Fiction logo

The Typical Man Must Provide Drama

When a Man Doesn’t Work in the Relationship

By BigSteff SAPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

EXT. — ON A HOT SUNNY DAY ON THE STREETS OF TEMA - MORNING

A 24 YEAR-OLD YOUNG MAN WHO LIVES IN TEMA IN THE GREATER ACCRA REGION OF GHANA NAMED ALEX IS DEEPLY IN LOVE WITH A 26 YEAR-OLD GIRL NAMED BRIDGETTE. THEY HAVE BEEN IN A RELATIONSHIP FOR A YEAR. ALEX HAS PROMISED TO MARRY BRIDGETTE THE MOMENT HE GETS ON HIS FEET, BUT HE’S FACING A TROUBLING DILEMMA THAT’S PREVENTING HIM FROM DOING SO, WHICH IS THAT HE HAS BEEN JOBLESS FOR 2 YEARS NOW EVER SINCE HE GRADUATED FROM THE UNIVERSITY OF GHANA. THIS IS GRADUALLY LEADING TO BRIDGETTE RUNNING OUT OF PATIENCE AND LOSING HOPE THAT HE’LL MARRY HER. ALEX RETURNS FROM A LONG JOB SEARCH FROM TOWN AFTER APPLYING TO VARIOUS ESTABLISHMENTS SUBMITTING HIS RESUME (CV). HE IS VERY DISCOURAGED AND DISAPPOINTED AS HE JOURNEYS ON FOOT BACK HOME AFTER GETTING OFF AT HIS STOP FROM A TROTRO NOT TOO FAR AWAY. HE PONDERS HOW HE’LL ONCE AGAIN BE TO BREAK THE NEWS TO BRIDGETTE THAT HE HASN’T GOTTEN ANY JOB YET.

INT. — INSIDE ALEX AND BRIDGETTE’S RENTED APARTMENT - AFTERNOON

He finally arrives at his rented apartment. He walks through the door and goes straight to the sofa (couch) to sit down in the living room (hall). Bridgette comes out of the bedroom and notices that he has returned.

Bridgette

Hey, baby. Welcome back. You just got back?

Alex delays in responding as Bridgette goes over to him, kisses him and also sits down.

Alex

Uh.......Hello, dear. Yeah, just came in. Back after a long job search from town, and I’m very exhausted.

Alex looks worried. He doesn’t know how to break the news to her that he hasn’t gotten a job yet.

Bridgette

So....How did it go? Did you find a job or not?

Alex

Hmmm, unfortunately not yet dear. I’m still hopeful and expecting to eventually get one, though.

Bridgette

Hmmm, same old story. I’m really getting tired of this. I mean you are the man, you’re supposed to provide for us and not the other way round. I have a job and that’s what’s been sustaining us. If not for that, how will we survive?

Alex

I know, I know. I know dear. I’m trying my very best to get something doing. I just wish I can help out. I wish I can be the one to put food on the table for us.

Bridgette

You always say that, but we have nothing to show for it now, do we?

Alex

I’m sorry baby.

Bridgette

You’re sorry?.....Sorry’s not going to get us where we need to be in life. Sorry is not going to get us the money to plan our dream wedding. Sorry is not going to allow my parents to see that you can take care of me and be a true man. I may be working myself, but I make just enough to keep our heads above water. We are just barely getting by.

Alex

I understand how you feel, and I‘m ashamed of my joblessness. I wouldn‘t be mad at you if you got someone else who’s well to do and move on with your life.

Alex looks at Bridgette with tears in his eyes

Bridgette

Awwww baby, I’m sorry for making you feel so bad. It’s just that I need you to be financially stable so that we can live comfortably and as a married couple. We have been together for a while and should take our relationship to the next level.

Alex

You’re right, dear. I will doing everything I can to get me a job. I won’t let you know. Please, give me one more chance to redeem myself

Alex is devastated and very worried that Bridgette will leave him if he doesn’t get a job. He is under a lot of stress and pressure. What should he do?



Love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.