Fiction logo

The Querent

Raging Bull Challenge

By Bonnie MishaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
post apocalyptic

So tell me about statues?

Which ones?

The ones left behind

Why did they make them?

To remember

But they didn’t survive

For others to remember

But we don’t know what they mean

We’re not supposed to

Are we meant to try and remember?

No they are just moments

Moments in some else’s memory?

Yes

So is that what art is?

Yes

So art is personal?

Yes

And moment is lost with the person?

Yes

So why do people like art?

They don’t anymore

So why do I like art?

You tell me

Why have some statues survived?

Random alignment

Of what?

Erosion and disintegration

So statues have no meaning?

Very little

Are they valuable as works of art?

Not really

Why?

They are just random survivors

Silence

So excellent statues have been lost because they weren’t randomly aligned?

You’re coming along

So why do only some survive?

I thought you were coming along

Silence

So is all art random?

Yes

What about copies of art?

Copies of random

So does art have value?

Randomly

Is there any point me creating art?

You are your point

But art isn’t valuable any more

How you create value is up to you

But if people don’t like art anymore, there’s no value

People are not you

So art is personal?

Didn’t we cover this?

People don’t need other people’s memories?

Never did

What if I use art as therapy?

Then I’m your art

So is that value?

Depends if you grow

I could try

Weak intention

Can I talk to you about art?

You are

No I mean what I like and don’t like

Don’t expect me to care

Silence

I feel like I connect to some art

Like what?

Statues

Back to random survivors

But I like them

You can

They are so big

Such a profound connection

Big and in my face

Words fail me

They just make me feel

Feel what?

Small

So you like feeling small?

Maybe

Then statues reinforce your beliefs

They must

That’s where you’re getting your value

But I feel more than that

I’m happy for you

I feel like I want to make art

I feel like I want to be art

You are your own installation believe me

Can we discuss the classics?

You mean other people’s moments?

Maybe

What about the surviving Greek statues?

What about them?

Don’t they inspire you?

No. How do they inspire you?

The detail

You have detail too

Ok then the size

So it’s the small thing again?

Maybe

But I feel the subject too

Like what?

Gods

Strange answer for the file

Fighting

Even stranger

Do these subjects inspire you?

Yes I think so

So you are inspired by big gods that fight?

Silence

I think it must be a size thing

Your mind is a wondrous cavity

Don’t statues make you feel anything?

No

Do you even notice them?

No

What if I wanted to make a statue of you

Random alignment

Of me?

Smaller looking at bigger

Would that be me growing?

Not much

What if I created me but as something else?

Delusional

But isn’t that art

More illusional

So that’s good?

You need your therapy some other way

No I like these sessions

They don’t help me

Are they meant to?

No

Well maybe I can help you

I doubt it

What don’t you like about my sessions?

You

That’s blunt

You asked

So what about if I grow?

Silence

How should I grow so you like me?

Such a bad idea

Why?

Co-dependence

No I really want you to like me

That’s not going to happen

I’m crushed

That’s not my job

What?

To like you

I thought we had something going on

As much as you do with a statue

Ok I don’t mind that. I’m going to see you as my favourite statue.

I’m flattered. So a god?

Sort of

A fighting warrior?

Yes another type of classic

I don’t need to know more

Not even a bit curious?

No

Ok I’ll just think it

So no more deep philosophical banter about statues?

No I’m done

Silence

So what about mood pieces?

Thought we were done

I’m in therapy

So back to mood

You couldn’t capture mine in any kind of statue

But what if I could

Capture your own

Will that help me grow?

Long odds

So if I was going to capture us both as statutes, I’d create you as a mood piece

Genius

Because I need to express how I feel about you

Can you factor into your mood piece that I don’t care?

Already have

I’m happy for you

Silence

Are these mood pieces sculptures?

Thought you didn’t care

I don’t. Don’t misrepresent my question

Yes they are sculpture therapy

I have me now re-envisioned as a sculpture

I don’t care and I’m not curious

My session remember. I’m going to describe me as a sculpture

Don’t bother

No it’s part of my therapy. I feel I have to

Yawn

I now have me classically envisioned as a raging bull mood sculpture

Told you, I don’t care

Well it’s evocative and I’m feeling it

Happy for you and times up

Ok but give me homework, how would you like me to capture you as a mood sculpture?

As a successful matador.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Bonnie Misha

children’s author/designer - books, games, toys

http://www.sashaandfriends.com

little aussie battler series

children’s fantasy - faerie & elementals series

animation - bicky and boo - series

historic manuscripts - WW2 - s w pacific command

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.