Fiction logo

The Steampunk Letters

A collection of steampunk flash fiction

By TreAnna GreenwoodPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

The first letter:

Hidden Secrets

“Ow!” Luke sat down heavily, rubbing his head where he had knocked it on the beam above him. “Go to the attic, he said. Find my mask, he said. Crazy old man!”

With a sigh he got back on his hands and knees and shuffled forward through the debris. There was so much junk up here, finding one item seemed an impossible task. Then his fingers brushed worn leather. “Finally!” Smiling triumphantly, Luke backed out of the crawl space and emerged into the hustle and bustle of the store.

“Old Man! Here’s your mask!” Mr. Garfunkle came up behind Luke and hit him over the head with is cane. Luke cried out indignant. “What was that for you old bat?” “Treat your elders with more respect! Haven’t I taught you that?”

Luke rubbed his injured head. “What do you want with this old relic?”

“I want to teach you a lesson.”

Luke rolled his eyes. “What sort of lesson?”

Garfunkle pulled the ancient leather over Luke’s head, fastening the goggles into place. “Not everything is as it appears.”

Before Luke could utter a retort, the world began to evolve before him, change into something entirely different and completely insane.

The second letter:

The Key

Katherine stood at the window, curtains drawn back so she could glimpse the full moon.

She was dressed in a russet red dress, a glittering onyx necklace draped across her throat. Just as all those centuries ago she was awaiting the same thing. A key.

Out of everything she could have in this world, that was all her heart desired. A simple key.

Impatiently she looked back out the window at the dark streets below. Would he even come? No sooner had the thought flitted across her mind, than the heavy oaken door behind her began to open. A shadow slipped into the room.

The crystal chandelier hanging over her head tinkled daintily as the door closed with a thud.

Katherine turned and practically ran to the center of the room. The shadow hesitated several feet away before moving forward and slipping a single, solid object into her hands.

For the briefest of moments, she thought she saw the shadow change, evolve into a handsome young man. She gasped. “Henry?” Almost immediately he turned and fled.

The object he had given her remained locked in her fingers. She looked down. Finally she had it. The key to her future.

The third letter:

The Package

Cassandra sighed impatiently. Alexander was late. She tried to smooth down her red curls unsuccessfully.

She clutched the package she held tighter. Surely no one would recognize her in these clothes, but she was still wary. She wore a top hat, a small model with a lace veil. A corset laced up the front of her white blouse and instead of her usual flowing skirts, she wore a pair of men’s trousers.

She felt very out of sorts, but Alexander had been most adamant in the fact that she could not be recognized. The package she had to deliver was of utter importance.

Not for the first time, Cassandra wondered what kind of parcel she was delivering. She would find out just as soon as Andrew arrived, but where was he?

The carriage came out of nowhere, stopping right in front of her. Before she could blink the door opened and she was pulled inside. Alexander sat across from her.

“Did you bring it?” Cassandra held up the package. Without warning he snatched it from her hands. Seconds later he pulled out a pair of vine goggles. “What are those?”

Alexander smiled cockily. “The key to time.”

The final letter:

An Unspeakable Sin

I was so utterly cold, and I didn't know why. I could hear voices around me. See faint, blurred shapes. "Delicate procedure..."

"She may not survive..."

"Only choice..."

Then my world dissovled into darkness

Several days later my eyes opened to a dimly lit room. I still felt that unnatural chill lingering in my bones.

"Tabby?" My brother lifted his head from the bed where he knelt, tears in his eyes. "I'm sorry! There was no other way!"

Sorry? For what?

"Brother?"

He looked at me miserably. "It was the only way."

I followed his gaze to where it rested, a metal pipe protruding from my flesh. I was horrified. "A clockwork heart..." His voice trailed off.

I looked at him in absolute horror. "Brother, what did you do?"

His gaze dropped. "I didn't mean...I didn't know you'd be there! The operation was the only way..."

I brought a hand up to my new heart, feeling the whirring and clicking it made inside me. "My heart..."I was part machine! Inhuman. Immoral. An abomination. How would this change me? Would it turn me into a monser?

I was afraid.

And I hated him for making me feel this way.

Adventure

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    TreAnna GreenwoodWritten by TreAnna Greenwood

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.