Fiction logo

The Sound of Footsteps

unexpected meeting

By ananabighaPublished 15 days ago 4 min read
Like

I can't speak, but I can hear. My ears are sharper than the edge of a knife, even the slightest sound that is sometimes not heard by other people, I can still hear it clearly. Maybe this is my advantage among my weaknesses, which is that it is very difficult to communicate with the people around me.

Last night, I heard the sound of footsteps entering the house. I was confused because the sound of these footsteps was different from what I usually hear. I have memorized all the footsteps of the occupants of this house. The sound of footsteps was getting closer to the room in front of my room, my sister's room to be precise. I started to worry because my sister is a woman. Strange thoughts started running through my head. At times like this, sometimes I really need the desire to have a voice. I heard the sound of footsteps stop right in front of my room, even though I was sure the sound was heading towards my sister's room. I covered my mouth with the palm of my hand, even though if I thought about it, if I didn't cover my mouth, my voice wouldn't be heard. I'm really stupid, maybe because I'm scared.

For a long time the sound of the footsteps was no longer heard, but I'm sure the person who made the sound of the footsteps was still staying in front of my room, who knows what he would do. My eyes started to get droopy, not long after that I couldn't remember anything anymore, my eyes closed.

This morning the air is very cold, the traces of last night's rain have left dew. I wanted to ask my sister about last night's events, but I was afraid whether anyone would believe my story. Maybe only my ears heard the sound of footsteps last night. Finally, I decided to just keep quiet. If someone asks a question or just a new story, I will tell it, even if only through sign language.

I really like being in a class like now. Teaching children to play the piano is one of my duties as their tutor. Children bring special happiness to me. Sometimes I wonder if someday I could have children and teach them like I do now. My imagination is too high, let alone having children, I don't even have a partner.

Suddenly, from the right, I heard the sound of footsteps last night. My body is shaking. Why is that sound of footsteps around here? Is he watching me? Really, I'm really scared.

"Good afternoon, miss."

His voice was very firm. I still looked down afraid to lift my head. What if he suddenly strangles me? My head started imagining horrible things.

"Good afternoon, aunt Ana."

I know this voice by heart. This is Naila's voice, a very adorable little girl. But why didn't I hear Naila's footsteps? I immediately raised my face. For a moment my eyes were enchanted by the face in front of me. Suddenly I came to my senses. No wonder the sound of Naila's feet couldn't be heard. It turned out that currently he was in the arms of a man who made the sound of footsteps like last night.

The man handed Naila to me without saying anything, he immediately left. That's right, I wasn't mistaken, the sound of his footsteps was exactly the same as the sound of someone's footsteps stopping right in front of my room. After I finish teaching, I will ask Naila, maybe I can find out what she meant by coming to my house last night. More precisely, standing in front of my room.

At exactly 16.00 in the afternoon, my teaching time ended. I just wrote something on paper that I will show to Naila. The man this afternoon appeared in front of us, why didn't I hear the sound of his footsteps? Even though this never happened, I would always know who was approaching me from the sound of their footsteps. Are my ears starting to function less well? Just this afternoon I heard the sound of his footsteps, why now it suddenly disappeared from my hearing.

"Thank you, Miss," then left like this afternoon, not forgetting to hold Naila's small hand.

Arriving home, I immediately went into the room. I started to remember what happened this afternoon at school and also what happened last night. It's like there's something strange, why is the sound of the footsteps of the man with Naila the same as the footsteps of someone coming into my room? What does it mean to stand in front of my room? Why didn't he tell me? Is it because he knows I'm not like normal women in general? I'm just a mute woman who happens to be able to play music.

"Ana, darling, come down, there's a guest for you!"

Mama's scream made me conscious and I immediately came down. Just a few steps into the living room, I was suddenly startled by the presence of a man who was currently disturbing my thoughts.

"Mami Ana, sit here near Naila and Papi!"

Why does Naila call me Mami? Usually he calls me Auntie.

The man gave me a notebook and invited me to read it.

My tears suddenly flowed when I read the note in it. Is this the answer to my prayers? It turns out that last night's footprints are someone who will accompany me in the future.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

ananabigha

I'm a writer

ignite the fire of knowledge and carve a lasting imprint on readers' hearts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.