Fiction logo

The Raid on Skotos

Braedyn Jones

By Braedyn JonesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Raid on Skotos
Photo by Benjamin Behre on Unsplash

Everything was Black, A sudden jolt awakens me from the darkness of slumber. Shouts echo off the interior of a C-L15 cargo plane named the stone. The plane was filled with what were once ordinary people. Now they were soldiers, rebels, after the Union of Skotos rose to power and conquered the free lands. Years passed before the people began revolt against this tyrannical Organization and everything it stood for. The mission we were on was simple, A covert cargo plane would fly over one of the Union of Skotos’ main trading points and air drop 50 soldiers right on top of them. We would be the first assault and most likely would not make it to see the sunrise. Every person aboard this plane was a volunteer and we knew the sacrifice we were making. Some of us have people to protect. Others have hopes and dreams they want to accomplish. The Union of Skotos’ slave trading put everything people had once wanted to live for in jeopardy, so it was time to shut them down once and for all. Me however I have a different reason for being here, one as old as time itself, revenge. I look down to the copper heart locket around my neck, inside is a picture of the love of my life. She was Taken by the Union of Skotos and killed. I would not let them get away with taking everything from me so when the time came, I volunteered for the rebels. A voice booms throughout the plane.

“500 kilometers till drop.”

I let out a sigh and began to gear up. I grabbed a parachute, my pack and my weapon “The Destroyer” an HD-15 fully automatic Tactical Rifle. I began to quickly equip the parachute and all my gear as I let out a sigh, I was ready. Once again, the voice boomed throughout the plane.

“250 kilometers, prepare to drop.”

I make my way towards the door, and it is time. The man beside the door begins to yell out.

“Go, Go, Go.”

One after the other soldiers began to jump out. I jumped and felt the sudden wind hit me, I took the correct form and began to freefall. The air was thin, and it was quiet, the only thing I could hear was the wind rushing by me as I fell. I began to go through a cloud and knew that I would be able to see the trading point after I broke through. There was a sense of peace as I went through only for it to be broken by the sound of gunfire and grenades. Bullets whistled past me while several dug into the front of my bulletproof vest. I pulled the cord and my parachute deployed. As I looked around trying to find a safe space to land, I could see people freefalling past me. the ones that were killed while still in the air. I hit the ground just outside a warehouse and shed the parachute. A few soldiers landed with me, and we took up cover behind some crates that were positioned directly in the line of sight of their defense.

“How did they know we were coming?” one of the soldiers questioned.

“I don’t know, nobody was supposed to know” I exclaimed.

I pulled the Destroyer off my shoulder and threw one of my smoke grenades. When the smoke went off I setup the destroyer on top of one the crates and began firing off rounds.

“Another one, balcony, 2 o’clock” another soldier shouted out.

I quickly took out the one on the balcony when I heard the roar of a cannon. I looked around trying to locate the impact point but then the booming of thunder came from the sky, when I looked up, I saw pieces of the stone come crashing through the cloud and right on top of the trading point crushing rebel and Skotos soldier alike.

“This is it, there’s no leaving for us anymore.”

I let out a sigh and began to accept our fate, but I was not going to let it be that easy, if I were going to die here then I would still have revenge for her. I began to move around the back side of the warehouse when I heard the gunfire behind me and turned to see the soldiers that landed with me fall. I quickly turned back around to move around the warehouse only to meet the butt end of a rifle. I fell back on the concrete below me the only thing going through my head were images of that heart shaped locket and images of the girl that I loved. Finally, I heard her voice.

“Jason, everything is going to be okay. You have to trust me.”

“I have missed you so very much. Lauren.”. And everything faded back into black.

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.