Fiction logo

The Pear Tree

& it's purpose ..

By LaneyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
2

I laid in the back yard up under my Nanny’s pear tree gazing into the sky day dreaming about life, my future, my purpose. I’ve always had a mind that moves fast, and is always interested in finding out the why’s of life. In my Nanny’s backyard underneath the pear tree I realized something that caught my eye- it never actually bore fruit.

I got up walked from under the tree, up the stairs and onto the porch and through the sliding glass door.

“Nanny why doesn’t the pear tree grow fruit?” I asked in complete wonder. “Aw hell, I imagine the same thing that happened to the banana tree” she said. “Well what happened to the banana tree?” I asked, still questioning the now two trees that don’t bore fruit. “The yard man whacked at ‘em both thinking he was doing me a justice trimming ‘em back, though I only asked for the yard to be trimmed.”

Well, did that take my little but elaborate mind for a trip. “So you mean to tell me that’s all it took for something not to fulfill it’s intention?”, I asked as I shrugged my shoulders and put up my hands in the air in full question body language.

Life can be like that sometimes, when too much ain’t enough I mean. People will not ONLY provide what you ask for, but without direction, do more; resulting in problems caused by “over extending” intentions.

I’m going to explain or give an example of how this good intention/bad reaction theology really works and how it plays into my Nanny’s pear tree.

Take an ametuer drug dealer, for example. His thirst for the money drives his direction causing himfast,moves  to seek financial opportunity in the weaker crowd AKA addicts. The drug dealer, trying to impress, over weighs little baggies and places them into the hands of others he knows will have enough money to fund a daily habit.

His desire to accommodate the users in order to “lock them in” only resulted in the families of the drug users to have to prepare funerals for their overdosed loved ones bodies. Do you see how over doing it can have adverse effects?

What about the excessive first time Dad? Literally over eager and almost too involved in every aspect of the pregnancy. Let alone what comes after the birth, before it even comes through the first stages of life, the added pressure he is providing, stresses his partner to the point of her milk drying out due to stress and depression, trying to level herself up to the demanding expectations of her partner. Being present and available was all she needed from him, instead all the unnecessary behaviors ultimately eliminated the option of breast milk for their new born.

Once again a time that too much, caused not enough.

At times in life we are forced to choose; do I overextend or do I offer only what is asked of me?

Recently I stood on my Nanny’s newly renovated back porch. It was renovated due to the 100-year flood that occurs naturally to the creek that runs through the area. The creek rose high, except this time it completely submerged houses.

I stared straight ahead realizing that there were dead pears all in the back yard, lying in over grown grass and plants alike. When left alone with all that it needed and nothing more the pear tree once again fruited

Everything has a sole purpose or intention, have you found yours, and if so, are you doing all that is asked?

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Laney

UpSta

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.