Fiction logo

The Sandman, The Sea Girl, The Witch and Her Dragons

A Story For The Fantasy Prologue Vocal Challenge and The Fifth Sandman and The Sea Girl Story

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
9
The Witch's Dragons

This is for the Vocal Fantasy Prologue Challenge. It is also the fifth instalment in my " The Sandman and The Sea Girl" series which you can read here. This follows on from the fourth story in the series.

There Weren't Always Dragons In The Valley

"There weren't always dragons in the Valley." that's what the Witch said,

“Can I go back and find out about them? , I’ll take her daffodils to thank her for the ointment”

“We don’t want you going on your own, you might get lost and you never know who might be about”

“I can’t remember how to get there so I will have to ask the Sandman to take me there, and I know he likes the Witch and she likes him”

“That is fine, and then you can tell us about the Dragons over supper when you come back”

In the cottage, the Christmas Kittens were now almost fully grown and tormented the Dog but they just played with each other and would always defend each other.

The Sea Girl set out along the beach to the Sandman’s hut and knocked on the door. As usual, he complained about being disturbed.

“Can we go back and see the Witch, I want to find out about her Dragons, and take her some daffodils”

“You know the Dragons are just stories”

“The Owl wasn’t, and the Owl told her about The Dragons”

“Well it’s right you take her some daffodils for the ointment, and you can then ask her about her Dragons, but she is very good at spinning a story and making you believe it’s true”

“Well her ointment worked, and she talks to her Owl, so she can spin a story that is true”

“Come on Friday morning and we will go an see her, then you can ask about her Dragons”

There Weren't Always Dragons In The Valley

Friday morning came and the Sea Girl was outside the Sandman's hut. He came out with a bag of items that the Witch would like and the Sea Girl had a bunch of daffodils for the Witch.

They went together and found the path into the trees that led to the Witch’s cottage which was surrounded by vegetable plots and plants. The place was hung with wind chimes, bird feeders and in the nearby trees lots of birds nests. There were crows or ravens in the trees, swallows using a bird box on one of the trees and they heard the hoot of the Witch’s Owl but couldn't see it.

The Sandman rapped on the door and the Sorceress answered the door and gave him a big hug, and took his bag.

“Ah lovely to see you again, my lovely young friend” she said to the Sea Girl, who gave her the daffodils.

“These are a thank you from my mum and dad for the ointment, it worked wonderfully, thank you so much”

“Thank you both for your wonderful presents”

Her Owl was there making noise which the Sea Girl thought was how the Witch and The Owl conversed.

“I shall make us some tea and we can sit and talk and learn, tell me what has been happening as I have to rely on my Owl and Ravens for what is happening out there.”

Sea Girl asked Sandman

“Can I ask her about her Dragons?”

“Wait until we are all sat down and then ask her, I am sure that she will weave you an amazing story”

The Witch came back and poured the tea from a teapot in the shape of an owl, into decorated porcelain cups. There was no milk offered but the Sandman and Sea Girl sipped and enjoyed it. The tea tasted beautiful, containing her own blend of herbs and leaves.

The Sea Girl spoke to the Sorceress.

"When I was last here you said ‘There weren't always dragons in the Valley’, What did you mean by that?"

“Ah, I was expecting you to ask that, after we have finished our tea, both of you come outside I have something to show you, and a story to tell you”

They sat and drank the wonderful tea, the Owl and the Witch conversed, and the ravens cawed outside, no doubt giving news to their sorceress.

Tea finished and the Sorceress bade the Sandman and the Sea Girl to rise and follow her, out the back of the cottage into the woods. About fifty yards into the trees the say two stone dragons, well they looked like dinosaurs to the Sea Girl.

“Are these your Dragons?”

“They are”

“How did they get here?”

“My father had them brought here. They are only stone statues but they are my Dragons. My Father loved me so much and he knew how much I loved Dragons.

When I was a young girl, I was Princess and I wanted to fly over my father's realm like a real Princess would, and the way to do that was to ride a Dragon. Every day I flew and rode my fire breathing Dragon and discovered new lands, castles, treasures and creatures beyond imagination.

I told my father about my adventures and he knew they were in my vivid imagination, but he wanted to take me as close to making that reality as he could, and so brought my Dragons to the Valley.

And that his how they came”

The Sea Girl ran and hugged the Sorceress and was hugged in return. The Sandman smiled. He loved the story.

They returned to the Witch’s cottage for more tea, before returning home, although there would be many more visits.

Sea Girl told her parents about the Dragons and they asked if they could see them. The Sea Girl said she would ask the witch next time she visited., which would be very soon.

There weren.t always Dragons in the Valley

Fantasy
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Magnificent!!!

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Lovely story. I have not read the earlier ones, but I will go to your profile and read them. I hearted this one.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.