Fiction logo

The Seventeenth Summer (Ch 21)

A time for sun, surf and self-discovery . . .

By Mark 'Ponyboy' PetersPublished 12 days ago 16 min read
Like
Original image by Janan Lagerwall on Unsplash.com https://unsplash.com/photos/8NuDsZegIpQ

Chapter Twenty-One

After leaving Jake, Danny rode hard for Nate’s place. There was still a great deal he needed to organise, but he needed to make sure that he had Nate on the same page as him before going much further.

He found Nate in the back shed helping out Lachie, but as soon as Nate saw his friend he could tell that something was up.

‘Sorry, I’ve gotta go, Lachie,’ he said to his brother, before joining Dan at the door of the shed. ‘What’s up?’ he said to Danny, who appeared to be chewing on his bottom lip.

‘Mum knows,’ Dan replied. ‘And now she’s leaving dad.’

‘Get the fuck out of here!’

‘I’m serious, Nate. My whole world is blowing up around me, and I need your help, like, today!’

‘Whatever you need, mate. Anything!’

As they walked back toward Nate’s house, Dan started to fill him in. ‘I told mum that you and I were going to camp out tonight . . . but that was before she figured out what was happening.’

‘And how did she do that?’

‘She followed me to the caravan park this morning.’

‘She what? No fuckin’ way?’ Nate exclaimed, grabbing Danny’s arm as he did so, so they faced each other.

‘Mate, that’s just the start of it!’

By the time they had reached the house, Danny had managed to fill Nate in on most of what had happened so far today, and what still needed to happen.

‘Don’t worry, mate. I’m here for you,’ Nate said to him, placing a hand on his friend’s shoulder as he did so.

‘Thanks, Nate. I appreciate that.’

‘So, what have you got to do now?’

‘Go home and then wait until the folks and the brats go out at lunch time, I guess. Can you come around after that? How about I call you as soon as they’ve gone?’

‘That’ll work.’

‘I just need to throw a few things together that I want to take with me, then we need to get it out to the bay.’

‘Want me to get Lachie to help? He could drive us? Plenty of room for your stuff that way.’

Danny thought about it for a few seconds, but then shook his head. ‘Nah, I can’t take a lot anyhow . . . I’ll just have my swag and a backpack of stuff. Besides, it’ll mean that Lachie will know I’ve left, and who with. How about we just ride out there?’

‘Okay, if that’s what you want. I think I’ve got an old backpack you can have, in case you want to take some more gear with you.’

‘Thanks. That might just be handy.’

‘No problem.’

Danny left soon afterwards and rode the short distance to his place, feeling as if things were finally falling into place. He allowed himself a smile as he felt the sun on his face and a warm breeze in his hair, while thoughts of being free of this place and of his childhood, started to fill his mind. As scary, and as exciting, and as daunting as it all was, he was really going to do this. Tonight, or in the morning, he was going to drive out of this town for what could be last time for quite a while, and not look back.

Freedom and love were beckoning him.

When he reached his home he found Brad’s truck parked in the yard beside his mother’s car, with Brad and Pete out front washing it down, a job that he was usually drafted into doing. He was glad that today he hadn’t hung around the house otherwise that was how he would have spent his morning, but he did feel a little guilty at the sight of Pete there helping his father wearing only his swimming trunks. What sort of a temptation would that be for someone like Brad? Surely the old man wouldn’t try anything with Pete? Would he?

At the sound of Danny pulling up and stepping off his bike, Brad stood up and looked at him.

‘Hi, Dan. You were off early this morning.’

‘Had stuff to do,’ Danny replied. ‘Me and Nate have plans for the weekend.’

‘Yeah, so your mum tells me. I thought we might all go out to the National Park for a barbeque, but if you’ve already made plans . . .’

‘Yeah, we have. Maybe next time, eh?’

‘Yeah, next time. For sure.’

