Fiction logo

The Mortal's Magic

A new force rises in the realm of magic. Will a young mortal’s tenacity be enough to wield this power?

By Heather Zieffle Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 21 min read
3

The dawn is bright, and I squint my eyes as the sun flares up over the horizon. After nearly 200 years asleep in a deep cave under one of the biggest mountains on this side of the Silver Planes, it’s no wonder I’m nearly blinded.

I keep my eyes narrowed as I soar higher, needing to flex the last traces of sleep from my wings.

I had planned on sleeping for another few hundred years, but those pesky dwarves were digging ever further under the mountain.

My presence had been required to…gently remind them that it was always polite to knock before shaping and mining rock wherever they felt like it.

The looks on their faces, as my roar of outrage echoed throughout my great cavern, had been nearly enough to lighten my bad mood at having been so rudely awakened…nearly.

Their leaders hastily groveled apologies and the appropriately made retributions to me had finally convinced me not to eat the lot of them. Besides, dwarves were tough eating and they had worked extremely fast to re-seal the breach they made to my home.

I was astounded that they had managed to dig so far in such a relatively short amount of time, at least by dragon standards that is. My contemplations on these matters hadn’t allowed me to resume my sleep, so after some tossing and turning, I decided to take to the skies once more.

A slight vibration through the ether has a shiver ripple over my scales, and I pinwheel, my wings closing tight to my body as I roll, trying to shake the unnerving feeling.

Perhaps it hadn’t been the dwarves alone that had disturbed my slumber. Dragons were sensitive to the magic of this world. Usually, the ebb and flow of it was a soothing background noise, barely felt. Until there was a disruption that is.

I snort in agitation, huge gusts of smoke billowing from my nostrils. My second lids briefly cover my eyes until the smoke clears.

The disturbance is gone nearly as quickly as it came, and I shake my head to clear the last of its effects.

A low hill juts up from the plains, close to the edge of the Ebony Forest that stretches out eastward. The space is large enough for me to land, and I tuck my wings as I angle downward.

I need a moment to contemplate what it was I had felt.

Dragons were born of the ether, and we carry more magic in our veins than either the elves or the dwarves.

It is said that when the great serpent coaxed my people from the essence of this world, he drew on the fires that burn deep within the heart of this land. Dragons in turn brought forth the water-magic elves and the stone-sensitive dwarves, each excelling in their element.

Who or what could have been the cause of that momentary shift in the balance of this world?

I land with a great upsweep of my wings, dirt, and debris momentarily obscuring the area around me.

Reaching out with my mind, I trace the tie to my magic back to its source. The gentle thrum and cool currents of this planet’s magic caress me. Nothing feels amiss.

I’m certain I hadn’t imagined it. I issue a low, uneasy rumble, sweeping my gaze over the landscape before my eyes land on the edge of the tree line some several yards away. Something seems to urge me in that direction.

This forest’s trees are bigger than most, their trunks too thick for me to easily wrap my claws around, the canopy too dense to make scouting by air practical.

Another rumble leaves my chest, this time in annoyance. I’m going to have to shift if I wish to follow this unseen trail in that dark overgrowth.

Shifting was another gift bestowed on my people. Most of us learned to take several forms, usually smaller more stealthy shapes. It was a strain to go too small, so a mouse or insect was out of the question.

I pull the needed energies to me, the coolness of that flow quickly warming before becoming a soothing burn deep inside my chest.

I concentrate on the form I had learned in my youth, feeling my giant body shiver and reshape itself before once more solidifying.

My view is now much lower to the ground, my silvery-blue scales, still the same shade, now a dense hide of fur.

I had chosen the fox as one of my shapes because of their clever, sly ways. They were quick and fierce when needed.

I run down the hill, quickly making my way to the forest’s edge, not stopping until I’m deep within its cool darkness. My ears perk at a peculiar sound, and I veer towards it, the strange feeling that had me following this trail, intensifying.

The sound gets louder, its rumbling cadence is joined by another, this one softer in pitch. I realize that the sounds are voices, but of a dialect, I can’t immediately recall.

It wasn’t elfish or dwarvish, I was certain of that. That left the only other species capable of speech…humans.

As the dragons, elves, and dwarves had breathed their life from the magical ether that hugged this world, humans had sprung from its depths. As rough, violent, and short-lived as most other creatures that crawled from the muck to evolve and thrive.

