Fiction logo

The Scarlet Vipers

A Snake's Quest for Retribution

By A.D. AndersonPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
3
The Scarlet Vipers
Photo by Dusan Kipic on Unsplash

They call us the Scarlet Vipers. Our strikes hurt.

I walk to the table. It's the end of a shift, and the guys have just switched to a new dealer. The lucky fella is me. I take in a breath.

With absolute ease, the first hand falls. My fingers work fast. Three years at this place. That's what I show for it.

Seth is across from me, watching the other two players at our table. He's playing dumb. He's got his eye-candy Ella sitting on his lap. Goading him on.

Keep them here, I say through my eyes.

Seth loses with a ridiculous bluff.

The other two lick up the extra chips. Both put in another hundred.

Ella gives a hoot as she leans against the table, losing her footing and falling down. Seth tries to catch her. I hear the thud.

Nonchalant, I remind them that this is a business establishment. They can call a cab if needed.

"I need a break," she says to Seth, as if I'm no more than a grouchy stranger. She rights herself and stalks away. Flips me off.

Not so drunk. She's now got two wallets in her back pocket.

Easy strike, Mate.

Fantasy
3

About the Creator

A.D. Anderson

An indie author who loves all things whimsical. I thought this would be a good place to go to help me branch out in my craft! While I typically enjoy fantasy writing and those works, you'll find some more earthy, real-life tones here, too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Antonella Sinner11 months ago

    Oh Ella has some sticky fingers haha I loved this one!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.