Fiction logo

The story of a pencil

When I was in elementary school, my family was so poor that I couldn't afford to buy pencils

By Ebrahim mohammadiePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The story of a pencil
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

When I was in elementary school, my family was so poor that I couldn't afford to buy pencils. I didn't dare to have the luxury of buying pencils, because, at that time, it was already an exception for me to go to school, and many children of my age went to work in the fields early, so it seemed to me that I was lucky to go to school.

But what if I didn't have a pen? The adults were too busy working to care about such trivial things. At first, I borrowed my deskmate's pen, but I was too embarrassed to borrow it all the time. That day after school, I found a pencil tip that had been thrown away while sweeping the floor, and as if I had found a treasure, I immediately put it into my pocket. I finally had a pencil of my own, and I couldn't describe the feeling. From then on, I never had to borrow a pencil again, and the days when I didn't borrow a pencil were a blessing. The pencil tip was so small that I had to squeeze it tightly with my hand when I wrote, and if I loosened it a bit, the pencil tip might run off and I couldn't write. However, I was able to overcome these difficulties, and one pencil tip lasted about four or five days. When I ran out, I went to the garbage dumping place to look for it, and whenever I found a pencil tip, my heart burst with joy. However, I was afraid that my classmates would see it, so I was the last one to go after school every day, and I immediately put it in my pocket after I picked it up.

As time went by, I accumulated dozens of pencil tips. Looking at those pencil tips of different colors and lengths, my heart was full of joy and expectation. They were like stars that decorated my world, and I was so looking forward to having a decent pencil, even if I didn't use it, looking at it every day would make me feel happy. So, that pencil always came to me quietly in my dreams and would leave again quietly, leaving me with nothing but endless expectations.

When I reached the third grade, my teacher gave me a special prize after a test because of my excellent grades. It was an unprepared day when the teacher presented a long pencil to me. I never thought that my wish for years would come true at this moment, and my heart was written with excitement and emotion. I don't know how I got home that day, but I guess I ran all the way home and clutched the pencil tightly in my hand. For several days, my heart was surrounded by excitement, and I couldn't bear to write with it at all. I put it next to my desk, and when I saw it, it was as if I heard my teacher's encouragement and praise. So, my motivation to study grew stronger and stronger.

Those engraved days in this pencil and my growth gradually became a memory, and many past events were dusted in the corner of my memory. The flowers blossomed and the clouds rolled, the steps of the old man of time were not old, and in the blink of an eye, I had a good job. However, that pencil has always been with me, I never could let go of it, it followed me from the past to today. Although it is just an ordinary pencil, it carries contents beyond the pencil itself, and to me, it is both a compliment, a ray of warmth, and an encouragement. It was thanks to this content that I was able to develop later. Now, I have said goodbye to the days of using pencils, but those memories of the past should never fade with my heartbeat ......

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Ebrahim mohammadie

Go for a walk. Get to know more about the world. Want to go on adventures?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.