They weren’t magical at all and viewed the races that were, with suspicion and fear. That wasn’t to say they weren’t a force in their own right. Rugged and hardy, they had slowly spread their villages across the lands, lack of magic notwithstanding.

My curiosity lures me forward and I soundlessly slink ahead, keeping myself low to the ground and well under cover of thick ferns.

The deeper voice gets louder, silencing the softer one several times. It sounds as if they are arguing, but what do I know of humans and their way of communicating? It could be a mating ritual for all I know.

As a youngling, I had to learn the language of each race, something that came easily to my people. I had studied the human tongue of course, but of all the races, humans kept changing theirs.

A slightly sour scent reaches my nose, that of fear.

When I finally reach the small clearing where the voices are emanating from, I freeze. The sight before me is so strange, so unexpected that it takes me several moments to discern what I’m seeing.

A large, ragged male is gripping the arm of a small slight female, both wear dark cloaks that obscure much of their form. The woman speaks quietly and furiously to the man, tugging at his hold several times, but unable to break free.

This is not what holds my attention though. No, it is the tiny child they have tied to the trunk of a tree. The little thing is bundled from head to toe in rough material, only its face visible. Several lengths of rope are wrapped around its frame, as if those that tied it here feared it would tear itself free, regardless of its small stature.

If that wasn’t strange enough, the child makes no sound, even though the position it’s in must not be comfortable. Its eyes are big and seem to follow the adults as they argue.

The man shakes the female by the arm he still has a hold of, uncaring about her cry of pain. He points angrily at the child before making a strange gesture across his chest.

The woman’s head droops as if in defeat before she nods. The man says several more words before he releases her arm.

She moves to a nearby tree, gathering a large basket before hesitantly placing it before the trussed-up child. Her head remains bowed, her eyes never rising to meet that of the child, who is staring at her solemnly.

They speak no more words as they both turn and hurriedly leave, following a narrow trail, heading east.

I wait several moments, too stunned to realize that they are not coming back. That they have left this tiny thing to perish.

All races hold children sacred. How could it be that humans did not?

I’m still staring in the direction the two humans had gone, willing them to return and gather their offspring, when I feel a tingling along my spine.

I quickly snap my gaze back to where the child is tied up to find it staring at me. I huff a snort, unnerved that it found me when I was so well hidden.

I cautiously step out from my hiding spot, and once I do it’s as if the strange calmness that the child had been under breaks. Great tears spring to those big eyes, sliding down its round cheeks, and a wail erupts from it.

My ears flatten to my head even as my eyes widen in concern. As small as it is, the sound it makes will surely draw all manner of predators to itself.

I can do nothing in this form and my true form is too big for this place. I grumble at what I’m about to do, disliking this next form as no other.

Once again, I pull the soothing energies to me, urging my body to change.

Arms and legs erupt from me, but it’s no elf, dwarf, or man that I become. Although I could choose to look more like those races if I wished, I do not. Instead, I retain as much of my dragoness as I can and still walk on two legs.

My own silvery-blue scales cover that most male part of me, running from mid-thigh over my chest and down my arms. Ebony horns adorn my head, and my hair falls down my back in midnight blue waves. My deep silver eyes study the little mortal.

Its wail has become sniffles as it watches me shift, and as the magic fades, leaving a creature most beings would run away from in fear, it smiles…at me!

“Daggy, daggy,” it chitters excitedly, wiggling its little bound body.

I cock my head at it. I don’t know what it’s trying to say, it seems much too young to be able to speak. But again, what do I know of these things?

“Hello, you seem to require help,” I say in my own tongue. I know it won’t understand me, but I feel compelled to say something to it.

A giggle issues from it and it tries to kick its legs.

Its struggles pull at my heart, and I can’t bear for it to be trussed up any longer.

Striding up to it, I use a claw to neatly sever the rope holding it in place, easily catching its slight weight with both hands.

A light cooing noise rumbles from it as I pull it up in front of me, studying its face. The rough cloth has fallen over its eyes, I cradle it on one hip as I use my other hand to pull the material away from its head and face altogether.

A shock of golden hair springs forth, frizzy from the friction of the cloth. Large blue eyes stare up at me, its round cheeks still damp from its earlier tears. A small red crescent mark mars the pale skin of its forehead, nearly hidden by its bangs.

Something passes between us as those sky-blue eyes meet mine. The strange feeling is similar to what led me here, and I’m as perplexed by it now as I was earlier.

