Fiction logo

The skirt

Excitement or Boredom

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 5 months ago 2 min read
4
The skirt
Photo by Vasi on Unsplash

You wore me well, you wore me with pride. I smiled in the assignment, I delighted in your enjoyment. Everywhere we went, people would comment, I swirled as you moved your hips. And then one day to my surprise and shock. I was abandoned. I was tossed into a trunk. No more floating over your body. No more days in the sun. Instead I was in a dark cold box.

I could hear your daily life in your apartment. Daily I heard you franticly looking for clothes to wear. I could hear you swearing as you searched through your drawers. Were you looking for me? I wondered.

You had seemed to forgot about this storage space. I haerd you searching everywhere else but here. I felt forgotten and alone, even though there were other items around me. I had not been washed in three months. You washed other laundry looking for outfits. You reorganized your closet, tring to figure out where items were.

"Where are my cloths", I heard you say. I worried when I heard you modeling a new skirt. Did you prefer it over me? I missed your excitement over our apperance. I missed you flattening me. I always knew we looked great. I brought out your eyes, the boys used to tell you. They would grap me and your hips, and pull you forward. I felt their bodies next to me. But nothing like that happened in this trunk,life was nothing but a long sleep.

And then suddenly, one day, I heard the objects on top of the trunk being moved. I froze as the light seeped in. Dare I hope? I felt the anticipation. I could tell you were sorting. You were constantly sorting. It had never crossed my mind until then, that I could be tossed in a Goofwill pile.

I was not quite sure what that was, but I remember other clothes going there. I had never worried. about Goodwill. I had been your favorite skirt.

I could feel the trunk growing emptier, more light was coming in. And then finally I felt myself being lifted. You flipped me in the air. I heard you squel with delight. " I can't believe it" you said "I;ve been looking all over for you. How did I misplace you? You flipped me over your firm body. I danced as you swirled around. On the floor I saw the pile of clothes in the grocery bag. but I smiled as you slipped me off and placed me on a hanger. Moments later I was being hung in your closet. There were new items of clothing, but I had survived. It had not been abandonment, it had just simplly been misplacement. I told myself to enjoy the moment. To embrace the times that youhad fun wearing me. Not thinking about the future possible occurances. I saw other items being misplaced from your affection. But I woiuld not be. I was your favorite skirt and for now I was hanging in your closet.

YOu

Excerpt
4

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Fabulous job!

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Gotta' love a happy ending! Well done, Antoinette!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.