Fiction logo

The Power of a Small Moment

How One Encounter with a Homeless Man Changed My Perspective and Inspired Me to Help Others

By Unkown Me?Published about a year ago 4 min read
1

There was a small moment in my life that had a big impact on me. It was a sunny day in the summer, and I was walking down the street with my mother. We were on our way to the grocery store, and I was lost in my own thoughts.

I had just finished my junior year of high school and was feeling the weight of the world on my shoulders. I was worried about my grades, my future, and the state of the world. As we walked down the street, I was lost in my own thoughts, and I barely noticed the people around me.

Suddenly, I noticed an old man sitting on the side of the road, leaning against a brick wall. He had a long white beard and was wearing a tattered hat. He was holding a small cardboard sign that read "Homeless. Please help."

As we approached him, my mother reached into her purse and pulled out a five-dollar bill. She handed it to the old man, and he thanked her with a weak smile. I watched as he put the money into a small pouch he had at his feet.

As we walked away, I couldn't help but think about the old man. I wondered how he ended up on the street, and if he had any family. I felt a deep sense of empathy for him, and it made me realize how fortunate I was to have a home and a loving family.

Over the next few days, I couldn't shake the image of the old man from my mind. I started to research homelessness in my city and was shocked by the statistics. There were over 8,000 homeless individuals in my city alone, and the numbers were growing every year.

I felt helpless and overwhelmed. I didn't know how to make a difference or where to start. But then I remembered the old man and how my mother's small act of kindness had made a difference in his life. I realized that even small acts of kindness can make a difference in the lives of others.

I decided to volunteer at a local homeless shelter. It was a scary and unfamiliar experience, but it was also one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I met people from all walks of life who had fallen on hard times. They shared their stories with me, and I listened with an open heart and an open mind.

I learned that homelessness is not a choice, but a result of systemic issues like poverty, unemployment, and lack of affordable housing. I also learned that there are many organizations and individuals working tirelessly to provide support and resources to those in need.

After my experience volunteering at the shelter, I knew that I wanted to do more to help. I started donating money to local charities that support the homeless population, and I encouraged my friends and family to do the same.

As I continued to learn more about homelessness, I realized that it's not just a problem in my city, but a global issue. I started to research organizations and initiatives that were working to address homelessness on a larger scale.

One organization that caught my attention was Habitat for Humanity. They work to provide affordable housing to families in need all around the world. I was inspired by their mission, and I knew that I wanted to get involved.

I applied to volunteer with Habitat for Humanity during my senior year of high school, and I was accepted. I spent a week building a house in a rural community with a group of volunteers from all over the country. It was one of the most challenging and rewarding experiences of my life.

I met families who had been living in cramped and unsafe conditions and saw firsthand how the new houses would improve their quality of life. I also saw how the volunteers were able to come together and make a real difference in the world.

Since that day with the old man, my life has been forever changed. I realized that small moments can have a big impact and that every individual can make a difference in their own way. I am now a firm believer in the power of empathy, kindness, and action.

I continued to volunteer with Habitat for Humanity throughout college and even led a team of volunteers on a build in Guatemala. I also started a club on my college campus that focused on raising awareness and funds for homelessness in our city.

As I approach graduation, I am excited to continue my work in the nonprofit sector. I plan to pursue a career in nonprofit management and hope to one day start my own organization that addresses systemic issues like homelessness.

Looking back, that small moment with the old man was the catalyst for a journey of self-discovery and purpose. It taught me that small acts of kindness can have a big impact and that empathy and action are essential in creating positive change.

I am grateful for that moment, and for my mother's generosity, which set me on a path that has brought so much meaning and fulfillment to my life. I hope that others can find inspiration in my story and know that they too can make a difference in the world, one small moment at a time.

familyShort Story
1

About the Creator

Unkown Me?

Love To Write, Love To Read, Love To Share.

Follow us for more Well Written, Heart Warming Content.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.