Fiction logo

The Night the Lights Went Out

What would you do, if everything you knew changed in one night?

By S.R.BPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1

Prologue: After

“This is the plainest tasting food I’ve ever put in my mouth. Do we even know what kind of meat this is?” I shouted out in disgust as I examined the food in my hand, turning it over while I poked and prodded it.

It almost resembles chicken, if it was a kid's pretend food. I continued analyzing the mystery meat and grabbed at the top layer (I’m assuming the skin). I looked up and caught Toby watching me. I released the layer, which bounced back with such potency it about fell from my hand.

Does that mean it was hydrated?

I tossed the pieces back onto my plate.

“We’ve been living like this for how long Rue? Time to let it go and give up the dramatics.” Toby responded through a mouthful of food I could barely make out the words coming from his mouth.

I rolled my eyes in response, too annoyed by the food to put my energy into acting like his mom. Chew and swallow before talking, Tobias. It’s rude to talk with your mouth full. My god, it’s like I could still hear the echo of my parents in my head. Strange to think they have already been absent from my life for 6 months now…I pushed the thought from my mind and resumed picking apart the “food”.

Ah, a bone so it is more than a rubber toy.

Toby must have noticed my annoyance as he swallowed his food before continuing, “In reality, you really should be gratef…”

Nope, still an idiot. I took the bone I dissected from my piece of meat and chucked it at his head before he could finish his sentence, hitting him right on his left cheek.

Grateful.

I should be grateful.

It’s like we haven’t been living in the same conditions, let alone the same universe.

I started at him from across the table, willing him to spin what he almost said to me, to something that wouldn’t make me want to strangle him. Toby met my gaze as he wiped the juice from the bone off his cheek.

“You are by far the rudest human that has ever lived.” He said as he quickly went back to his food, using his hands as utensils. Sucking each bone from his portion dry.

Repulsive.

Rage came over me and I slammed my palms down on the wooden table and jumped to my feet. Both our plates clattering, “You know I hate that, ‘You should be grateful’, gimme a break. Grateful for what exactly Tobias? Grateful that some idiots in suits and fancy degrees ruined mine...our lives? Hell the world, actually! Or grateful that they have everyone locked up, our family; friends; neighbors, who knows where. Or forced into hiding like us, scared of what they may do if they find us.

Or I know, grateful that at the ripe age of 16 we were forced to grow up, learn to fend for ourselves like our great ancestors before us.” I paused as I stared intently at Toby, waiting for his answer. I knew it wasn’t coming, he wouldn't engage. It’s what Toby was best at, avoiding confrontation, which as infuriating as it could be, at the end of the day somewhere deep down I think I envied that.

Without his response, I continued with my tangent. “Wait, wait, best one yet. I should be grateful for this piece of rubber that we get to call dinner!” As I spoke I reached back and grabbed the mystery meat from my plate and tossed it towards Toby’s. He seemed to be enjoying it and knew how to be grateful so he minus well have a full stomach tonight.

As I turned to storm out, I caught the mystery meat bounce as it hit Toby’s plate out of the corner of my eye. A chuckle escaped my lips, my comparison to rubber was accurate.

“C’mon Rue, don’t just leave!” I could hear Toby stand and walk towards the door I just walked through. I didn't turn even the slightest, I needed some space to cool off before I took things too far, again. “You're really not going to eat this? You’ll be hungry later!” Tobys call outs after me were getting quieter and quieter as I made my way down the beaten path toward my favorite thinking spot. The last I heard from him was, “And I’m not scared!”

Of course, out of all that, he is most bothered by me hinting at being scared. I just shook my head, trying not to think more about it so my anger wouldn't take over.

I quickly arrived. My path led to a giant weeping willow, its appearance mirrored how I felt inside; limp, weak, struggling to stay upright. Deep down, the trees were strong, also like me I suppose seeing as I haven't died…yet.

AdventureSeriesYoung AdultSci Fi
1

About the Creator

S.R.B

Hi! Glad your here. I’m just sharing what I love - my writing. Hope you enjoy ☺️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.