Danny kept walking, pausing just long enough to ruffle the damp hair on Pete’s head, before continuing on down the side of the house, passing his mother’s car and pushing his bike with him. He felt his stepfather’s gaze upon him as he walked away, but he didn’t dare look back. He was sure that if he had done so he would have seen Brad watching every step that he took, and that thought creeped him out.

He found his mother in the kitchen, preparing some salad for their lunch. She looked up as she heard the sound of someone coming through the door and smiled at him when she saw who it was.

Quickly Danny crossed the floor and embraced her.

‘Thank you,’ he whispered.

‘We’re all going to be just fine, Dan. We just need to get past today.’

‘I never knew you were thinking about it too . . .’

‘I only made my mind up this morning . . . after talking to you. We both just have to follow through with it now.’

‘Are you sure you’re going to be okay?’

‘Yes, honey. We’ll be fine, and we’ll see you and Jake again soon. Now have you organized things with Nate?’

‘He’s coming over after you leave, then we’re going to head out to Hidden Bay and meet Jake there.’

‘You’ve got yourself a nice guy there, Dan. Even if I could stop you from going I wouldn’t, because I can see how much you both mean to each other. I truly hope you are happy together.’

‘Thank you, mum. That means a lot to me,’ he replied, before kissing his mother on the cheek. ‘I better go and figure out what I’m going to take with me.’

‘Undo your swag and roll all your clothes up inside that. That way it won’t take up much extra room. Then just fill up an overnight bag and your school backpack with everything else you need. And remember that you can get any of your other stuff you need in a few weeks if you want it.’

‘Thanks.’

Later that morning Danny stood and watched as his family climbed into the car and his stepfather backed it down the driveway. His mother was in the front passenger seat and apart from one brief moment when she turned to say something to Pete and Jodi she kept her eyes locked on him the whole time, while smiling at him. He saw her mouth the words ‘I Love You’ and then wave at him, before turning to speak to the kids. Soon he noticed his brother and sister in the back seat start to wave to him as well, while his stepfather simply frowned.

Earlier his mother had come to his bedroom and they had said their goodbyes privately, after which he had then sought out his siblings, giving each of them a hug and telling them that he would see them later on. Pete had frowned at him, as if he thought something was up, but said nothing.

His mother had given Danny some advice on what to do, and had also dug out his birth certificate for him, knowing that he would need it at some point in the future. She also reminded him quietly about the cash in the kitchen pantry, though he was reluctant to take that as she would need whatever she had saved for when she made a break for it with his brother and sister.

And now, as Danny waved back at his family, he was smiling on the outside, while inside his mind and his stomach he was in turmoil.

He knew what he had to do, but with fresh doubts suddenly filling his head he began to wonder if he would actually be able to go through with it. Those thoughts soon evaporated, however, when Nate rode into the yard barely moments after his parents had driven away.

‘I thought you were going to wait until I called?’ Danny said to him, as Nate pulled to a stop beside his best friend and dropped his bike.

‘What, and miss out on spending these last valuable minutes with my best bud? Hell no! I decided to ride around until I saw your folks leave, and then pounce!’

Danny grinned at him. ‘You’re a nutcase! But thank you.’

‘Hey, what are friends for? So, you done packing yet?’

‘Nowhere near it. Come on, I better go and get stuck into it.’

‘I brought you my old backpack,’ Nate said, as he slipped it from his shoulders and held it out for Danny.

‘Thanks, man. That’ll be handy.’

Together they walked into the house and went straight to Danny’s bedroom, which looked pretty much just as it had the last time Nate had been in here . . . a mess.

Nate looked around the bedroom and thought about the many times that he had been in here with Danny, playing and laughing and sharing their many secrets. He would miss those days and nights, but he knew that for both of them the fun days of their childhood were moving further and further away. There would be new adventures ahead, for both of them, but the memories of the childhood they had spent together would always remain.

‘What have you got to do?’ Nate asked, as he saw Danny reach up above his wardrobe and pull down his swag.

