Fiction logo

The Train Out of Time

A journey to nowhere...

By Dylan Published 2 years ago 17 min read
2
The Train Out of Time
Photo by Brian Suman on Unsplash

...

The Man Without a Clue

...

I woke up after a rather unsatisfactory sleep without a clue as to where I am. After a quick observation of my surroundings I realized that I was on a train. I checked my pockets for a ticket and they were completely empty. How did I get here? Where am I? I thought to myself and looked out the window. There was nothing, just and endless void of white.

Only one other person was sitting in the train car. Just a few seats in front of me was a elderly British man. His hair is grey, he has a goatee, and he's wearing a golden monocle with a shiny black top hat and matching suit. He looks like he could be from the early 1900's.

"Excuse me sir, Where is this train Heading?" I asked politely. "I am afraid I do not know," he replied pulling out a golden pocket watch and staring at it for a few seconds before returning it to his pocket. Which was very strange considering the watch's time was frozen.

"Do you know where we are?" I asked. "I am afraid I do not know," he replied, for the second time, pulling out the watch and staring at it for a few seconds before returning it to his pocket. "What's your name?" I asked. "I am afraid I do not know," he replied, for the third time, pulling out the watch and staring at it for a few seconds before returning it to his pocket.

Realizing this guy wasn't going to be any help, I started walking to the next train car. As I entered the second train car I notice something that sent chills down my back. The second train car was the exact same as the first, with the British man siting in the exact same position. I slowly walked towards him and asked, "excuse me sir, weren't you just in the train car behind us?" "I am afraid I do not know," he replied, once again, pulling out the watch and staring at it for a few seconds before returning it to his pocket.

Shivers ran down my spine and I immediately began running towards the next train car. It was the same, so was the next one, and the next one. After running through 11 train cars, I finally came to a stop and asked the man, "What the hell is going on here?" "I am afraid I do not know," he replied, pulling out the watch and staring at it for a few seconds before returning it to his pocket. Is that all this guy knows how to say?!? "You keep giving me the same answer and looking at that watch of yours, what's your deal man?" I demanded. "I am afraid I do not know," he replied, yet again, pulling out the watch and staring at it for a few seconds before returning it to his pocket.

"May I ask what time it is?" questioning if he knew any other sentence. The man looked at his watch and turned he head towards me. With a creepy smile he said, "3:33 am." I looked around for an explanation of where I was, the man was still smiling in my direction. I didn't seem to see any hope of leaving this train. Giving up I sat down in one of the seats and began to drift of into a quiet sleep.

...

The Girl in the Pink Pajamas

...

When I woke up the man was no longer in the train car and a little girl with short brown hair wearing a pink night gown stood in the aisle staring right at me. She was gripping a teddy bear and had tears falling from her eyes. "Are you alright little girl?" I asked. "I can't find my mommy and daddy," she said quietly on the verge of balling. "What is your name?" I asked. She didn't reply.

"Don't worry, we are going to find your parents," I told her. "Don't lie to the kid," said a deep, mysterious voice, "You'll never find them on this train." The voice was coming from the back of the train car. It was a man in his 40's dressed like a cowboy from the 19th century. He had a 5 o'clock shadow and his cowboy hat hid his eyes. Leaning back in his seat he lit a cigar and said, "everyone you've ever known is gone, the odds of seeing them again is a million to one." Then he took a drag of the cigar and blew a big cloud of smoke.

He continued on, "My name is Rick Cuban, I've been on this train since 1862." He leaned forward, tipping his hat up and staring directly in my eyes, "Nobody ever leaves this place," he said as chills ran down my spine once more. The little girl began crying out loud as tears continued to pour from her face. Suddenly a burst of golden light came from the front of the train, filling the whole car and blinding my view.

...

Caged In

...

The little girl stopped crying and when the light disappeared she was gone, and so was the cowboy. This train car had no seats, and there was a gate splitting it in two. On the other side stood a woman in her 40s, she was wearing blue jeans, a white t shirt, cowboy boots, and a jean jacket. She had long brown hair and brown eyes, she looked like she could be the little girls mother. She was crying with mascara running down her cheeks and her hair was a mess. "Help me!" she cried out gripping the bars of the gate between us.

Behind her was a enormous black bull, with huge 8-foot horns. It's head was bowing down towards us and it's right foot scarping the floor as it prepared to charge forward. Big breath's blew past the golden ring in its nose while it stared directly at the woman. She was staring directly at me tears in her eyes, helpless. I frantically searched for a way through the gate but there was no way through. "What's your name?" I asked trying to calm her down. "Bennet Jamieson," she replied, "I don't know how I got here please help me!" she screamed. Right then the bull charged toward her.

