Fiction logo

The Shark Whisperer

The Town Eccentric of Emerald Bay has just one job

By Britt Blomster Published 3 years ago 4 min read
4
The Shark Whisperer
Photo by Gerald Schömbs on Unsplash

“There's a shark in Emerald Bay!” Someone shouts as they bang on my front door.

Residents of my coastal town regard me as the town’s eccentric. On ordinary days when I venture into town, they won’t meet my eyes or even say hello. The Shark Whisperer is what they call me. My neighbors only call on me when I’m needed to remove a shark from the bay so the tourists don’t have to be removed from the beach.

I discovered I could talk to sharks when I was leaning off my dad’s research boat and plopped right in the ocean. I came face to face with a lovely hammerhead shark. He told me my skin felt unusual and I told him that his skin was sandpapery. My dad hauled me into the boat and from that day forward I became known as not just Kairi but the girl who talks with sharks.

Wetsuit on, I make my way down to the pier passing by the crowded ice cream parlor overflowing with vacationers. Leaning over the wood railing that overlooks both the bay and the packed beach, I watch as the shark’s fin becomes visible. Hearing screams, I shake my hand wondering if they think the shark is about to grow legs and walk up onto the beach. I dive flawlessly at the end of the pier leaving the frenzied chatter behind and finding myself in the muffled silence of the ocean.

By Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

A grey mass the size of a bus size moves towards me and the conical face of the Great White shark begins to approach me. He’s curious about this human that’s waiting to greet him. I see his white underbelly as I introduce myself to a member of this ancient species.

“Hello, I’m Kairi” I tell the shark while estimating he’s at least 16 feet long. He swims around me, his body moving like a torpedo.

“Shiro” The shark’s voice sounds like oceanic thunder as I see his rows of triangular, serrated teeth populating his mouth.

I cut to the chase with this apex predator. “The humans above want you gone from what they consider their waters”

Shiro swims casually around me before speaking.

“Did you know humans wipe out around 100 million sharks a year? I wouldn’t call it a fair fight when we only kill around 10 of you a year? We don’t even like your flavor, we prefer seals and sea lions”

I’m treading water with expert ease, I have 20 years of experience talking to sharks in the water. Normally, they have no desire to chat with me. They are curious creatures but once their curiosity is satisfied they move on. Telling me they will leave when they are done hunting or after they give birth to their pups. Shiro on the other hand seems ready to talk as he moves slowly in circles around me cutting the water with his caudal fin.

By Wai Siew on Unsplash

“I know that the shark population is declining at a rapid rate. My father is a Marine Biologist and has dedicated his life to the study of sharks”

I am proud of my father and his passion and dedication for these top predators.

“I’ve met shark biologists in my time” comes the booming reply from Shiro. “I’m more concerned with the fisherman”

My heart squeezes at that. Shark finning makes me nauseous. How these large predatory fishes are dropped back in the ocean to sink to the bottom of the floor and suffocate after their fins are removed. Or he could be referring to the fact millions of sharks have found themselves caught in the fisherman nets and most don’t live to tell tales.

I consider apologizing to Shiro but I can’t apologize for the entirety of the human race. I have only compassion and empathy to offer him and I promise to never stop fighting for the protection of sharks. Their declining rates are a thing to fear.

“What brings you to Emerald Bay?”

“The Water temperature I like how it feels. It’s warm with a coolness to it” Ironically, I know exactly what Shiro means. I’ve spent the entirety of my life living in Emerald Bay but I have traveled around the oceans and seas with my father.

Shiro sniffs the area and tells me a seal pod is nearby. Shiro begins to swim away, Sharks never tell me goodbye but he looks back one last time and tells me “Tell your human friends, I do not like how they taste. They are safe. We only ask to be left in peace so we can keep the ecosystem from deconstructing. I hope they learn that without us there will be no more coral reefs or seagrasses.”

“I will pass your message on, Shiro” He swims away like a torpedo through the water, his 5,000 lb. body moving with quick efficiency.

I swim to the surface leaving the serenity of the ocean behind as I emerge into the chaos of the world.

Short Story
4

About the Creator

Britt Blomster

I'm a writer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. I'm inspired by the world around me and channel that into my writing.

Blog:

Facebook

Instagram

Medium

E-mail: [email protected]

My Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.