Fiction logo

The Next Death; Chapter 14

Chapter 14

By Katarzyna CrevanPublished 7 months ago 7 min read
Like

When I get to the shop the next day, I'm surprised to find Agatha standing behind the counter. She glances up and sighs heavily upon seeing me. "You really don't know how to stay out of trouble."

"I didn't do anything," I counter. Which is true, I hadn't broken any rules or done anything I had been told not to do.

"Yet here I am, again."

"Lay off Joan," Sam says, walking out from the back. Agatha hisses at him. He merely rolls his eyes before looking back at me. "How were the tests?"

I point at Agatha, "Did you just call her Joan?"

"No," Agatha snaps.

Sam blinks, looking at Agatha in confusion. "I thought you went back to using your name?"

"Agatha is my name," she says, leveling her gaze with his, eyes daring him to challenge her.

Reaching the counter, I lean towards them. "Agatha isn't Agatha?"

"No, she's-"

"I heard you almost died yesterday," she says over Sam. "Really made my day, thanks for that."

I narrow my eyes, mouth opening to make a comment, but no words come to mind.

"Joan!" Sam snaps.

Agatha slowly turns her head to glare at him. "I will end you." Sam gives her a look.

"As curious as I am about Agatha's actual name," I say, drawing their attention to me, "I also want that explanation you promised me."

Sam tilts his head, an apologetic smile forming on his lips. "About that. . ."

"Mors wants to fill you in himself," Neal says, appearing at my side.

I turn my head towards him. "Ok, do I just go to his office now?"

The three of them are oddly silent for a second before Sam speaks. "Mors isn't back yet."

"When will he be back?"

"Monday?"

"You don't sound too sure."

Sam shrugs. "That was his estimate."

"Is there anything you can tell me?"

"You almost died," Agatha offers.

"That I don't know?"

"Nope," Agatha smirks, "Have fun waiting."

"Seriously?" I look at Sam and Neal hoping one of them will cave.

Sam gives me an apologetic smile while Neal shrugs, "Sorry."

I sigh. "Fine. Will there be any training today?"

"I don't think that's a good idea," Neal muses.

"We can spar for a bit if you want," Sam offers.

I huff a sigh. "Sure. Why not." I drop my bag as I pass the doorway to the back. I only worked on weekdays, so at least I wouldn't spend too much time just sitting around the shop, but I'd need something to keep my mind occupied today.

xXxXx

I'm carrying my plate into the kitchen when I hear the knock at the door. Charcoal starts barking, prancing off towards the door. I pause, looking back. Who would be knocking on our door this late at night? Charcoal's barking fades into whining. Well, at least it's someone we know. "Dan!" I yell as I keep heading into the kitchen.

"I'm going! Charcoal, sit," Dan's voice floats back across the house.

Mom is coming down the hall from her room as I re-exit the kitchen. "Who's at the door?"

I shrug, "Dan's answering the door."

"Dan! Who's at the-" Mom freezes, mid-step. "Mom?"

I look to find Dan following gran through the house. "Surprise, sweetie! I know, I should have called, but I couldn't help it. I wanted to surprise you all." Gran stops looking at me. "Well, are you gonna come get a hug or am I going to have to walk all the way over there myself?" She demands.

I smile, crossing the floor. Gran wraps me in a tight hug. "Hi, Gran."

"Mm, I'm glad to see you looking better. Heard you got a job," she says pulling out of the hug.

"Just a small part-time thing after school."

"Just a small thing, hm? Is that why you changed your schedule for it?"

"Uh-," shoot. How to explain this? Gran knew me too well.

"Mom," Mom objects, "Eliza is still getting A's and is still ranked relatively high in her class. Cut her some slack."

Gran holds up her hands. "Fine." Lowering her hands, she gives me a side smile. "Us gossip girls will have some tea later." I smile back. "Where's Marc? He's always happy to see me."

