Fiction logo

The People You Allow In Your Life.

The truth of why people come and go.

By Eduan du PlessisPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
6
The People You Allow In Your Life.
Photo by Chang Duong on Unsplash

People enter your life for a reason. Sometimes you will know the reason right away and other times it may take time to figure out. When you have your first interaction with them, you'd might be able to determine what impact they will have on your life. You can just see it in very diferrent ways. For example, the way people are dressed. Clothing represents a personality trait, and it is up to you whether you will allow yourself to let this person have a impact on you. And it is a risk to allow new people in your life, no matter how decent or nice they look. Always remember, that appearances can be decieving. Bad things may happen at first, but in the end you will see that they were necessary in order to help you realize your potential and to prove them wrong. And let's be honest, nothing will fulfull the hunger of satisfaction except letting this spesific person realise what they have lost. You want them to regret that they ever treated you unfairly or used to for their advantages. But never the less, you do get those goodhearted people that turned into friends, that ended up as family... And you knew excatly the reason why you allowed them in your life. The reason is up to you. My short viewpoint from this, is that everything happens for a reason and without challenging yourself, life would be indistinguishable plain road, not knowing who you can trust and not. See it as a test. And without these experiences in your life, it would be a straight, flat road to nowhere. Would it be safe and comfortable? Of course. But it would also be dull and pointless.

I would like to take this opportunity to tell you a experience that I encountered with someone that I thought was my friend and who I could trust. We've known each other since 11th Grade in highschool. Even though we knew each other for only 2 weeks, I thought that it would be one of those friendships that would last forever till we're grey and old, busy with harmless mischiev in a home for the elderlies... She just gave off an amazing vibe. But it wasn't the case. For privacy purposes, I'll call her Jess.

I was new in the school and didn't have any friends, though a lot of people knew me by my parent's good reputation. This girl came across me during lunch and sat with me because I was sitting all by myself. She told me her name and asked we're I'm from an so forth. And since then, the conversations develeloped into knowing each other and turning into friends, but still not strong enough to be considered "Best friends." We knew somewhat about each other and took the friendship day by day. One Tuesday afternoon, I was sitting by the kitchen counter busy with homework when I recieved a text message from Jess informing me that she is having a birthday celebration and that I'm invited. The only thing I had to bring was a couple of beers. And since I was underaged, I took the ultimate risk by taking some beers from my dad's bar. As I arrived to the party, everyone looked at me as if I was an outcast. I didn't think much of it seeing as we didn't know each other. I was then greeted by Jess who gave me a big hug and immediatley took the beer into he kichen. She offered me something to drink and poured for us some of "my" beer. Some people came to us and she intorduced me to them whilst giving them a smirk. It seemed suspicious at first but I didn't think much of it. When all the alcohol was finished, she asked if I had any money on me, and I did have 200 Dollars on me. She asked if she could borrow it and that she'd give me the money tomorrow. I lent it to her and they went to go buy more alcohol. She bought a 24 pack beer for us and we actually had a good time. After some time, a guy approached us and insulted my hair. She immediatley went into defense mode and stood up for me. I thought at first that it was so thoughtful of her. But then as I stood alone at the swimming pool, her other friends asked her why she hanged out with me. And her response was:"Because it's about the money that he willingly shares." She didn't see me through the crowd of people between us but I was extremely dissapointed in myself and her.

I confronted her in front of everyone and she tried to denied what she said. I just laughed at her and walked away. And for a moment, I could see the immediate regret in her face. I knew that I was guillable, but I didn't think I would be taken for a fool that easily. She stopped by the next morning with sorrow and embarrasment in her eyes. She came to return the money and she still wanted to apologise, but I shut the door in her face. It was the last time we ever spoke. And I got a couples of beers and stocked it back up without even knowing.

Through this experience I was taught a couple of things: Never understimate the power someone has to influence you. Look at my dilemma. I managed to stole beers, go to an underaged party with alcohol and gave money away to someone I didn't know that long at all. I was too guillable to trust so easily, and Jess was a two-faced liar. People always tend to come into your life with the wrong intentions.

And that's why people come and go in your life.. They teach us life lessons and experiences to not make the same mistakes to allow you to trust your gut. I hope my story encouraged you to take more control of who enters your life and who should go. Thank you for the time you put in to read my story. It is extremely much appreciated.

Short Story
6

About the Creator

Eduan du Plessis

I've always had a passion for writing. I decided to give it a try and to see whether I would be able to realise my potential in it. I will write stories based on what you would like to read. thank you for your time. I appreciate it upmost.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Well done!!! Excellent message!!! If your story was true, you can have Vocal support move it to Confession community. If your story was fabricated, it should stay in Fiction. ❤️❤️💕

  • Sarah D10 months ago

    Nice one read mine too? https://vocal.media/fiction/a-different-sort-of-magic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.