‘Pack some clothes,’ came the reply, as Danny dropped the canvas covered bedroll onto his bed and begin to undo the two leather straps which secured it. ‘Mum said I should roll my clothes up in this, then just pack any other stuff I need into an overnight bag and my backpack.’

‘You think Jake will have room for it all?’

‘Well, we can tie the swag and the overnight bag on top of his surfboards, so it should be okay. It’ll only be a couple of backpacks I need to fit inside. You going to be able to handle carrying a couple of bags out to the bay on you bike?’

‘Too easy, mate.’

‘Good. Well, I better get to it, then,’ Danny said, before letting his swag unroll on his bed.

‘Just tell me what you want me to do,’ said Nate.

Danny had been thinking for a while now about what he would need to take with him, and it didn’t take long for them to find everything and pack it away, marking them off on his list as he did so. His favourite clothes. A couple of pairs of shoes. His toiletry bag. A couple of towels. His painting gear. Some books and a few mementos of family and friends and good times.

That would do for now he figured, and if he wanted anything else he would get it next trip when he came back to help his mother.

When they had finished, and the swag and bags were all sitting in the hallway, Danny’s bedroom looked considerably different to when they had started. It was much tidier, the mess was packed away, or into the bags he was taking with him, and the bed had even been made. His mother would be proud of him, he thought.

‘So, I guess that’s it, then?’ Nate said, as he watched Danny quietly close the bedroom door, then run his hand over the “Danny’s Room” metal license-plate styled sign which had first been screwed to his bedroom door when he was eight years old. He could see that Danny’s emotions were close to the surface, but he didn’t want to intrude by saying anything more.

‘Yeah, I guess it is,’ Danny replied.

‘Do you think you’ll ever go back in there?’

‘Maybe. We’re going to come back and help mum when she clears out, so if I remember anything else that I need I’ll grab it then.’

‘Well, just let me know when you come back and I’ll help out.’

‘Thanks, mate. I appreciate that,’ Danny replied, while placing a hand on his friend’s shoulder.

Nate looked into Danny’s eyes. He could see the fear that was in them, but he could also see the hurt and the sadness that was lingering within his friend knowing that his life was about to change forever.

Without any thought, Nate pulled Danny to him and hugged him.

‘Fuck, I’m going to miss you,’ he whispered into Danny’s ear.

‘Not as much as I’m going to miss you!’ Danny responded, as he grabbed onto his friend tightly, not wanting to let him go.

When they eventually separated, they stood grinning at each other. There was no embarrassment at having shown their emotions. The bond that had been with them since childhood meant that they were more like brothers than simply friends, and both knew that it would last for many years to come no matter where they were on this planet.

‘C’mon, we really should get going,’ Nate suggested. ‘We wouldn’t want your boyfriend thinking you have run off with someone else now, would we?’

‘No, I guess not,’ Danny said with a chuckle. ‘I don’t know how jealous he might get.’

For a moment Nate cocked his head sideways and looked thoughtfully at his friend. Danny thought he was about to say something, but nothing came. The moment had passed, and Nate was now reaching down to pick up a backpack and an overnight bag from the floor.

Danny led the way out onto the verandah at the back of the house, where he dropped his two items down, while Nate placed his beside them.

‘What about some lunch first?’ Danny asked. ‘Burgers and milkshakes. My treat. We can cruise around by the caravan park first to see if Jake’s there, he might come downtown too. Then we can pick these up on the way past.’

‘You think there’s time? Is it worth the risk?’

‘Yeah. Mum and Brad will be hours yet.’

‘Yeah, but what about if you get seen with Jake, and then you disappear. Won’t people put two and two together?’

‘Shit. I didn’t think of that. They might think he abducted me or something . . .’

‘How about we drop this stuff at my place, just in case? Then we can grab some lunch at the corner store, seeing as it’s the closest, then pick this up afterwards on the way out of town. Might be safer that way.’

‘Okay. If you like. I’m glad you’ve got your thinking cap on today.’

