edge, Stacy leaps in the air, out of the circle, just as the willow tree branches kiss the tips of the candle's wax, pulling the energy from the candle. Everything else happened so quickly. Stacy’s feet never reached the other side of the rocks. I see three branches burst simultaneously through Stacy’s body. Two of the three trees grabbed Stacy by the wrists, wrapping tightly before penetrating her very delicate wrist through her veins, instantly allowing her blood to flow to the ground, where it traveled to all three altars. Once the blood reached the altars, the third willow tree released its power in a vengeful way. The third tree caused the most damage, breaking through Stacy’s chest, shattering her ribs into thousands of small, tinted rose red shards of her ribs. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. Stacy’s lifeless body dangled above the earth floor, with her eyes rolled in the back of her head, showing only eye whites. Next thing I know, someone is speaking to me.

“Don’t think for a second that you are standing here, alive, breathing right now by accident, you are here, because you have something I want”. For some reason I felt no fear, and my brain is fully cognitive.

“Your DNA is the perfect mixture of DNA from all corners of the earth. I needed a sacrifice in order to communicate with you”. I started entering Stacy’s dream state months ago to get you here. Sending her dreams about this location and being here with you”.

“And why didn’t you just enter my dreams?

”No one can penetrate your subconscious state and I don’t know why”.

“You said my DNA is a perfect Match, a perfect match for what exactly”?

There is an evil released on this earth that would sicken even the devil himself. I need your blood in order to stop it. If I don’t put an end to this evil entity that roams freely in this realm, your realm will perish forever”.

“Is there more than one realm”?

“Of course, there is, this realm that you live in now is the only realm made up of humans and animals alone. In other realms we have all different kinds of “people", fairies, vampires, lizard people, if you can imagine it, it exists somewhere out there. I have waited over a hundred years for someone like you to be born, with your DNA being a perfect mixture of DNA from every corner of the world, and your blood is exactly what’s needed for me to build my strength in order for me to finally take down the evil that has taken over the world. All I need from you is to walk into the center of my circle and use one of these stones to make a small cut into your hand. Then after that, I will need only a few drops of your blood to fall onto the soil. From there I will do the rest and pull the energy I need from the earth”.

“What do I do once I am done in the circle”?

“You simply walk out, once my transformation is complete, I will join you on the outside of the circle”.

“Ok”. Was the only thing I said before stepping into the circle. Once in, I felt nothing, just emptiness. With each step I took to get to the middle, was a step closer to what felt like losing my soul. Something felt off, but I would not be the reason humanity would perish. Before reaching the center, I saw a piece of rock shaped like a knife. I picked it up, and before I knew it, I sliced my hand and held it out over the earth and watched as my blood left my body to fall to the earth's ground. It took only a few drops of blood before I felt excruciating pain from within.

“What is going on”? I cried.

“Only a fool would witness everything you did today and still trust me. You deserve everything coming to you. I wasn’t sure this mastererous plan of mine would work, but do you feel that pain right now deep in your chest”?

“Make it stop! Please stop. What is happening to me”?

“My darling, that is your soul literally being ripped from your body”. This will be your new home now. Due to your ignorance and allowing me access to you through your blood, I will now own your vessel, while your soul perishes here, forever. Unless one day, you manage to come up with your own master plan. However, your friend seemed to be a little brighter than you, so I have a strong sense that you will be here an eternity”.

I had never felt a pain like this in my life. It felt like someone was taking a butter knife to my spine and cutting it away from my body. I look down to see the rock and again without hesitation, I start slashing frantically at my own wrists, slicing through the veins, instantly feeling a sense of relief. I looked down and it looked like my wrist had gone through a meat shredder. All while Screaming at the top of my lungs….

“My body, my choice”. The noise that came next should have sent shivers down my spine, but it did nothing other than give me great satisfaction. As my blood continued to drain from my body, I felt my soul attaching back to my body and being released from the earth’s grip. Before I die, let’s take note again on how long it took you for your plan. With my last breath I made sure to leave the entity with a lasting thought. “Think about this over the next hundred years, how it only took me seconds to come up with my master plan”.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Lissa Jean Johnson

I am a survivor of child sexual abuse.

I broke free from a toxic mother & step-father at 28 with the help of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy.

While going through therapy, I wrote a book; The Trauma That Made Me.

My writing has become my voice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.