"Run!" I yelled. But it was too late the bull pinned her against the gate. She was covered in blood and continued to stare at me as I stood there unable to do anything. The bull stepped back and swung it's head piercing her side with it's horns. Blood splattered everywhere soaking the bull, the floor, the gate, and me. I was in shock and horror, smoke started to flood through the windows filling the train.

...

The Unknown Man

...

When the smoke cleared the woman and the bull were gone. I was back in the passenger car. Someone stood at the back facing the car behind us, wearing dark jeans and a grey hoodie with the hood up. "Excuse me, do you know what's happening?" I questioned with uncertainty. "I just witness a woman die, I have no idea what's happening, please can you help me?" No answer. "Hello... can you hear me?" I asked. Again there was no response, the person just continued to stare out the back door of the train car.

Curiously, I slowly walked towards the mysterious person. "Hello," I said once more, "are you okay?" Still I received no response. I was no within reach, they still haven't moved a muscle or spoke a word. Cautiously, I tapped their shoulder and said, "excuse me..." The person immediately swung there head around facing me. I jumped back in shock! they had no face, their skin was black, and they were plastic like a mannequin. No eyes, no nose, no hair, and no mouth. I was paralyzed as I stood there staring at the blank face as it stared back at me. They tilted their head to the side and suddenly the lights began to flicker and the train car went dark.

...

Dancing Under the Disco Ball

...

I stood in the dark with sweat dripping down my face. Oddly enough, I could here the faint sound of music. It was the song 'Can't Help Falling in Love' by Elvis Presley.

Before I knew it a disco ball had lit up the train car. This train car was quite different from the previous three. It was much fancier with gold designs along bright red and dark black walls. There were shades covering the windows blocking out the outside light. There was a golden table in the corner with beautiful blonde woman in a red dress drinking a glass of champagne. She had bright blue eyes deeper than the ocean, elegant white skin soft as snow, and cherry red lips awaiting a kiss. She gave me the most gorgeous smile as I stood there staring at her glorious figure.

"Care to dance?" She asked with a voice of an angel.

I must be dreaming, there is no way a woman with that beauty would want to dance with me. Either that or there's something in her drink. Which has me thinking, maybe I took something I shouldn't have. Trying to remember what I was doing before the train I was interrupted, "Am I not pretty enough for you?" said the woman. "Oh gosh no, er um yes of course, um yeah I would," I said before clearing my throat and adding with more confidence, "I would love to dance with you."

Taking her hand we began slow dancing around the train car. It was wonderful, the most magical dance I have ever experience. Her hands wrapping around my shoulders and mine grasping her hips. For a moment, I forgot that I had no clue where I was. As we stood dancing under the disco ball, our eyes locked and I was lost in the sea of her eyes. She started to move in towards me and I leaned in towards her.

I felt a rush of energy and a tingling sensation from my head to my toes as I closed my eyes, our lips locked together, and I kissed the mystery woman. When I opened my eyes the music stopped, the train was in complete darkness, and I could no longer feel the woman in front of me. I began to panic, frozen in fear.

...

The Spotlight

...

As I stood in the dark, silent, no vision, the sound of the train against the rails below my feet, with a paralyzing fear, a spotlight suddenly, out of nowhere lit up from directly above me. Standing in the spotlight I was the only one in the train car, it was completely empty with no furniture, no windows, and two metal doors at each end. The spotlight flickered and a shadowy figure appeared, standing in the dark 20 feet from me, about the size of a small human with glowing red eyes. "Hello?" I asked in fear. The lights flickered again and the figure stood 2 feet closer.

I tried to take a step back but I couldn't move a muscle. The lights flickered again and the figure stood 2 feet closer. Sweat was dripping down my face as I began to shake in fear. The lights flickered again and the figure stood 2 feet closer. I could hardly breath, fearing what was about to happen. The lights flickered again and the figure stood 2 feet closer. The shadowy figure appeared to a young girl in her late teens or early twenties. The lights flickered again and she stood 2 feet closer. She had pale grey skin, long dark hair, and a ripped black dress that looked like it was attacked by a bear. The lights flickered again and she stood 2 feet closer.

Her bright red eyes staring directly at me like a tiger staring at it's lunch. The lights flickered again and she stood 2 feet closer. I tried with all my strength to move but still stood frozen in place. The lights flickered again and she stood 2 feet closer. Could this be it? Is this how my life ends? The lights flickered again and she stood 2 feet closer. She was right there, an arms like away, with bright bloody red eyes and a devious smile exposing sharp shark-like teeth. The lights flickered again and she stood directly in front of me.

