Fiction logo

The Talking Twin Towers

By Mary RobbinsonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Talking Twin Towers
Photo by Kishor on Unsplash

My name is KLCC Twin Towers, and I have been standing tall in the heart of Kuala Lumpur for over two decades. I have seen the ebb and flow of the city's life, and the events that have unfolded in front of me. But it is the secrets I have kept, the whispered conversations and clandestine deals that have truly made me unique.

One day, I overheard a group of tourists gawking at me and taking selfies. I couldn't help but chuckle to myself as I imagined them trying to fit my towering height into their tiny screens.

But it wasn't just tourists that made me laugh. I remember a time when a group of monkeys managed to sneak into my observation deck. I watched in amusement as they played around, trying on the souvenir hats and knocking over the bin of postcards. Eventually, security arrived to shoo them away, but not before they had caused a bit of chaos.

I may be a silent witness, but I have seen some truly bizarre things. Once, a group of clowns gathered in front of me to take a group photo. They were juggling, honking horns, and riding unicycles, all while dressed in full clown regalia. It was one of the most surreal experiences I have witnessed, and I couldn't help but grin as they posed for their picture.

By Peony Beatrice on Unsplash

I have also seen more heart-warming moments, like the time a man proposed to his girlfriend on my observation deck. They were both crying with joy, and I felt privileged to have been a part of their special moment.

But it's not just the events that have taken place in front of me that have amused me. I've also had some interesting conversations with the creatures that live in and around me. The pigeons that roost on my ledges are particularly talkative, and they love to gossip about the humans that pass by below.

Once, I overheard two pigeons having an argument about who was the better flyer. They were flapping their wings and dodging each other in mid-air, and I couldn't help but laugh at their silly antics.

Of course, not all of my experiences have been light hearted. I have seen my share of tragedy and heartbreak as well. I've watched as people come and go, each with their own hopes and dreams, each leaving a mark on the city and on me.

By Jaanus Jagomägi on Unsplash

I remember the day when a group of politicians met at the base of my tower to discuss a controversial issue. They huddled together, speaking in hushed tones, and I strained to hear their words. What I heard made my steel frame shake with rage. They were plotting to siphon money from a government project into their own pockets, and I knew I had to do something.

I called upon the pigeons that perched on my ledges, the cats that roamed my base, and the rats that scurried through my vents. Together, we hatched a plan to expose the corruption. We gathered evidence, and I whispered the secrets to anyone who would listen.

The truth was revealed, and the corrupt politicians were brought to justice. I felt a sense of pride knowing that I had played a small part in bringing about justice and holding the powerful accountable.

But even in the face of hardship and sorrow, I remain steadfast. I continue to stand tall, watching and listening to everything that happens in front of me. I may be a silent witness, but I hold secrets that could shake the very foundations of this city.

By Esmonde Yong on Unsplash

As the sun sets, the city lights up, and I become a beacon of light, a shining symbol of the hopes and dreams of the people of Kuala Lumpur. But even as they admire my beauty, they will never know the secrets I hold, the whispered conversations and backroom deals, the moments of joy and sorrow that have unfolded in front of me.

For I am KLCC Twin Towers, and I will continue to stand tall, watching and listening to everything that happens in front of me, a silent witness to the history of this great city.

HistoricalShort StoryScriptMysteryHumorFan FictionAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.