Two certainties fill me. One, that this little creature was the cause of that disruption in the ether earlier, and two, that it is a she.

As if in appreciation for my sudden epiphanies, she reaches up and rubs her small hands against my scaled cheeks. “Daggy. Nice daggy”

I stare in fascination at it…at her. I’m still shocked that such a young creature is unafraid of my beastly visage, but she only seems enchanted by me as she continues to stroke my face.

I reach up to wipe the remains of her tears from her own cheeks, myself enchanted by how soft they are.

“Well now, it seems we have found each other. I don’t suppose you can tell me what should happen next?” I ask her, bouncing her on my hip.

She doesn’t say anything, but her eyes watch me intently. Laying her head on my shoulder, she yawns hugely.

“Tired, are you? I don’t suppose you’d want to sleep for a few hundred years or so?”

I do know that I’m not prepared to take care of a human child. Perhaps I could take it to one of the villages and try to find her a good home.

I know that I don’t want to risk taking her to the same village her vile parents had come from. I still do not understand why they would have done such a cruel thing. I can only guess it had something to do with some barbaric belief or superstition that many humans seemed to fall victim to.

I will need to travel far to find a place where no one will know her. That means I will need to fly; but how do I do that with a wiggly little creature such as this? I would not want to crush her in my talons or risk that her small body would squirm its way between them as I fly.

I glance down at her, surprised that she’s fast asleep. Maybe if she were to remain asleep…?

No, I could not risk that. My eyes catch sight of the basket the adults had left.

“Hmmm, that could work,” I rumble as I walk over to it, careful not to jostle my small charge.

Bending down, I cautiously lift the cloth covering the contents. Several apples, cloth-wrapped cheeses, and some smoked meats.

Had this been some sort of offering? Had she been?

I snort angrily, turning my head quickly so the smoke from my nose doesn’t waft over her face.

“By the serpent! What loathsome creatures,” I curse.

The little one murmurs in her sleep before cuddling closer under my chin. A tightness clutches my heart and I hold her nearer to my chest.

Taking the basket in one hand, I make my way back toward the clearing.

The sun hasn’t yet reached its zenith, so I should be able to cover a lot of ground before nightfall.

The child opens sleepy eyes as we leave the shadows of the forest behind, flinching at the bright sunlight.

I will need to get the child secured in the basket before I shift back to my dragon form.

I place the basket on the ground and unwrap the rest of the cloth from around her, thankful that she’s wearing a simple gray shift.

I place her on the ground, thinking that she will simply stay put as she seems far too small to go anywhere. Surprisingly, she easily gets to her feet, albeit a bit wobbly, and proceeds to stumble over to me.

I grab her small hand as she practically launches herself at me with a giggling screech. “You are far more sprightly than I would have imagined,” I say, contemplating how this is going to work.

I squat down so that I’m closer to her eye level, she smiles up at me, several tiny teeth visible.

Taking her hand, I lead her back over to the basket. Rummaging through its contents, I pull out some of the meat and cheese.

“Foo, foo,” she coos, her hands reaching for the food.

“All right, you eat while I think,” I say handing her the food.

She happily plops herself on the ground, stuffing a handful of the meat into her mouth. I quickly pull it out before she can choke. Shaking my head at myself, I use a claw to slice the meat into fine pieces.

I hand her a few at a time between her bites of the cheese. I examine the basket as she eats. It’s a sturdy thing with large handles so I should be able to clutch it easily with a claw. And with the food removed, the little one will be able to fit inside it.

Using some of the rope that bound her to the tree, I can tie the opening closed so she can’t get out while I’m flying.

Removing the rest of the food from the basket, I wrap it in a piece of cloth and set it aside. Using the rest of the cloth that she had been wrapped in, I try to make the interior comfortable.

She watches me intently as she finishes eating. “Well, I think this is going to have to do,” I rumble as she gets up and waddles over to me.

“Bad tam?” She asks, her head cocked as she looks up at me.

I’m not sure what she’s asking, but she holds onto the edge of the basket, seemingly intrigued with what I’ve done.

She raises a leg, trying to get into the basket.

“You want to get in?” I ask happily, hoping that this may be easier than I was thinking it would be.

I pick her up, placing her inside the basket. There is indeed enough room for her small frame to fit. She looks up at me curiously before another yawn stretches her lips.

Without a fuss, she lays down, curling up on her side. She stares at me sleepily as I lay another piece of the cloth over her, tucking it under her body.

