Fiction logo

The Scar that defined her

Maria life

By AriaPublished about a month ago β€’ 2 min read
Like
Maria Braveness

*That's a fiction story*

I'm taken back to a period long ⏱ ago as I sit by the crackling fire, the warmth just reaching my chilly bones. When I close my eyes, I picture the life of Maria, my ancestor, a woman whose scar demonstrated her tenacity and survival.

Maria grew up in a time when women were supposed to be seen, not heard, and to have their lives controlled by the men πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’Ό in their immediate vicinity. Maria, though, was unique. She was driven by a burning desire to overcome all obstacles and forge her own course in life.

Maria, who wanted to become a Bussiness woman πŸ‘©β€πŸ’Ό , had to give up her dream because of her marriage and had to survive in that hell 😒 . But when she became free from her husband, she realized that the person for whom she had left her dreams was worthy of her love πŸ’” .

Maria married a man who had affairs with many women besides his wife and was a drug addict and a heavy drinker 😠. Despite this, Maria remained loyal to him. One day, when he was drunk, he started to beat Maria as usually. But this time, instead of being afraid and beaten by her husband, She grabbed a nearby candlestick and fought back leaving a mark that will always serve as a reminder of her strength on her husband and herself.

Maria realized that day that she could not stay there any longer. With the intention of building a life in which she was the architect of her own fate, she packed up her minimal possessions πŸ‘œ and headed off on her own.

Maria had a difficult journey. Despite all the obstacles in her path πŸš“ , she remained unwavering in her resolve. She put in a lot of effort, saved every dollar πŸ’° , and eventually launched her own prosperous company.

When Maria reflected on her life years later, she realized that the scar on her cheek was a badge of honor πŸ’š rather than a source of shame. It served as a reminder of the day she made the decision to take charge of her own life at any costs.

And I take Maria's story with me as I open my eyes πŸ‘€ and come back to the here and now. Her bravery and tenacity motivate me to take on my own obstacles head-on because I know that, like her, I am capable of conquering any obstacle in my path. 😊

--------------- ❀️ ----------------------------------------------------------------

Don't give up on your dream just because someone, who doesn't deserve your loyalty. What would you do if you were in Maria's place?

Short StoryHistoricalfamily
Like

About the Creator

Aria

I have a passion for expressing myself in words and exploring my imagination. If you enjoy interesting stories or knowledgeable things, do try my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.