Fiction logo

The Next Full Moon

Ch.1 Pomp and Pageantry

By Desirae AnayaPublished about a year ago 6 min read
1

If walls could talk, the audience would weep at the words spoken. What I have seen as one of the many hallways in my mistress's manor have stayed with me these last hundreds of years. My mistress fell in love with a man who took advantage of her status and meant to ruin her and her house. Beside this unlovable lord, there were others that tried to destroy my mistress’s reputation. She was an orphaned child, set to inherit lands, titles, and businesses of the oldest lineage in the country. Her governess and adopted mother was her only ally for the majority of her life. Although, with time, the servants would become the family unit that my dear mistress craved. This hollowed out manor that once endured the loss of its Lord and Lady did become a home that my mistress desperately wanted to fill with all the love she was afforded. My mistress also fell in love with a man who, despite loving her in return, could not allow his heart to destroy his own house and reputation; for he was already married to another noble house.

Now, when I say this story will make the audience weep at my words spoken, I do mean weep with tears of joy, sadness, anger, and bewilderment. I am but a humble hallway after all. Down the length of my wainscotting, I held the load of the weight of the roof. I also stood across the bedroom doors of my mistress, her governess and my mistress’s potential suitors. Now, centuries after my mistress and her lovers, or lack thereof, I am the only thing standing. So please, stay awhile, while I regale you of the life of my mistress.

The year was 1842. The month was March. The day was the ninth. This ninth of March my Lady Di Wintour gave birth to a beautiful baby girl. The baby girl, soon to be my mistress, was named Elizabeth Rose Di Wintour was born healthy, happy, and hungry. Lord Di Wintour was equally as happy. He and Lady Di Wintour had been trying for a baby for years, and finally he had one all to his own. Their official titles were the Duke and Duchess of Rothesay, but they were the lord and lady of Manor Lunae. All three of them filled the hallways with laughter and smiles. It was a beautiful time. Never in my history had I seen people so happy. The servants sang in the hallways, a child’s laugh filled the same spaces, and love seemed to ooze out of all the walls. I know during the time of the Di Wintours I stood a little taller. Unfortunately, those good times were not to last.

The winter of 1848 was a brutal winter. Coldest winter I ever endured. It brought pestilence. That winter, a week before the feast of St. Valentine, the Duke and the Duchess passed away. My mistress had yet to turn six years of age. She spent that birthday alone, sobbing in her bedroom. I will never forget her wailing that day. This little girl that was so loved, was now left alone in this world. Maybe not totally alone; her governess Lady McGregor never left. Lady McGregor had been assigned to the duchess, when she first proclaimed she was expecting. Lady McGregor never left. Not only was Lady McGregor in charge of the education of Elizabeth, but also her emotional well being. That year began a hard transition for everyone in the house. Elizabeth, at the age of five, became Lady of Manor Lunae, Duchess of Rothesay, heir to the Di Wintour fortune. This was an immense burden to carry at five years old.

I remember that week so vividly. My mistress would usually be running up and down the hallway, but she seldom made it past her bedroom door. There was silence and sadness all throughout the manor. Some servants that replaced the bedroom linens were found sniffling and crying under their breath. However if Lady McGregor should encounter a crying servant, she would dismiss them for the day. My mistress, Elizabeth, stayed in her room crying. I remember listening to her wails within her bedroom. Although she was young, she knew sadness that only old men could dream of. Lady Elizabeth was a child; she shouldn’t have to deal with loss on the scale that she did. Lady Elizabeth was always the light missing from people’s life, however during that week, she was nothing but a shadow.

After the services for the Duke and Duchess Di Wintour, many of the servants tried to continue on as normal. Lady McGregor tried to continue as usual, however Elizabeth, being a child, was more difficult to move on. Those years were hard for Elizabeth and Lady McGregor. Eventually, Elizabeth grew in grace, patience, and understanding. It wouldn’t be until Elizabeth’s twenty fourth year that everything began to change. Lady McGregor had been staving off marriage proposals since Elizabeth’s fifteenth birthday. Now, due to the pressures of court and owning half the country Elizabeth was the most eligible bachelorette in the land. From the spring of 1864 to the winter of 1865 the manor was abuzz with constant parties and balls. The purpose of all this was to find a potential husband for my mistress.

“I still don’t understand why I am required to have a husband. I have been running the manor and all of the Di Wintour assets myself! I feel like a man would ruin everything.” Elizabeth was lamenting to Lady McGregor about yet another party.

“It is not proper for a young lady to go unwed, especially when she has an opportunity to expand her assets.” Is how Lady McGregor would respond.

“I am getting rather tired of all the parties, Nanni.” Lady McGregor sighed.

“I am getting rather tired of all the parties as well Lizzie.” It was Elizabeth’s turn to sigh. “How about this; one more party for the season. This one, and one alone. After, we will cancel for the rest of the year and we can pick it up again after your twenty-fifth year. How does that sound?” Lady McGregor gently persuaded.

“Deal. After tonight, Manor Lunae will not have to endure the superficial pomp and pageantry of another party.” With that, both my mistress and Lady McGregor exited Elizabeth's bedroom in their party gowns.

I remember they both looked so lovely. Elizabeth had grown into a strong, tall woman. She took after her father in her stature, but her angular jawline, upturned nose, and honey brown almond eyes were all reminiscent of the late duchess. Elizabeth was considered a beauty of her time, it just seemed that her stature was what was off putting. I can still hear their heels clicking down the hall, around the corner, and down into the grand ballroom. Oh to be a ballroom wall. I would have benefited from the view especially to have seen what happened next. Of that night, I only know how Elizabeth and Lady McGregor started the night, but not what happened in the interim. I would soon find out when Elizabeth came back enveloped in frustrated tears. Lady McGregor in tow.

Young AdultSeriesLoveHistoricalAdventure
1

About the Creator

Desirae Anaya

I enjoy exploring the depths of the human condition while it wars with outside influences. Life is a series of stories that are begging to be told. Besides its fun making the school bully into the antagonist that always gets their justice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.