Her eyes close with a contented sigh and I stare at her for several moments, hopeful that this next part will go just as well.

She barely moves as I secure the two ends of the basket together with the rope, making sure that she won’t be able to crawl or fall out of it. I tie the wrapped package of food to the outside of the basket, she will be hungry again soon, I’m sure.

Moving several yards away, I shift to my true form, shaking out my wings before moving to claim the basket with its small cargo.

Gently grasping the now roped-together handles with one claw, I listen to make sure no sounds of distress are coming from the child. My keen ears only pick up her even breathing.

I plan to fly west for maybe an hour as I know that was where several human villages had been in the past, hopefully, she will remain asleep for that time.

I take to the sky as smoothly as I can and head toward my destination.

The flight is surprisingly uneventful, and soon I spot a good-sized village, bustling with activity.

I dive low before their human eyes can catch sight of me, angling toward a valley. It’s a tight landing but I manage.

I don’t bother to shift before I’m using a talon to tear open the basket, anxious to make sure my small charge is all right.

A pair of big blue eyes are staring up at me. At the sight of my full dragon form, her eyes get even bigger, and a grin splits her face. I’m again astounded that she is unafraid of me.

“Daggy!” She wails happily, putting her arms out to me.

Shifting quickly, I stoop to pull her from the basket. I place her on the ground, letting her stretch her little legs after our long flight. She totters around the area, and I follow close behind.

I need to learn the local human dialect, unfortunately, that means I’ll need to look more human. It should only take me several moments surrounded by their chatter to re-learn it, but that requires me to be close to the village.

Sighing, I pull my magic to me once more, focusing on adjusting my appearance.

My scales and horns disappear, my hair darkens, becoming less blue, and my skin turns a healthy bronze color.

“That should do it,” I grumble looking down at my less formidable self. Except…I’m naked. I sigh again. I’ll have to solve that problem when I get closer to the village.

For now, I’ll wrap the larger piece of the cloth we have around my male parts. Humans are very particular about displaying those areas.

I pick up the child, snatching a snail from her hand before she’s able to stuff it into her mouth.

I quickly adorn myself with the cloth, grabbing up the basket and food before heading towards the village. We still have several hours of sunlight, so we should make it there before sunset.

It’s slower going than I expected, as my little companion wishes to walk and explore. Thankfully, she tires of it soon, and I scoop her up, trying to make up time by jogging.

We manage to make it to the outskirts just after dark, and I move stealthily around the perimeter looking for some proper attire that I can…borrow.

With my superior senses, I easily avoid detection, even with the child on my hip – who has been watching everything with big quiet eyes.

From what I remember, humans often left clothing to dry on lines outside a home.

Sure enough, I soon find a home with such apparel. Ducking back into the trees, I quickly dress, shifting my form slightly in order to fit the smaller size of the pants and shirt.

My charge watches me solemnly. I realize it’s been some time since she’s eaten, and she’s had nothing to drink since before I found her.

It was a good thing I will be finding her a proper home; a dragon is obviously not suited to care for a human youngling.

I pull out one of the apples, using a hastily formed claw to slice it into several small pieces. She eagerly takes a slice. “Appal, tanks!” She says while gumming the piece of fruit.

While she eats, I concentrate on listening to the sounds around me. It’s still early enough that people are out and about. Slowly their words start to make sense.

The dialect is not far removed from what I had learned in my youth, so the process doesn’t take long, and soon I’m confident I will be able to converse with the villagers.

Apparently, my companion has had enough of being carried and insists on walking, she concedes to take my hand, and I lead the way into the village, heading for the still-busy main thoroughfare.

I’m unsure of what I’m looking for exactly, but hopefully, I’ll know when I see it.

I feel a tug on my hand as the little one pulls me this way and that, unafraid of the crowd streaming past us.

I keep my eyes on the mortals around us, but for the most part, they pay us little attention.

I’m studying their faces, trying to determine which ones look kind. How can I be sure that these people wouldn’t do to this little girl what her own parents had done?

That dark thought has a low growl rumbling past my lips. A surprisingly strong tug on my hand interrupts my musings.

I glance down as she tugs again, her face intent on a small home just off the busy road. A woman is tending a small garden out front while a burly dog keeps watch from the dusty walkway.

Curious as to what has drawn her to this place, I let her pull me in their direction.

