Fiction logo

The Running Man

Dealing with a force of nature

By Genesis SmallsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

I was standing inside the train station, it was so quiet that the sound off the smallest fly could be heard from the echoes of the train station. It must have been three in the morning, that is when the only other man in the train station, a man who stood next to me for a small period of time began running and launching his body in the air with intense force and without hesitation. His bright orange uniform vest began to fall off his shoulders from his rapid movements, as he would propell his body to hold on to objects like an acrobatic gorilla. In a matter of seconds he found himself at the other end of the train station. With his hands hanging from a pole, he took a moment to align his body to the pole, then took a deep breathe to shout "I am a force of nature, one with God in pursuit of peace!" Listening to his excitement; I left the train station walking up the stairs to the nearest exit.

Once I was outside, I started running to the other end of the concrete block; I did not stop running. I kept running and heavily breathing in the air around me which felt like freedom. It almost felt illegal to be breathing air as the government in my country has steadily been fighting for our people to have restricted access to oxygen. Some of us would wear a face mask- I would never wear one. I remember when I took some time to read the instructions of the mandated face masks and it would read "remove face mask if you have trouble breathing," so I would never wear a face mask because I could never breathe while wearing it. I kept running until my chest could no longer stay flat. I was inhaling with my stomach out, and exhaling pulling my stomach back in as I kept on running.

I had ran several blocks; I never stopped. While I was running, I saw on the left sidewalk across the street from where I was a dark shadow that looked like a bull moving at the same speed as me. The shadow kept taking more speed the faster I ran. Soon, I stopped looking to the shadow and began to look directly in front of me. I was dashing past so many stores. I began to move my elbows with a rhythm that could match the movement of my legs. Up and down, I ran across all these blocks with no ending in sight. I was running with a style similar to a ninja. I jumped over some garbage, and kept running, soon enough I was in Fordham Road. I took a quick glance to my left, and in that instant the shadows of bulls ran in front of me racing past the street to the right side of the intersection. What a marvelous sight to see the movement of the bulls.

The shadows began to grow and spread around me, even above my head. I took a moment to take in the beauty and the beast that was expanding all around me, then I started to run. I ran through the smoke of the bulls, next thing I see is smoke coming out of the vortex of bulls that they created, to then suddenly grab my wrist. In shock but with good merit, I released the grip of the shadow from my wrist, somehow the shadow held my wrist again; the bulls held onto my wrists stronger than before. I went in for the cartwheel, the fury of my cartwheel was enough to release the grip. I landed on my feet in a squat, I lifted my body back up, turned around and kept running.

Another situation that I evaded would have never been done without my patience. I have to keep myself straight in line, so I can never fall, so I can never stumble, only to keep myself satisfied and ready to beat any opponent coming at me. I am still running, not looking back, the shadow of bulls jolted me forward. I stumble briefly, next I snap myself to my center, turn my head around fast, in front of my eyes the shadows of bulls had expanded. The shadows came together and turned themselves into a giant bull. I was not afraid, I kept looking at the shadow, then I shouted "I am a force of nature, one with God in pursuit of peace!" The shadow expanded, covering the top of the sky visible to my eyes, and the floor, then it was about to begin surrounding me again.

Adventure
2

About the Creator

Genesis Smalls

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.