Fiction logo

The Watchman's Journal

Patient 309576

By Crystal CrowleyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 10 min read
1

Day One

This is my first day standing guard at the northeastern watch tower. I am not alone, thankfully, as Alfred is here with me. He has been with the watch for many seasons. He speaks often of the snow and how to stay warm, though he has yet to share tips on how to stay cool in this wretched heat. We are under strict orders to wear our uniforms at all times and I feel as if this metal helmet is slowly roasting me.

Ah, the night brings sweet relief with a cool breeze. I am thankful for it. I am thankful for this job, as well. Though the heat was at times unbearable, I kept in my mind the important reason I took this post. Penelope. She awaits my return, swollen with child. My earnings will allow me to provide her with food and shelter and the finest clothing I can obtain. Though I tire of hearing Alfred’s talk of the long terrible winter, it reminds me that I have two very important reasons to be here.

Day Two

It was more difficult to sleep than I anticipated. Not only was the cot stiff and creaky, I missed the warmth of having Penelope next to me. I have grown accustomed to many comforts since she came into my life. I have eaten what remained of the bread she sent with me. Now, I will sustain myself with meager fare at the tavern. Alfred told me of some apple trees not far from the tower, so I will seek them out when I can.

The day passed quickly. I found the apple trees and carried as many fruits as I could fit into my knapsack. They should last us a good while. I am missing Penelope even more than before. I still have so many days ahead of me without her. I’m not sure how I will make it through.

Day Three

I didn’t sleep well. Alfred spoke long into the night about a vicious beast that roams the land. He claims to have seen the creature with his very eyes, though the stink of strong ale on his breath has me doubting his every word. It has become clear to me that he is a drunkard. I have seen him dozing off during his watch, as well. I fear he may get us both into trouble.

Alfred won’t quit talking about the beast. I‘m not quick to anger, but I had to tell him several times today to shut up and look out for danger. He laughed at my seriousness, but the entire kingdom depends on our sharp eyes! I do not understand Alfred’s nonchalant attitude. Does he not feel any sense of pride in his post?

Day Four

I awoke feeling well rested. I am getting used to the cot and the sound the wind makes when it blows through the cracks in the stone. I am feeling more hopeful that I can make it through this fortnight, though Penelope is never far from my mind.

Alfred talks of a storm that approaches. I see nothing but distant clouds. I doubt that he knows what he’s talking about. He was at the Tavern for hours and came back drunk. I will have to do most of the watching tonight.

Day Five

Alfred’s storm came. We couldn’t see far in the rain, but we continued to watch in shifts. Even when I was within the small room where we sleep, I was chilled to the bone as my clothing was soaked through.

I am finally warmed, now that the sun is out once again. I was surprisingly alert today during my watch. I ate the remainder of the apples. Alfred has gone off to collect more.

It is well past sundown. Alfred has not returned. I am sure he found his way to the tavern for ale. I have decided to speak with the sergeant tomorrow, when Alfred has come back. I require a more reliable watch mate. Until then, I must stay awake and perform my sacred duty.

Day Six

Alfred did not return, even though midday has come. I am furious. I am beyond exhausted and stuck at my post with no idea when he will come back. I cannot even leave to request a new partner. I fear I may nod off at any moment…

Alas! Our sergeant has visited the tower this afternoon. I was pleased to report that the watch continued without interruption despite Alfred’s absence. He promised to send another guard immediately to relieve me and assured me that my devotion to the watch would not be overlooked. He told me a panic is sweeping the land. There have been reports of a monster. It is said that trees are found split apart and puddles reveal huge footprints in the mud. Sounds to me like the work of the storm and nothing more.

Day Seven

My new watch mate’s name is Elliot. He seems a good fellow with a superior sense of duty and I am pleased. He took a long shift last evening to give me a chance to sleep. I needed it! In the morning, after my shift, I went to the tavern and got myself a bowl of porridge. While I was there, I inquired about Alfred. I was surprised to hear that even the fair bar maids hadn’t seen him. Also, on my way back, I stopped by the old orchard and found a bag half full of apples. It seems that Alfred had begun to pick them. I am beginning to wonder what became of him.

Day Eight

Both Elliot and I were up most of the night as the sounds we heard from the forest were strange and unnerving. The townsfolk continue to fear a beast is out there, but Elliot and I are not prone to believe such things. We both feel there must be a reason for the sounds that makes sense. I just don’t know what that is.