If I stuck my tongue out, it would touch her nose. Her face just inches from mine. Still unable to move no matter how hard I tried. She open her mouth exposing her sharp teeth and leaving the aroma of a rotting corpse surrounding my nose. A long blue tongue licked my face leaving disgusting saliva covering my cheek. Her mouth opened wide enough to devour my entire head. I felt dizzy and my vision went blurry, I could feel myself begin to fall backwards.

...

The Awakening

...

I woke up jumping out of my seat after a terrible nightmare, I was on a train. The train was in the station and beside me was an empty bottle of gin. I had no idea how I got there. The train car had 7 people in it, each one looked very familiar. There was an elderly businessman with a grey goatee and grey hair. He wore what looked like an expensive black suit and on the seat beside him was a black briefcase. He had a magazine called the golden monocle and on the front page was a golden pocket watch from 1922 for sale with it's time set to approximately 3:30. He was on the phone talking with a British accent about called Top Hat Incorporated.

Behind him sat a little girl with her parents, she had short brown hair, wearing a pink dress, cowboy boots, and carrying a teddy bear. The father had a 5 O'clock shadow and wore a cowboy hat, a clean button up black collared shirt tucked into his blue jeans, a golden belt buckle with a bull on it, and cowboy boots. He was reading a magazine with an advertisements for Jamieson whiskey and Cuban cigars on the backside. The mother had long brown hair tied in a ponytail, she wore blue jeans with a white t-shirt, jean jacket, and cowboy boots. She was reading a book called 1862 by Rick Bennet.

At the back right-hand side of the train sat a young black man with a grey hoodie on. He had the hood up and was wearing a pair of headphones listening to music while staring out the window. Across the aisle sat a young dark-haired girl, with tattoo's on her arms, and a lip ring. She was reading a book call 'The Devil in her Eyes' and the front cover showed a girl with red eyes. She wore a grey shirt with the word 'skin' written across the chest. In the seat behind me was a beautiful blonde woman with blue eyes, wearing an Elvis Presley shirt, and reading a book called 'The Girl in the Red Dress' with a glass of champagne on the front cover.

"Excuse me sir," I look over and standing in the aisle is the ticket inspector. "May I please see your ticket sir?" He politely asked. "Of course," I replied checking my pockets for a ticket. In my right pocket was an empty gum wrapper, a nickel, a piece of paper with someone's phone number on it, and the queen of hearts from a deck of cards. In my left pocket was a family photo of someone else's family, a 50 dollar bill, a set of keys that I have never seen before, and an expired coupon for Dairy Queen. However, I didn't seem to have a ticket for the train I was on.

"TEN MINUTES UNTIL DEPARTURE" a voice called out over the intercom. "Is there a problem sir?" the ticket inspector asked. "No," I replied hesitantly, "I must've just misplaced my ticket." I checked my back pockets and found a paperclip, a hotel key, the recent from a bar I've never heard of, and the shoelace from my right shoe. "Sir, I'm going to need to see your ticket," the ticket inspector said rather impatiently. Looking around my seat hoping to find it at the last minute I told the ticket inspector, "My apologies but I can't seem to find my ticket."

"I have to ask you to please exit the train sir," The ticket master explained. "Where exactly are we?" I asked. "Please exit the train sir," he insisted. "Okay, but I haven't the slightest clue where we are, would you please let me know where we are?" I asked again. "Exit the train sir," he demanded. Everyone was staring at me with blank expressions across there faces. "Alright I'm going," I told him as I stood up and walked towards the exit.

...

Nowhere

...

I stepped off the train and instantly the train started to exit the station. The station was empty, the train was fading off into the distance, and I was left alone with no idea where I was. I left the train station and found myself to be in a desert with no sign of life, just a sign that read 'Welcome to Nowhere'. I looked down and somehow my shoes managed to go missing since I left the train. The scorching hot sand was burning my feet, I looked up and the sky was a blank white with no sun.

I turned around to go back to the train station but it was no longer there, just the tracks leading off into the distance. I turned and looked in the other direction, the sign had disappeared too. WHAT? I was clueless, in shock, in disbelief, what in world was happening? The train rails were gone now too, I was standing alone in the middle of nowhere with sand below me and white emptiness above. I fell to my knees and began to cry. I don't usually cry but it felt right. I looked up at the sky and I started to pray.

...

Forever Lost?

...

