Fiction logo

The Wall

Loves Caw

By Raven BlackPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - January 2024
13

He sat motionless as the wind gracefully blew the tumbleweed across the pavement. A harmonious sense of calm filled his once-tormented heart.

“Life is one endless set of changing circumstances and events,” he mused.

The sparkling sight of warmth walked toward him; her endless smile beamed a radiated love that was matched by none.

A puzzled look formed on her face as she smiled, “Do you remember those books that progressed in different ways depending on the choice that the reader made? Life is like that. No, life is exactly like that, only we cannot start at the beginning when we don’t like what we choose.”

“The beginning is the end, and the end is the beginning. A repeating pattern until we make the right choices that see us through to the perfect ending. What if that perfect ending is to find that one person who we love with our all?” he replied enthusiastically.

A grin formed on her face as she quickly kissed him on the lips, “We are doomed to search until we can find happiness. Part of that test is finding the one person who makes us happy,”

“So, really things will only make sense or have any form of meaning when we find our person. First one has to be able to accept love, though.” He responded whimsically.

The sunlight cast a heaven-sent glow as they sat hand in hand atop the wall. A caw of a raven resonated in the background as if in prayer.

Holding out her hand to the bird in an effort to entice him closer, she sat perfectly still. Tilting his majestic head to one side as if judging her motives, he suddenly let out a loud and resounding “caw” before edging closer.

“Are you trying to entice other ravens, My Little One?” he jokingly questioned.

“Everything just wants to be loved,” she reasoned with a matter-of-fact tone.

Taking flight, the raven flew to the other side of the park, only to land in a tall tree branch to study the couple as if pondering what manner of creatures these were.

“Does everyone deserve to be loved?” he quizzed.

She closed her eyes momentarily letting the wind caress her face before speaking, “This is going to sound cruel, but no. Not if they truly have no love in their hearts. Trying to love someone like that is like placing your hand on a boiling hot pot of water and keeping it there.”

“Do you think denying yourself love is the most torturous form of self-harm? I once knew someone with an inability to love. I’d counter you, in that everyone is enough, but they have the choice whether to love or to be loved.” He casually interjected.

“I’ve known quite a few people who couldn’t sustain long-term love. The ending is not kind for them.” Her eyes looked distant as she whispered, “He killed himself because, eventually, he had nowhere to turn. Understandably, people were tired of his self-hatred, but I still feel some form of empathy though perhaps, I shouldn’t.”

“Some people can be dead before they have died, sadly. Empathy, my greatest blessing, and greatest curse. Don’t feel bad for caring, it’s what makes you special in my eyes. Fancy a coffee? I’m parched,” he said as he jumped off the wall, taking her hand in his.

Slowly hoisting herself to her feet, she smiled as the distant raven now landed in front of her before letting out a loud “coo.”

“Coffee sounds wonderful,” she told enthusiastically. “Look. I think we have made a feathered friend, My Raven,” she joyously commented as she gestured to the raven who was now following behind them both.

Love
13

About the Creator

Raven Black

He stepped out into the street, cloaked in his midnight-smoked suit and twisted-brown leather boots, shouting to the world, "Writing is my religion, and this is my church."

Hi, I'm Raven Black, and writing is my passion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Bravo! Your hard work is paying off—keep it up, congratulations!

  • My Life care ideas4 months ago

    Nice article, try to put in bold those points so as to reach many viewers. You can also join my team and subscribe for free.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Tumiso Rapelego4 months ago

    Beautiful reads!!!

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    Immediately was drawn in by the raven lol he's a cutie. This was a lovely story to match. Nicely done!

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Some hearts revive if love is infused into it. Some may be beyond redemption, very interesting views on life.

  • "Trying to love someone like that is like placing your hand on a boiling hot pot of water and keeping it there.” I've used this analogy before to someone in my past. I told him that's how it felt trying to love him. I'm so glad I was able to let go of that hot pot. “Some people can be dead before they have died, sadly." This is the ultimate bitter truth. "Empathy, my greatest blessing, and greatest curse." Now this resonated soooo deeply with me. I have a love-hate relationship with my empathy 😅 I was so happy that the raven was following you guys! That was so adorable! Loved your story!

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Quite the affectionate tale

  • Isabella Rose4 months ago

    This was an excellent story for us, My Raven. xxxx

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.