Fiction logo

The Roommate

Microfiction Entry

By Allison Baggott-RowePublished 12 months ago 1 min read
2
The Roommate
Photo by Kinga Howard on Unsplash

So she saw me that way,

wild-eyed with hair tossed

this way and that

buffeted on the Brooklyn breeze.

Waking that morning, the first

glimmer of summer sun

filtered through the drapes and I

pulled them back.

Light spilling down my face, I

lifted the heavy glass window

stretching from

hardwood to crown molding.

Clambered into the magic

of the morning glow trickling

onto the sill, where the wind ruffled my curls,

my bronze fingertips thrown open.

A perfect morning to

celebrate being alive

was not what she thought

when she flailed her hands

behind me and pushed me out.

Microfiction
2

About the Creator

Allison Baggott-Rowe

I am an author pursuing my MA in Writing at Harvard. For fun, I mentor kids in chess, play competitive Irish music, and performed in Seattle with Cirque du Soleil. I also hold my MA in Psychology and delivered a TEDx talk about resiliency.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Whoa!!! what a swift turn of events. Great read!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.