Fiction logo

The so-called "Wicked" Witch

The Tale they'll never tell you

By TestPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1
The so-called "Wicked" Witch
Photo by Ksenia Yakovleva on Unsplash

In a dark castle, a puddle shimmers in the candlelight. It begins to coalesce and rise, taking on a quite human shape. Soon, a mourning and bitter witch stands alone. This is her tale.

So, let me get this straight. A girl drops her house on my sister, and at the instruction of the psychopathic witch Glenda, steals my sister’s shoes. And they call me the “wicked witch” for getting upset and demanding my sister’s possessions be given to me? Well, let me tell you how things really went down, since we all know the manipulative Glenda and the swindling Oz can’t be trusted.

Imagine growing up with a pointy face and green skin in a world of pink baby-faced simpletons. Imagine the cruelty I faced as a child. We all know how cruel children can be toward anybody that’s a little different, and I was a lot different. When it was discovered that I and my sister were witches, Glenda took the opportunity to call herself the “Good Witch” and we were the “Wicked Sisters.” Beautiful Glenda who took advantage of her natural beauty to convince others to do her bidding, while I and my sister had to work for everything we ever accomplished.

My sister, who was minding her own business picking marigolds when a house dropped on her (no coincidence, I might add). She never hurt anybody in her entire life. And I show up to check on her and what do I find? An entire village singing and dancing and celebrating her demise, with Glenda in charge of it all. Of course I was angry, especially when I saw my sister’s murderer wearing her shoes. And after Glenda mocked and threatened me, well I had just about enough of it.

By Marc Zimmer on Unsplash

So, I went back to my castle and plotted. It was in my chambers, looking out the window, when I noticed some shifty behavior amongst my top generals. They had not expected me to be around, I had cancelled my other plans without telling them, and seeing their unusual behavior, I cast a spell to let me hear them.

"She made us green! She's as wicked as they come, and it's about time she was taken down a peg."

"You're right, but how can we stand up to a woman as powerful as she?"

"I already have three dozen men who agree with me. This is inevitable, and we can win with numbers. My question to you is, when the fighting starts, will you fight for the Wicked Witch or against her?"

I couldn't believe my ears! They were planning to overthrow me. I had to come up with a plan to escape. But how? Anywhere I'd run to, Glinda would surely seek me out. It is no secret that she had been plotting to take out anybody with enough power to challenge her. She set the false wizard up in his mansion and used his so-called "power" as a deterrent to anybody who might try to go against her wishes. Oz the conman, beloved by all. Oz is to a wizard as a macaw is to a ladybug. In fact, it would be easier for me to turn a macaw into a ladybug than it would be to turn Oz into a wizard.

By Christopher Alvarenga on Unsplash

Glenda was a master of disguise and illusions. She was deceitful and had done an excellent job destroying my reputation by disguising herself as me and casting curses upon the various citizens inhabiting our kingdoms. I didn't even turn my people green. That was one of her wicked pranks, telling me that I should live among my own kind. Of course, I could never convince anybody that it wasn't me casting curses around the kingdom, because I was already known as the wicked witch, and of course the good witch Glenda would never perform such heinous acts upon her citizens.

What a wretched and lonely life I've had, only to have my own men turn against me for something that sinister witch did to them. I bemoaned my sad existence and unfortunately took out my rage on the young girl who'd been fooled by Glenda just as the rest of them had.

By Ksenia Yakovleva on Unsplash

Fortunately, the ignorant peasants do not understand the ultimate powers that the immortal witches possess, and many rumors and myths spread out about us, so fooling my men wouldn't be hard. I had decided to fake my own death. I wasn't sure how I would do it just yet, but it would probably involve burning my castle to the ground with everybody inside. If I was cursed to be called wicked my entire life, I might as well just start acting the part. I no longer cared what they thought of me, I had become numb to their glares and their insults mumbled under their breath, just loud enough for me to hear. I would become the green monster they had always assumed me to be. What difference would it make in my life, save that I could finally get some revenge on all the people who had worked so hard to make my life a living nightmare.

When the young girl with her group of misfits invaded my home, I saw my opportunity. A man made entirely of straw stood before me within reach of a torch. It was perfect. I set him alight and laughed in victory, but the fast acting girl found the bucket I used to gather drinking water. Even an immortal witch is still a living and breathing person. The fire was put out and my clothes were soaking wet. But I thought quickly, and cried out, "I'm melting!"

I cast a spell to turn myself into a puddle. It was a painless spell, useful for navigating tight spaces, but rarely used in favor of more convenient spells. The fools celebrated my demise and quickly vacated to seek the advice of the charlatan, Oz. In what world could a witch possibly be killed by water? I would melt on a particularly humid day if water effected me so badly. Did they believe I did not eat or drink? Fools the lot of them.

By Stefano Ciociola on Unsplash

After everybody cleared the room, I uncast the spell and resumed my normal form. I listened for a bit as my men talked about taking my castle as their own! My castle! I snarled and made up my mind to end them, but then I reconsidered.

I had a chance here, an opportunity to vanish with none the wiser. Even my viciously evil sister, Glenda would believe I was dead if she never discovered the method of my demise. So, I gathered my most precious possessions including all of my spell books, and teleported away, leaving that wretched kingdom and finding a new home for myself, to live in solitude.

I've erected a new home, more modest. A small log cabin deep within a forest, on the other side of the rainbow, far from my old home and hidden from prying eyes. Solitude suits me well, and I pass my days in peace, experimenting with magic. I created a small race of elves from the clay in the ground. Beautiful little creatures, they look just like me, but smaller. They revere me as their goddess and I sort of am, I did grant them life. They reside in the forests around me, tending them, and bringing me sweet fruits and herbs for my potions. Life has been good since I escaped the clutches of the wicked witch, Glenda.

By Sebastian Unrau on Unsplash

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.