Fiction logo

The Squall

has passed

By Marie WilsonPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
8
The Squall
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

As I open the old journal, an aroma flutters from its pages - not mold, not must, but love gone sour, the ripe odour of hate. Yet the book seems untouched: its pages as white and pristine as the snow falling outside. Riffling, I glimpse his scrawl in the middle, and there it is: the stench of his inky invectives.

I can see him, many years ago, cigarette burning between ochre fingers, deflowering this journal with his sordid descriptions of his wife, my mother. His cigarette's long ash falls onto the page. He brushes it off, just as he'd brushed her off, but not before he'd also deflowered her: snatched her innocence and stole the roses from her cheeks.

Out the window, it could be Siberia, the blank whiteness of it all, but it’s Chemanis on Vancouver Island. A bundle of Gortex goes crumping through the ivory landscape, an unbuckled trapper hat flapping about his ears. For a moment, I'm terrified it's my father. Then I remember. He died yesterday.

I want to toss his besmirched notebook into the fireplace where I’ve been burning all his get well cards. Or perhaps I'll shred the offending page and bury the pieces under fallen icicles, where they’ll freeze like Dr. Zhivago’s eyelashes.

Instead, I tear the page out and roll it up like a mini diploma - Congrats on surviving Daddy's icy hellfire - then throw it into the embers. I take up a pen to write sparkling affirmations in his-old-but-my-new journal.

familyfamily
8

About the Creator

Marie Wilson

Harper Collins published my novel "The Gorgeous Girls". My feature film screenplay "Sideshow Bandit" has won several awards at film festivals. I have a new feature film screenplay called "A Girl Like I" and it's looking for a producer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 3 months ago

    Yes I love the revenge, I love that the character is taking over and making this journal new with her own thoughts.

  • And may he burn as well for it, filled with regret. Perhaps not forever in hellfire & brimstone, but a little while for him in Purgatory should do you both a world of good.

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I love this! Love it! Atmospheric and angry and vengeful but all contained and apt. Excellent!

  • That's an interesting way to handle the situation! Makes me wonder what ends up being written on those pages!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.