I have just returned from town where I learned that the King has been swept up into the hysteria. He has ordered the Kingdom to stay indoors while his soldiers investigate the disappearance of several townsfolk and their livestock. I am shocked and admittedly a little frightened. If even the King is worried…

Day Nine

Elliot came to the top of the tower today with a small wrapped box he found just outside the door. We tore open the brown paper and opened the wooden box to reveal a hefty coin purse. Within it we counted 100 shillings! Beneath the purse we discovered a drawing and a note. The drawing laid out instructions for a trap. The note was an official order to abandon our post to begin construction right away! Elliot and I looked at one another and headed straight into town to buy supplies. We brought everything back on a horse drawn cart and chose a spot. We dug all afternoon and into the evening. Then, when we began to feel like something was watching us in the gloom, we headed back up to our tower.

Day Ten

Elliot and I were up early to continue our work. I still think this monster business is hogwash. The only creatures here that carry any threat are wolves, and then only when cornered or starving.

It is very late, but Elliot and I have finished our project. It is a fine trap and very dangerous. I worry that an unsuspecting townsman or animal may accidentally fall in. We have agreed that if we see anything or anyone walking near to it, we will scare them off.

Day Eleven

Our trap remains empty. The townsfolk continue to spread rumors about the beast. I am beginning to tire of keeping watch, as nothing even remotely interesting has been spotted by either myself or Elliot. It is…

“Henry!”

Ugh…what does she want?

“Henry, aren’t you hungry?”

I hate when I’m interrupted. All I ask is for my Virtual Reality time to be uninterrupted. Is that too much to ask?

“Pause game,” I say reluctantly. I flick up the visor to reveal my plain boring bedroom. My mother is standing before me with her arms crossed. A frown is set on her face like stone. She never approves of how I spend my free time.

“I guess,” I tell her. “The usual,” I add, wanting to get back to my game as soon as possible. My mother sighs and nods. She turns to go, but stops to say something more. “Oh,” she says, holding out a package to me. “This came for you today. Strange. It doesn’t have a return address.”

I narrow my eyes at her and reach out to take the small brown box. I see it is wrapped in paper and string, just like the one in my game. My mom leaves the room, closing my door behind her. I toss the box aside, figuring it is just a coincidence. I am not too concerned with what’s inside. I want only to reenter the world I was in. I pull down my visor and give the command to resume the game. My field of vision is once again within the watch tower. I am happy again.

Day , continued…

Elliot and I have not heard the eerie sounds in the night again.

“Oh, and Henry,” I hear my mom say. I thought she had gone. Frustrated, I moan loudly.

“I’m in the middle of my game!” I complain.

“I know honey, but this is important.”

“Pause game,” I grumble.

I once again lift my visor to look at my mother. But she's not there. Instead I'm viewing a hideous monster. Ravenous red eyes. Sharp teeth. A black hairy arachnid-like body. In an instant I know what is happening, but the fear has already spiked my adrenaline. I finally scream as the creature rushes towards me. The screen only goes black right before it’s teeth would have sunk into my skin.

I flick the visor of my VR helmet up, breathing hard. The game is getting exceedingly good at scaring me. I glance around my room, wondering if I’m still in the game or if it’s real life. I’m terrified, but I see no brown paper wrapped box. I sigh with relief. I can’t get over how realistic my own mother was in the game. It’s almost too good.

I get up and stretch. My mom is right. I do need to take a break sometimes. But then, my thoughts stop dead in their tracks. Stirring amongst the cobwebs in the far reaches of my mind, I pull a faint memory. My mother sits at her couch, smiling at me. She’s old. She’s telling me not to be sad. She has cancer.

My entire reality comes crashing down. I’m still inside the game. I’ve been in here for ages…I’m not a teenager anymore. I’m much older. How old…I can’t even recall. I struggle to bring forth the words I must say to stop the game. It isn’t pause or stop or even end game. It’s…

“Let me out of here!” I blurt out.

The garish lights and familiar sounds of the hospital room suddenly assault my senses. Pain floods my body. I remember now. I look at the band on my arm. I’m not Henry. I’m not any of the characters I’ve been playing. I’m Trevor Collins. And I’m in for treatment. Again.

A few minutes later, a nurse comes to check on me. They always do when we wake from our induced dream state.

“Would you like to make any changes to your program?” she asks.

I nod.

I say, “I want something more fun. And, no more brown boxes please.”

She smiles, amused.

“No problem Mr. Collins.”

I close my eyes and relax, waiting for the next game to take me away.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Crystal Crowley

I write to share my strange imaginings (and because I love it so). You can find my dystopian romance episodic story, [dis]connected, on Kindle Vella, soon to be followed up with [dis]mantled.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.