Fiction logo

The Rule of Cool: How Mortal Kombat Taught Me a Valuable Lesson

Sometimes, you just have to switch off, Y'know?

By D.C KemmicksPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

The 2021 reboot of the Mortal Kombat movies came to our screens in the vague fog. It quietly graced our screens and nestled itself into the annals of cinematic history without causing much of a fuss. Seeing it available to watch on a well-known digital movie channel, I found myself excited to finally see what I thought was going to be another attempt at forging a new cinematic universe. (Given that everyone has been trying to do that since 2010) But when my dear mother downloaded the movie and we sound down to watch it, I was surprised to see that it had only been out since April I found that it was nothing more or less than a good old fashioned action-packed trip down memory lane.

“Largely for fans of the source material but far from fatal(ity) flawed, Mortal Kombat revives the franchise in appropriately violent fashion.” – Critics consensus, rottentomatoes.com

“The acting is spotty and the storytelling is a bit rushed, but if you can turn your brain off for a while, Mortal Kombat delivers plenty of graphic violence and intense fight scenes for fans of the video game series.” – Audience Consensus, rottentomatoes.com

The film was awash with unapologetic nods to the game’s signature style that made for a fun viewing experience. The aesthetics were updated to 2021’s hi-tech standards of visual effects wizardry while also respecting the heritage of its predecessor’s grittiness. The dialogue was spotty in some parts but found its flow when more diverse characters were being introduced. And once all the big players were there, it was time to kick some ass. I was standing in my living room fending off an army of invisible ninjas to end crawl’s theme music when I realised some very poignant. I sat down and felt a wave of nostalgia and childlike excitement wash over me. It was a feeling that I hadn’t felt since I was a nine-year-old boy watching the original movies when I was a kid. It was then I had realised that I had completely turned off my brain and enjoyed the film in complete disregard to the rules I usually uphold.

“Ever since I began my writing journey in 2009, I have found that the education that comes with being a writer has in many ways, ruined the viewing experience of many movies. For too long have I said cross-legged watching a movie and scrutinising its pace, lore, motivation, conflict, character decision and all manner of tropes and themes. And as important as these notions are in regards to writing and creative narratives to share with the world. It is a sad truth that this learned behaviour can obfuscate the very feeling of wonder that inspired me to become a storyteller in the first place. As I write this article, I am reminded of the hours I have spent in front of my computer trying to find the most plausible way to portray the outright implausible. I have tried to justify the magical and explain the unexplainable. And why? Because I fear the very scrutiny that I have made a habit within myself. And as I sit in my little room apologetically bastardising my stories for fear that people may not be able to theorize or analyse. Simon McQuoid and his team had made a film that knows exactly what it is. An unapologetic, action-packed story about fire breathing ninjas, soul-sucking gods, conquest by kicking ass and foul-mouthed Aussies that can shoot lasers out of his eyes because fuck it why not?

“The limit of the Willing Suspension of Disbelief for a given element is directly proportional to its awesomeness.

Stated another way, all but the most pedantic of viewers will forgive liberties with reality as long as the result is wicked sweet or awesome. This applies to the audience in general; there will naturally be a different threshold for each individual. Also known in some circles as a "rad herring", in which something doesn't make sense within the guidelines of the story's reality, but it's too cool not to include it.”- Tvtropes.com

Mortal Kombat is a film that gains its power by following the rule of cool. A willingness to disregard the implausibility of what is being seen simply because the very idea is too exciting not to witness. When a child sees a magic trick, they don’t start asking how or why. They simply believe in magic for a few precious moments. And I think that is the crooks of the lesson. I became a writer because I wanted to create magic in its only true form. Because real life is full of mundanities and realities that we have no choice but to accept. Why must we contaminate the magic of fiction with plausibility and the judgment of swathes of theorists and armchair experts? Perhaps, dear reader, you could join me in treating yourself to letting the rule of cool in once in a while. Perhaps we can put aside our legendariums and our cinematic universes (temporarily, of course. *Kisses framed picture of George Lucas*) And treat ourselves to the sweet nectar of mindless escapism.

Do I recommend Mortal Kombat? You bet you’re ass I do. What I don’t recommend is trying to figure out the many questions that will pop into your head during it. Just let go, enjoy. And I will hopefully see you on the other side.

All my love,

D.C.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

D.C Kemmicks

Hi, I'm D.C. Kemmicks. Welcome to my page.

Here, I will be sharing all of my thoughts and feelings towards the art and entertainment that inspires and enraptures me.

Follow along as I explore all things otherworldly, and mostly fictional.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.