Fiction logo

The Thing on the Shore

A dream

By Laura LannPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
4
The Thing on the Shore
Photo by Elijah Hiett on Unsplash

I dreamed of boat oars dipped in water, of muscles bunching and tensing beneath the sun. There was beaded sweat on my brow and roaring grizzlies on the shore. I dreamed, and searched, and wondered down rushing teal rivers, and heard the churn of water and call of ravens. The sun was bright and eternal, and the mountains crisp and looming.

Fish jumped and sprang. My husband laughed and smiled. He was warm and breathtakingly beautiful as he always is in sleep and wake. We lean back into the next row, and he moves with ease and strength. His cheeks were red, flushed with summer. An eagle moves over head, its shadow touching the water. There is dialogue but I have forgotten the words we said.

We drift to shore and build a fire. It crackles and soothes the chilly wind away from our fingertips. There will be food and a tent, and something sinister is in the woods. We speak of it, unease in my voice. It is a monster worse than bears, prowling the shore. Its claws are long and hungry. Its snout ready for blood. And, it is somewhere, out there, searching for us.

The shallow water gurgles on past, the small pebbles underneath the current beckoning to find one that glimmers. I could forget the thing in the woods for now, find something better to focus on.

But, screaming alarms rip me from this dream. I am tangled both in blankets and my husband's arms. It's warm, safe, and smells of home. I blink away the crusties in my eyes, and find gratitude that the night ended before the dream could become putrid. Outside the window, the mountains this morning are cloudy and blanketed in mist, as if they harbor the beast of my sleep. As if they know, tomorrow night there is no telling where my mind will go.

Short StoryMysteryMicrofictionHorrormonsterfiction
4

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.