‘Geez, you must have it bad for this guy! You can’t be thinking straight . . . it’s usually you who is telling the rest of us that we’ve got to have a plan!’

‘What can I say? They tell me that love can do that to a bloke!’

‘Love!’ Nate exclaimed, before doubling over and shoving a finger down his throat, making out as if he was about to barf. This only earned him a shove from Danny, which sent him flying off the verandah, laughing as he went.

Danny jumped down off the verandah and headed for the shed, against which his bike stood, then wheeled it back toward the house.

‘And just how the hell are you going to carry the swag plus a bag?’ Nate asked him.

‘Simple. Tie the swag across the handlebars, and put the backpack on my back,’ Danny answered.

‘This’ll be good!’

‘Watch and learn, my good man!’ said Danny, as he propped the bike up against the verandah. For a few moments Nate watched as he looked up and down the verandah for something, but when Danny apparently couldn’t find what he needed he said, ‘Don’t go anywhere, I’ll be right back.’

Nate watched as his friend jogged back to the shed, emerging a minute or so later carrying some light rope.

‘This ought to do it,’ he said.

Nate picked up the swag and tried to sit it across the handlebars, but it wouldn’t balance there very well, so in the end they set it in front, balancing on the bike’s mudguard, before lashing it to the handlebars.

‘See, it was piece of cake,’ Danny said.

‘All right then. Let’s get moving. I’m getting hungry,’ Nate said, as he swung the second backpack over his shoulders and then set the overnight bag down on the rack behind the seat on his own bike.

Not long afterwards they were riding their bikes down the driveway toward the street. Danny was struggling a little, but once they got moving it was easy going. When they reached the street, however, Danny stopped and took a long look back toward the house, taking in the sight of the only place that he had ever called home.

Nate rode in circles on the street as he waited for Danny; he wanted to give him those few moments of reflection, as he was sure he knew what would most likely be going through Danny’s mind right about now.

When Danny finally turned back and faced Nate, they both knew it was time to go.

Thankfully it was only a short ride around to Nate’s place, but even so the boys had both worked up a sweat by the time they arrived there, having to contend with the extra weight they were both carrying with their heavy and awkward luggage.

They found that there was no one home when they pulled to a stop, and so they took the swag and the bags off the bikes and dropped them beside the back steps, before setting off once more for downtown Thompsonville.

After ordering and receiving their lunch they headed for the hill which overlooked the lake, where they sat on the grass in the sunshine to eat while watching the crowds of summer tourists doing their stuff.

‘So, you haven’t said where you’re going to yet,’ Nate remarked between mouthfuls. ‘You still going to keep it a secret from me? I mean your mum knows now, doesn’t she?’

‘Actually, no, we still haven’t told her either. I promise I’ll let you know just as soon as it’s safe. I’ll talk to Jake about it and see what he reckons, now that we know that mum at least won’t be reporting me missing to the cops. I hope you can understand . . .’

‘Yeah, mate, I think I do. I wish it didn’t have to be like this, but I know where you’re coming from.’

‘Thanks. I knew you’d understand.’

‘Do you reckon that the new place will be as busy as here?’ Nate asked.

‘I somehow doubt it. Jake says it’s a bit like a ghost town . . . although apparently we’ll be out on a farm anyhow, so I don’t know how often we will see it.’

‘You? On a farm? Now that I’d like to see,’ Nate laughed.

‘Well, give it time and I promise you will!’ Danny answered.

.

To be continued...

.

.

.

I am continuing to upload this story with new chapters, but if you don't want to wait that long you can always purchase the completed novel in print, or as an e-book, here . . . https://books2read.com/u/mg1dyv

Thank you for your support! :)

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Mark 'Ponyboy' Peters

Aussie, Queer & Country

LGBT themed fiction with an Aussie flavour, reviews, observations and real life LGBT histories.

W: https://ponyboysplace.wordpress.com/vocal-media-index/

E: [email protected]

https://www.facebook.com/mark.p.peters/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.