The woman is intent on gathering herbs from a garden. I hear the old dog give a low growl at our approach, but it remains by the woman.

I stop, holding the child’s hand firmly, not allowing her to get closer to the animal. I’m about to scoop her up when she unexpectedly pulls her hand free, dashing towards the pair.

I’m so shocked at her sudden movement that I don’t react immediately. But my stupor doesn’t last long, and I stumble after her.

The hound rises as the child approaches, and my heart lurches in my chest. The beast limps forward, favoring a rear foot, but only issues another low growl.

His mistress turns with a look of shock on her sun-weathered face. “Tobias, no!” Her voice is stern but not panicked.

I reach my charge just before she launches herself at the dog, lifting her up to my chest. “Daagy!” She wails, struggling in my arms as I hold her aloft.

I struggle with her even as I realize that is the name that she kept calling me in my dragon form. Did she think I looked like a dog!? I’m not sure if I feel amused or insulted.

“No little one, you can’t just run up to dangerous beasts,” I admonish even as I dodge her flailing hands.

The woman walks over to us, wiping her hands on her stained smock. “Tobias will not harm her. He grumbles but he’s a gentle giant,” she assures me.

“Um, I’m sorry to disrupt your day,” I mumble as the child finally calms.

The woman looks us up and down before replying. “No disruption, I was done anyways. You two look new around here,” she says, her words more a statement than a question. But I answer her anyways.

“We are. I…we,” I pause for a moment thinking quickly. “We have traveled from the east, but I lost my pack with most of our belongings while crossing the river a half days hike back,” I say, hoping that will explain our lack of provisions.

“Goodness, that’s some bad luck.” Her eyes soften as she gazes at the girl in my arms.

“Come, I have some stew ready, and I can even part with some of my Jomaa’s clothing, he was a tiny thing so they should fit her,” her voice is kind, and I feel we can trust her.

“That is most generous,” I nod, offering her a smile. Her cheeks pinken before she turns to lead us into her home.

The home is small but surprisingly clean and cozy. The warm air is infused with the smell of the stew and my mouth waters.

“Please sit, you look weary,” she indicates the small table. I take one of the chairs, placing the girl on my lap. Her gaze is still on the dog that has followed us in before he limps over to the fire to flop down.

“I’m Mayva, what’s your little one called?” She asks as she spoons stew into a bowl.

“I do no..” I stumble, almost saying I did not know. She obviously thinks the child is mine so, of course, I should know her name.

“Ido? She asks, a confused look on her face.

“Ido…lyn” I stammer out.

“Idolyn, that’s very pretty,” she says, glancing at the girl.

“And you?” her gray eyes find mine as she places a big bowl of stew and a chunk of buttered bread in front of us.

“Bryvin” I tell her, giving her a name I’ve used in the past when visiting other races.

Idolyn, as she is newly called, is not interested in the food. I let her slip off my lap.

I watch her warily as I take a spoonful of the stew. Her little face is bright as she studies the dog. The dog seems to also be interested in her.

Its ears perk as Idolyn takes a step towards it and its shaggy tail starts to thump against the floor in a happy wag.

The spoon freezes halfway to my mouth when I feel that shiver along the ether once more. My eyes widen as I notice the child’s hand is holding onto the dog’s paw, the injured one, and a realization hits me. She is communicating with the animal!

The hound’s head is cocked as it regards Idolyn with adoring eyes.

I feel the warmth of magic, but it’s not from me this time.

Unbelievably, this magic is coming from the little mortal human on the floor. I feel my jaw drop as several more certainties fill me.

She has used magic to heal the dog’s injured paw. She is the first of her kind and her powers will be beyond anything this world has seen; for that, her life will be in peril, and I am meant to protect her.

I have so many questions, too many. But when she turns her big blue eyes back to mine, a calmness falls over me.

She’s mine to protect and I will make sure she reaches adulthood. I will do what I can to help her and find the answers we need, even if that means visiting the land of the elves and dwarves. Even seeking out the ancient serpent herself!

“Mayva, do you know of a place for sale, one not within the village but a day or so walk?” I ask, my eyes not leaving the little girls.

“I think we will be here for a while,” I mumble.

Fantasy
3

About the Creator

Heather Zieffle

I've been writing for a few years, and I'm grateful to have found my passion! I've self-published several sci-fi romance novels on Amazon, but want to branch out into fantasy soon. Any feedback is welcome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Another foundling, or a sister to the one the harpies had?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.