Mom rolls her eyes. "He got put on a night shift today. I am happy to see you. I would just appreciate-"

"A heads up," Gran finishes for her. "Dan, be a wonderful boy, and come help your grandmother set up the guest room."

"Do I get candy for saying yes?" Dan asks.

"Always. Got a bag of all your favorites for my favorite grandson."

"He's your only grandson," I point out.

"Just like you're my favorite only granddaughter," gran counters.

I smile as gran winks, walking off towards the guest room, chatting with Dan. Mom shakes her head.

xXxXx

I study the black leather journal. I had told myself I could wait, but I was honestly getting a little tired of waiting. I flip to the blank page at the end of the previous entry. Taking a deep breath, I focus my thoughts. Demons. I want to know about demons. Specifically, if they could cause what I had felt the other day while astral projecting.

Demons are rogue souls that have found a way to physically manifest themselves in the world or have found a host. This physical manifestation allows them manipulation of the flow. While they can move objects and make contact with the living, unlike rogue and trapped souls, they do not produce cold spots. Though they can be angry like trapped souls, they do not project this anger. It cannot be felt by those it is affecting unless they wish to stir up a fight. It should be noted that demons are not characterized by darkness, they are a soul.

I stare at the journal, waiting for more, but nothing else appears. Then what could do all of that? The pause before the writing appears is notable this time.

This information is not available at this time.

What? Seriously? Why?

The topic asked about is blocked to you at the moment. You are not ready.

I almost can't believe it. I was just told no by a book. I flip it shut.

"Not happy with the ending?" Gran's voice asks.

I look over at my door. Gran watches me from the doorway. I look at the journal for a second. "Yeah, I guess you could say that."

Gran enters my room. "How are you doing, Elizabeth?"

"I'm doing good. Schools going well, work is. . . work."

Gran sits in my desk chair, studying me. "You know you can tell me if something is wrong."

"Why would something be wrong?"

Gran tilts her head. "Have you tried meditating, like I suggested?"

"Not a lot. Relaxing while doing nothing isn't really my thing."

Gran chuckles. "Hence the job."

I laugh. "I'd hardly call my job relaxing."

"How hard can working at an antique shop be?"

Well, Gran, it's actually a cover for the fact that I'm being trained to be death one day. I shrug, "I have some curious co-workers."

"Any cute ones?"

I blink in surprise before I burst out laughing. "I mean, I suppose Neal and Sam would be considered cute, objectively."

"How about subjectively?"

"Are you seriously asking me if I'm crushing on my co-workers?"

"I'll have you know, workplace romances can be quite. . . enjoyable." Gran wags her eyebrows at me.

"Ew, Gran, no!"

Gran laughs, "Sorry, just trying to see if maybe the accident changed your mind on having a boyfriend."

I roll my eyes. "It may have changed my future plans, but a boy is still not a part of them." Was dating even a future possibility?

As if she can sense my thoughts drifting to a more somber path, Gran grows quiet. "Promise me that you'll be careful." I refocus on her, but now it seems she's the one whose mind has gone elsewhere. "There are things out there that are well beyond our control."

Gran blinks suddenly, the smile returning to her face. "That reminds me, I have something for you. Come with me, I left it with my stuff." Gran stands, walking from my room.

I slide from my bed, following after her. Gran walks down the hall to the guest room, humming softly to herself. Entering the guest room, she walks to her purse and rifles through it for a few seconds before pulling something out and turning to face me. She holds out a small white box. "I saw it at a sale I stopped by and thought you might like it."

Taking the box from her, I open it. Inside is a silver necklace. The front is made to look like a compass with a rusted antique look to it.

"Read the back," gran encourages.

Pulling the necklace from the box, I flip it over to read the inscription on the back, "If you follow your heart, you'll always find your way." It's so simple and cliche, but I can't help but feel it's just what I need. I look up at Gran. "Thank you."

Young AdultSeriesFantasyAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Katarzyna Crevan

Hi! I enjoy writing and have been writing for some years now. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.