Fiction logo

The unforgettable time

The unforgettable time

By Karen M BryantPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
The unforgettable time
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

If I could turn back time, I would like to go back to that unforgettable time full of childishness.

Before I entered school, I lived in the countryside, and my grandmother's family had many chickens and ducks, and a big yellow dog. So at that time, I spent all day with chickens and dogs.

It was a sunny afternoon, I took a bucket with many small stones from my grandmother's house and rushed into the chicken coop. I quietly opened the door of the chicken coop, went in, picked up a stone, and threw it hard at a hen, who "clucked" and dodged. I grabbed many more stones and threw them at other hens and roosters, who cooed and dodged my flying stones. I smiled happily as I watched them run and flap their wings rapidly. At that moment, my grandmother walked in, looked at the fleeing chickens, and asked suspiciously, "Hmm? Why are the chickens so flustered?" I pointed to the stone in my hand, and then I picked up another stone and threw it at the chickens, saying, "Look, Grandma, I'm so smart. I took a stone to throw chickens, they will panic and run and fly, so that is to give them physical exercise, so that he their muscles more solid, and when I eat chicken legs, you can eat strong and fragrant meat." "You are not afraid of killing and injuring them?" Grandma cried. "Oh! I didn't think of that." I scratched my head in embarrassment, but in less than 3 seconds I left the embarrassment behind.

Grandma's house not only had chickens and ducks, but also a small orchard next to the chicken farm, where a short mango tree was planted. From time to time, I would climb the mango tree and play with it.

It was a hot afternoon, and I climbed up the mango tree to cool off as usual. Suddenly, I saw a mango as big as an egg on the tree, and it glowed attractively in the sunlight. I excitedly plucked it down and reclined on a tree trunk, ready to taste the fruit. At that moment, my grandmother passed by the entrance of the orchard carrying a basket of chicken food, saw me, and said to me with a smile, "Zhe, what are you doing?" "I'm preparing to eat mangoes." I thought to myself, "It's early summer and I've found a mango, so I'm sure Grandma will praise me. But instead of praising me, Grandma came to me and said, "Sun, how can there be mangoes in early summer? Even if there are, they are not ripe!" When she glanced at the mango in my hand, she started laughing and said, "This is the mango you are talking about? It's as big as an egg, it's still green and it's sour!" I scratched the back of my head and said in confusion, "How can it be sour? Mangoes can be sweet. Don't believe me, Grandma, I'll try one bite to show you." With that, I tore off a layer of skin and took a bite. "Waaaahhh!" So sour that I almost threw up the meal I ate at noon. "Grandma, this mango is fake, right? I'm so sour!" I dropped the mango and tried to find a sip of sweet water to rinse my mouth. Grandma took me by the hand and walked home, telling me as she went, "Sun, mangoes have to grow to the size of a fist and the skin turns yellow before you can eat them, otherwise they are sour." I nodded outwardly, but in my heart, I thought, "Grandma must have been cheated by the mango tree vendor, how can a mango tree grow such sour mangoes?

Time is always in a hurry, although I can't keep time, that time is full of children's innocence, free and unforgettable.

Short Story

About the Creator

Karen M Bryant

Like to use words to record the drops of life

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Karen M BryantWritten by Karen M Bryant

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.