Fiction logo

The Package

People were going insane over the packages. But what happens when someone solves the puzzle?

By Hannah DawsonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Everyone in my neighborhood was buzzing with news about receiving the mystery packages. It was always wrapped in brown paper and when you opened it there was a box with a keyhole on it, no key, and a note. The note was supposed to lead you to the key but no one had been able to solve it yet. People were going insane trying to solve the package. My best friend received a few months ago and I haven't seen her since. No one knows who or even what is sending them or why or how people are chosen to get the package. I've always loved reading and watching mystery books and shows. Does that mean I want a package? Yes and no. In a way I would love to receive one just to see if I could solve it myself. But the thought also scared me, I really didn't want to go insane. But I guess whoever or whatever was sending them was listening and watching because I did receive one. How did I avoid going insane? Well, that's complicated. But I suppose since you're reading this story you want to know. So let's start at the begin.

For the millionth time that week I tried calling my best friend. I sighed and hung up. She use to be such a fun and bubbly person until she received the package. But all that changed the minute she opened that cursed box. She became a recluse never leaving her house, she wouldn't answer phone calls, texts, or even social media messages. All she did was think and obsess over the stupid accursed box. I turned on the tv then immediately regretted my decision seeing everything was about the package. I turned the tv off and stood up, I slipped my shoes on and started to open my front door. I looked down and gasped seeing the cursed package was sitting on my porch! It sitting on my front porch! I felt like I was going to throw up. What should I do? Should I pick it up? I crouched down and nearly fainted seeing my name and my address on it. How did whoever was sending these know my name and address? I sighed and picked it up bringing it back inside my apartment.

I just stared at the box for the next few hours. Having a mental battle in my head. Should I open it? What would happen if I did open it? Would I go insane like everyone else? What would happen if I opened it and solved it? Would I win something? Cash? A house? A new car? No one had ever solved it before so no one knew what the prize was or even if there was a prize. I groaned opened the package. Just like everyone had said inside was a locked box and a note. On the note it just said two words and nothing else. 'Watch carefully' Watch carefully? What does that mean? I could understand why that made people go crazy. But I wasn't going to be one of those people. I wasn't going to let it beat me. I didn't care what was in that stupid box. Oh who was I kidding? Of course I cared what was in the box! The mystery geek in me was desperate to learn what secrets the box wrapped in brown paper held. But I was not going to go crazy over it. I turned on the tv, and started flipping through channels. I sat up realizing something, nearly every channel had either a sand or seashells on it. Even the kids shows. I remembered the note inside the package. Watch Carefully. "The beach." I mumbled bolting up and running towards my door. I grabbed my keys, the box, and ran out the door.

The beach was totally empty when I arrived. Everyone in town was too obsessed with the boxes to go anywhere. I parked my car and ran towards the shore. I searched everywhere on the beach, just when I was ready to give up and go home, I found a huge conch shell that looked fake. I picked it up and realized it was fake. I put my hand inside and gasped touching something metal. I pulled it out and nearly did a happy dance seeing a black iron key. I did it! I found the key! I solved it! I dropped the fake conch shell and ran as fast as I could back my car. I grabbed the box, took a deep breathe, put the key in the keyhole and turned. I bit my lip as they box opened. Inside was, another note? I cursed in both surprise and frustration. I picked it up and read it: Well done, for making it this far! Come to this address. I sighed and got in my car. I put the box in the passengers side. I put the address in my phone and drove towards it.

It turns out the address was all the way on the other side of town. My phone alerted me that I was here. It was a huge gated mansion. As I pulled up to the gate it opened and I drove through. I parked, grabbed the box, and walked to the door. I moved to knock on the door but it opened. "Hello?" I asked walking in. "Congratulations. You actually solved it I didn't think anyone would do it." A man in his forties wearing a fur coat, boxers, a black tank top, and slippers said. "Uh thanks. So what's the prize for winning?" I asked. "Oh um, I hadn't actually thought that far ahead yet." he shrugged. He didn't say that. I didn't hear that. People were losing their minds over this! "I was kind of just lonely and wanted a friend, that's why I sent them out to random people." the man explained. As crazy as that sounded and it did sound crazy, we became friends. After the news broke that someone had solved the box life returned to normal. That was until another brown package appeared at everyone's door step the following year. Apparently my new friend wanted some more friends. I moved that very day, no more mysterious brown wrapped paper packages for me.

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Dawson

I'm an aspiring writer. I work as a para professional with special needs kids. I love to read, cosplay, and hang out with my family and cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.