Fiction logo

The Pear Tree in My Old House

by Anshuman Kumar

By Anshuman KumarPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Pear Tree in My Old House
Photo by Олександр К on Unsplash

Ramesh Goyal was looking forward to retirement. His last posting was in Darjeeling, India and he had about a year left before he would retire and then go live in his ancestral house in Patna. Right now his son Sooraj and daughter-in-law Malti lived in his ancestral house because Ramesh was working at a law office in Patna. Ramesh wanted his son to live in their house as for the past few years he was living and working in another city. It was October 2007 and Ramesh was delighted to visit Sooraj and his family because Sooraj and Malti became parents of a new baby daughter a few days ago. They named their daughter Vinita.

Ramesh used to miss his wife Juhi a lot. Juhi died four years ago in an accident.

He was very glad to see Sooraj, Malti and Vinita on his brief visit for a few days.

Sooraj: "Papa, so glad you are here for a few days. We are delighted to see you."

Malti: "Yes, Papa ji. I am very happy. Tomorrow I will make your favourite vegetable rice."

Ramesh: "Achcha achcha (Good, good). That is very good. I am tired this evening so I will sleep soon and then we can talk more tomorrow morning."

Before he went to sleep he took Vinita in his arms for a little while and then returned her to Malti. He was overjoyed to be a grandfather.

The next morning when Sooraj woke up it was nearly 6:30 am. Sooraj liked to get up early. To his amazement Ramesh was in the garden hugging the pear tree and crying.

Sooraj rushed towards Ramesh.

Sooraj: "Papa, why are you up so early? Why are you crying? What happened?"

Ramesh: "I miss my grandpa a lot as now I am a new grandpa. When I was 5 or 6 years old my grandpa would hold my hand and we would slowly walk to this pear tree. He would give me pears from the tree when they were ripe. He and I spent a few summers a lot with this tree. When grandpa died I was 10 years old and completely devastated. For many years I did not remember him much. But this morning I looked out the window and saw the pear tree. Suddenly I started remembering my grandpa again. As I am a grandfather now I can related more to and understand the love he had for me when I was a child. For me my grandpa and this pear tree will always be special."

Sooraj: "Thank you for letting me Dad. I am so glad you told me all this. Let us go back to the house and soon have breakfast." He embraced his father.

Ramesh: "Thanks beta. I feel better now that I told you all this. I want to see photographs of my grandpa and let us go inside and search for those in our old photo albums."

Before he walked back Ramesh touched the pear tree lovingly with his right hand and closed his eyes and said, "Grandpa, I will always remember your love."

Ramesh and Sooraj then went back to the house so that they could spend a good day with Malti and baby Vinita.

family
Like

About the Creator

Anshuman Kumar

I live and work in Canada and am originally from India. I am interested in movies, short stories, swimming, travel etc. Tips are definitely optional but are very welcome. Thank you for reading.

My email is [email protected]

Thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.