Fiction logo

The Trial

Locket of betrayal

By MATHEW S HUDNALLPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Trial
Photo by Tamirlan Maratov on Unsplash

Seems like only yesterday that she was here, I never knew how much I would miss her until she was gone. This thing now, this little locket that once upon a time might have seem so little to me is now the only remembrance, I have of her. All that being said I can no longer just sit here and sulk in my own sorrows I must keep moving in order to find safety in this hellish place that was made by man. I never though in a million years that I would be living in an abandon store front in this once beautiful city of Seattle trying to find a way to survive and hatch a plan to rescue the girl who’s neck this locket belongs to. Oh, Justine my love oh how I miss you and long for you only to be plagued by my thoughts of doubt that you are still alive. As I close the locket and put it in my pocket, I remembered that the name of the ones that took her were called the Silencers and that they had a hide out close to my compound in a near by warehouse on the Sound. Oh well got to keep moving, I cannot stop now the sun is going down and everyone knows that bad things come out at night.

I made it back to my compound and realized that something seemed different and then suddenly as I look around, I see what was different, the reason I know this is because it was looking at me through the shadows with its eyes red like fire and the low growl of it breathing. I slowly reached for my pistol on my side and remember that my pistol was almost out of ammo. I slowly switched my pistol to my other hand and reached into my pocket to grab my extra clip. I started to pull out the clip out of my pocket quietly to not alarm this thing that is looking at me, when the locket from my pocket fell out of my pocket and hit the ground and this was enough noise to make the monster run toward me. I got a few shots off to try and slow the beast down but I only worked a little bit to slow it down. I found myself running to the building where Justine was being held and entered it quietly as to not alarm these others that might wish me harm. As I was able to sneak into the building undetected, I realize I left the locket laying on the ground at my camp, at this point I had to make a choice do I go back and get it or leave it there. In my mind I knew I should go get it only because it was a keepsake of the woman I’m planning to rescue and I should go back to get and risk being killed by that thing. On the flipside, Do I really want it though? It has been the source of my pain since the bombs fell that created this hellish land. Oh well I thought I’m here now.

So, I decided to continue to find her and snuck around their encampment dodging them and sticking to the shadows as to try and not get caught, after crawling behind boxes and barrels in the open warehouse and avoiding the staircase I found a staircase that led to a room at the top. I ascended the stairs to find a room full of armed thugs and a room sitting in the middle of the room in a chair. I thought to myself, could it be? Is it her? As I reached for the door of the room I heard a woman’s voice say to me “come in Stanley, I have been waiting for you”. At that moment I felt like that locket left alone and left to slowly wither away by the sands of time, felt the barrel of a gun push into my back and cause me to fall through the door and land at the feet of her, Justine the one I was trying to save.

After seeing her all I could feel was pain in my heart and like the pain I felt from seeing the locket I realized at this moment I was never going to feel pain again from the seeing it again because I felt I was never going to see anything again. It was also at this moment that she reached down grab my face and said “ do not worry love you pain is only just beginning” at that moment she dangle that damn locket in front of me and then pressed it against my head and stapled it to my forehead and put me in a room with mirrors so I could see the locket. She was standing at the door of the room and said to me “Now you will live with the same pain cause me when I had to see you fail to try and save me from my own men”. At this moment I shouted to her “was this a test?”. “Yes, and you fail you loser now sit in here and rot” she said. As I sat there looking in the mirrors that were placed in the room, I realized that like the locket I was nothing more to her then just another useless symbol of love or a memory and sometimes love is never worth the gamble of life.

Excerpt
Like

About the Creator

MATHEW S HUDNALL

Hello my name is Mathew Hudnall and I'm a Film student who wants to share my stories with the world if you like what you read then let me know

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.