Fiction logo

The Mystery Package

SFS 3: Brown Paper Box

By G SamPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

The small brown paper package arrived on a Wednesday. It was off schedule and Julie didn’t like things that were off schedule. We got our mail on Friday and that’s the way it has been for years. So this Wednesday package was unexpected and unwelcome. But Julie wasn’t too fussed, she moved it to the side and left for work.

I missed Julie when she was at work, but from years of experience I knew she’d be home soon, and besides, I’d gotten used to having the house to myself during the day.

I tried not to think about the box. It wasn’t for me anyway, I only got packages on Christmas and my birthday and today was not any of those occasions. So instead I decided to do what I usually do during the day; lounged around, had some lunch and took a nap. But the image of the package was branded in my memory, and it was looming in the back of my mind all day. I tried to resist, stay distracted but it was no use.

The mystery package was calling me. Beckoning me like a red flag to a bull. I circled around it and finally sat down 2 feet away. As I stared at the package, it felt like the package was multiplying, filling the room, suffocating me in the want, the need, to know what was inside.

The package surprised us, and we don’t get surprised often. We don’t like surprises!

Maybe I should open it, I mean Julie won’t mind right? I won't break it or anything, I just want to know what it is. She’ll open it when she gets home anyway so what's the harm if I opened it first. The string wrapped around it to form a bow meant that it was probably a present. But what if it’s a bad present? She’ll be glad if I open it first, that way she won't have to. Really I’ll be doing her a favour, she'll thank me I’m sure of it. With that in mind, I inched forward and touched the package with my nose, giving it a little sniff.

It smelt strange like something was alive in there and when it moved slightly I jumped in the air with fright. Packages weren’t meant to move. They were meant to stay still and contain books or clothes or food. But this package moved. I decided it was better to observe from a safer distance, so I ran behind the couch and peeped out, I mean what if there was a monster in there? I could catch it by surprise if I hid. Maybe bite it? Yes, that’s the smart thing to do, I’ll bite it.

Just then the package moved again. I jumped back behind the couch, my bravery fading. I was now officially scared, but Julie wasn’t home yet, so I was all alone. Suddenly the front door opened, and Julie walked through. Thank the heavens, she was home. I raced towards her.

“Julie, Julie the box, it moved! There’s a monster inside we have to throw it out and run. It’s not safe, I repeat, it’s not safe,” I screamed, jumping at her feet. But all she heard was barking. So she did not heed my warning.

“Down girl down,” said Julie instead, as she slowly pushed me aside. Stupid human. Didn’t she understand that the package was dangerous, I couldn’t protect her if I was scared, and I was petrified. I pawed at her, howled in protest but she wouldn’t budge. She softly shoved me away and opened the package.

What jumped out of the box made me scrunch my nose in disgust. It was worse than I thought.

The dog heavens must be laughing down on me today because it was a kitten.

A god damn kitten!

Short Story
1

About the Creator

G Sam

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.