Fiction logo

The old man that live in the old barn

Never judge a person what they are yet by who they are

By TinaMarie TrentPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Growing up in a little country town of Louisiana name Prien Lake we had a close family. So close to the fact that everyone on these two dead ends were family in some sort of way except this one old man that live in a old run down barn all alone. I was afraid of him for a long time until one day my dad seen me running a scaredly pass that old barn. My dad was worried he that something was wrong. He stop me Marie come here he said. I went to him he put his arm around me and asked what was the matter. I told him I was afraid of the old man in the barn. He said, “who Mr. Poll”, laughingly. I was confused then I asked dad you know that old man looks scary. He laughed again then said Mr. Poll would hurt a soul he is the most kindest loving man you will ever meet. He took my hand and said, ``Come on I’ll show you. As we walked to the drive-way i hold his so tight i was hurting my own hand. Walking up to the barn we walked through a big garden with every vegetable and fruit I liked in it. We get to the door my dad knocks i heard a soft old voice says come in. I smelled the old moldy smell before he opened the door. I tried not to make any faces because it was bad and I didn’t want to offend him. When the old man seen my dad he lit up like a Christmas tree and had a huge smile on his face. Then the old man says DOC is that you haven’t seen you in ages. Man dad answers him, “yea old man it's me and my oldest”. The old man came closer to me let me have a look at you he say to me as he held his hand out for mine. Doc she has grown so big you going to be in a lot of trouble when this one gets older the old man tells my dad. I know that already old man you ain't gotta rub it in my dad tells the old man. Then my dad goes on to tell him that i was afraid of him that is why he brought me there today. The old man looked at me and said,”honey there is no reason to be afraid of me. I can barely walk, no less hurt anyone, especially you, your DOC’s child,'' he says, (in the sweetest old man voice). And i see why he says he can barely walk, his back was bent over where he couldn’t even stand up straight. Then he reaches under the smell of the old cot he was setting on and pulls out a coin bag full of change, reaches in and gives me a handful of quarters and says that's for you but only if you help me pick the vegetables and fruits out of that garden. Yes sir I said I'll be happy to help you so I got started. There were tomatoes, cucumbers, strawberries , okra and so much more. When I was done he saw me staring at them he said sweet heart you eat this stuff that you picked for me shaking my head saying yes sir I eat them all the time with my dad. He started looking for something, then he brings a little bag hold this he said. He puts two of everything in the bag then says that's for you and your baby sister. I looked around the old barn with only a candle light to see that he already had nothing and was giving me what little he had, then asked why are you giving the little food that you have to me if you don't need it. He looks at me and says this is more than enough for me to eat, when you do things for others even when you have oh so little you get it back in return 10 times. I told him thank you and asked my dad if he was ready. My dad said ima stay here and talk to Mr. Poll for a few you can go home it you like. As i ran out the door i turned around and said thank you again. Mr. Poll yelled back your welcome sweetheart and said you can stop by any time, I always need help in my garden. So from that day forward after school I would go to Mr. Poll’s and helped in his garden and even though he had so little he made sure to pull out his old coin bad a give me that same hand full of quarters. Some days I would go there and he wouldn’t be feeling well. I would make sure he had everything he needed and let him know I’ll be back tomorrow. For that day I have learned and always keep the kindness and gratitude he showed me (a child) that day and do the same to others. Since that day I have never judged a person for the way they looked, what kind of lifestyle they had or the kind of home they lived in. Because that day I realized having things and a good looking home don't make who a person is yet it is the heart you have and the compassion you have for others is what makes you a great person.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

TinaMarie Trent

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.