Fiction logo

The Night Walk

"Unleashing the Power of Magic on a Night Walk"

By Muskan FatimaPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
The Night Walk
Photo by jonathan wilson rosas peña on Unsplash

As I walked through the quiet streets on this cool autumn night, I felt a sense of peace wash over me. The streetlights cast an orange glow on the pavement, and the leaves rustled under my feet as I strolled down the sidewalk.

I had always loved walking at night. It felt like the world was mine, and I could take my time and enjoy the quiet moments that daytime couldn't provide. As I continued down the street, I noticed something unusual.

A figure was standing on the corner, shrouded in the darkness. I couldn't make out any features, but something about their silhouette seemed off. My instincts told me to turn around and head back home, but my curiosity got the better of me. I walked towards the figure, slowly and cautiously.

As I approached, I realized it was a woman. She was dressed in a black cloak that covered her from head to toe. I couldn't see her face, but I could sense that she was watching me. I cleared my throat and tried to speak, but my words caught in my throat.

The woman lifted her head and looked at me, her eyes piercing through the darkness. I could feel a shiver run down my spine, but I stood my ground. "Do you need any help?" I finally managed to ask.

The woman's lips parted, and she spoke in a low, melodic voice. "I'm looking for something."

I frowned, not sure what she meant. "What are you looking for?"

The woman didn't answer, but instead held out her hand. In her palm was a small, shiny object. I couldn't make out what it was, but it looked important.

"Please," she said. "Take this and find what it belongs to."

I hesitated for a moment, unsure of what to do. But something in the woman's voice compelled me to take the object. As soon as my fingers touched it, a jolt of electricity shot through my body. I stumbled backwards, dropping the object on the pavement.

The woman let out a sharp gasp and disappeared into the darkness. I stood there for a few moments, trying to catch my breath. When I finally looked down at the object, I realized it was a small, silver key.

I picked it up and examined it closely. There were no markings or engravings, but it felt heavy in my hand. Without thinking, I slipped the key into my pocket and continued on my walk. But as I made my way home, I couldn't shake the feeling that I was being watched.

The next few days were uneventful, but I couldn't stop thinking about the woman in the cloak and the mysterious key she had given me. I tried to dismiss it as a strange encounter, but my curiosity got the better of me.

I spent hours searching for anything that the key might belong to. I combed through the streets and asked people if they had lost anything, but nothing seemed to fit. As the days turned into weeks, I became obsessed with the key and the woman who had given it to me.

One night, as I was lying in bed, the key suddenly grew hot in my pocket. I bolted upright, startled by the sudden change in temperature. Without thinking, I slipped the key into the lock of my bedroom door. To my surprise, it fit perfectly.

I turned the key, and the door creaked open. I stepped inside and gasped in shock. The room was filled with darkness, but I could sense a presence in the shadows. As my eyes adjusted to the darkness, I saw her. The woman in the cloak was standing in front of me, her face still hidden in the shadows.The woman stepped forward, revealing her face. She was older than I had expected, with sharp features and a piercing gaze. She held out her hand, and I realized that the object she was holding was a book.

"This is what I was looking for," she said, her voice as melodic as I remembered. "The key belonged to a safe in my home, where I keep my most prized possessions. But the safe has been stolen, and with it, this book."

I took the book from her outstretched hand, examining the cover. It was an old, leather-bound tome, with faded letters etched into the cover. "What is it?" I asked, unable to hide my curiosity.

"It's a book of magic," she replied. "A collection of spells and incantations that have been passed down in my family for generations. With it, you could have the power to do anything you want."

I stared at her in disbelief, unsure of what to say. But before I could respond, the woman stepped forward and took the book from my hands.

"Thank you," she said, her voice softening. "You have no idea how much this means to me. But you must promise me something."

"What?" I asked, my heart pounding in my chest.

"You must promise that you will use this book wisely," she said. "That you will only use its power for good, and never for evil."

I nodded, not fully understanding the weight of her words. But as I left the room that night, clutching the key in my hand, I knew that my life would never be the same. The book of magic had given me a power that I had never imagined, and I knew that I had a responsibility to use it wisely.

As I walked through the quiet streets once again, I knew that my night walks would never be the same. But I also knew that I had been given a gift, and that I had the power to do good in the world. And with that, I walked into the night, ready to embrace whatever the future held.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Muskan Fatima

"Crafting words that leave an impact and stories that stay with you."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.