I can't say how longs it's been, maybe months, maybe years, maybes centuries. I've walked around this desert with no food or water, there's been no sign of life, and the only thing I've seen other than sand is this notebook I'm writing in and a pen. I heard a familiar voice call out, "don't give up on us, we need you!" It was the voice of a woman, I looked around and saw nobody. "I love you," said the voice. I know the voice from somewhere but I can't figure out where. I started to hear a beeping noise, beep...beep...beep...beep...beep, it hasn't stopped since.

I've heard a few other voice's, there was a young boy telling his dad what he's been up to saying how much he misses him. A little girl said, "Hi daddy, I wuv you." A grown man said, "Hey man, we really miss you, Saturday nights at the bar just aren't the same without you." That woman's voice has been talking a lot, and I sometimes hear the ticket inspector.

Still I'm alone in the desert with nobody around and nothing in sight. I must be going crazy and hearing voices. I'm not sure if anyone's ever going to read this or if I'll ever make it out of hear. My best guess is that I'm dead but I don't know because I feel alive. Speaking of voices the voice of the ticket inspector just said, "I don't know if he'll ever wake up." Maybe I've fallen asleep? I don't know. The familiar woman just replied, "what does that mean?" The ticket inspector said, "Well, that means he won't wake up." Ha ha, I don't know I found that funny, I guess it's been such a long time since I've experienced actual humor.

Wait somebody just said, "We are going to have to take him of life support, it's costing the hospital too much money." It kind of sounded like the blonde woman from the train. The woman with the familiar voice sounds like she's crying, "Is there any other options?" she asked. The ticket inspector replied, "I am afraid not, unless he wakes up right now you'll have to say your last goodbyes." The little boy from before is also crying, he's screaming, "wake up daddy, please, wake up!" I can hear the little girl from earlier starting to cry now too.

The ground is shaking... I don't what's happening... There's crying and people talking... "It's okay, time to say goodbye to daddy." the familiar woman just said. "Noooooooo," the little boys screaming, "daddy wake up." The ground is shaking even harder now. The sky is getting brighter. Everything is white. Something is happeni...

...

Continued

...

You're probably wondering what happened to that guy, well let me tell you...

He was sitting in the middle of nowhere writing down his adventure when people started talking and the ground started shaking, as he wrote above.

At the same time, somewhere else, in a hospital room a man in a coma was about to be taken off life support. His wife and kids were crying and his son was on top of him, shaking him, begging him to wake up.

Meanwhile the man in the desert could no longer see the sand or even himself for that matter, just an infinite sea of white. "What is this? what's happening now?" he thought to himself. Shapes started to appear, but they were too blurry to make out what exactly he was seeing. "He's waking up!" said the voice of the blonde girl from the train. "Daddy!" The man could see a blurry image of a little boy hovering over him. As he blinked it started to become more clear, it was the boy from that picture in his pocket.

"We need to let the doctor's help daddy," the familiar sounding woman said as the little boy was pulled away from him. The blonde woman from the train was now leaning over him. "Hello David, can you hear me?" she said, "Are you with us?" she asked. "David," said the ticket inspector, leaning in from the opposite side, "Can you hear me?"

"Who is David," David thought to himself. His vision was still blurry but as it started to return he noticed the woman and two kids from the photograph in his pocket were at the end of the bed. On his left side was the blonde woman in nurse scrubs. On his right side stood the ticket inspector in a doctor's uniform and the old man from the train. "If you can hear me blink twice," said the ticket inspector. He blinked twice.

"David you were in a car accident, you've been in a coma for 2 years," said the doctor. In that moment he realized the photo in his pocket wasn't someone else's family it was his. The British man was his father who is diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer's. The blonde girl was his nurse and the ticket inspector was his doctor. The man with the hood was on a billboard outside the window advertising beat's headphones and the cowboy and his wife were on a billboard about domestic abuse. The little girl with the teddy bear was on one of the information poster's inside the hospital room.

He would find out later after his recovery that the dark haired girl from the train was actually the girl in the other car during his accident. He was driving under the influence swerved over into the opposite lane of traffic and went head on into her car. He wasn't wearing a seatbelt and flew threw the windshield. She was in her car unconscious and her car sat on a railway. A train went by destroying the car and killing the girl. When David recovered he was given 1 year jailtime for vehicular manslaughter. Since then he has never taken another sip of alcohol

The End

Horror
2

About the Creator

Dylan

Hello! I am a writer, poet, rapper, and musician trying to make it in this crazy world! If you like my poem's please leave a like and subscribe!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.