Fiction logo

The mission

Chapter 1

By Haley Published 28 days ago 4 min read
Like
The mission
Photo by Ian Keefe on Unsplash

Chapter 1

I’m standing up against my marble kitchen counter drinking a glass of water. I know I have to hurry, my patient is waiting on me in my office. My sister just came to mind, she always told me “Vayda you shouldn’t have patients come to your home! You don’t realize how dangerous it could be”. But what harm could it really do? Yes I’m a therapist but I only have children for my patients. What harm could a child do? Although it is easy for me to tell which children just need ears to listen and which ones will probably be serial killers. It is scary to think about but they trust me. They all trust me. I walked back to my office to see a little blonde hair blue eyed boy just looking at the paintings on my wall. His legs were crossed and his hands were folded into each other. Milo’s mother sent him to me because she believes he hears voices in his head, I told her that could be a child’s imagination and she insisted that he has real issues.

Vayda- Milo, how are you doing today?

Milo- I’m doing okay.. thank you for asking Miss.

Vayda- Your mother told me she thinks you hear voices in your head? Do you want to tell me anything about these voices?

Milo- I don’t hear voices in my head, I hear them in my house. By the basement door. I’m not allowed to go in the basement, my mom says it’s a secret room but it’s not fair! It’s my house too. The girl who talks to me through the door says she is my sister. I’ve never seen her though, but mom says it’s just the voices in my head.

Vayda- Milo you believe your sister is in the basement ? Is this door locked?

Milo- yes miss, it has a lock that has little buttons on it with numbers. I don’t know the numbers to use. I’m not allowed to touch the door.

Vayda- What does your sister tell you?

Milo- She told me her name was Lylac. She said she has been down in the basement for awhile now but she doesn’t know how to count so she doesn’t know how long.

I was scared to death, I didn’t know how to respond or react. What do you do when a 7 year old little boy tells you he has a sister locked in the basement? I immediately called his mom to pick Milo up. After about 20 minutes she arrived. Miss.June, I said. “Do you have a child locked in your basement?”

“NO” she yelled loudly, “I’m telling you, he hears voices in his head! I do not have a child locked in my basement!”

We exchanged looks, she looked disgusted with me and grabbed Milo by the arm. I yelled softly “I’ll see you next week Milo!”. I can’t stop thinking about what he told me. I pull my laptop out & Googled “Martha June”. Nothing, I found nothing about her. It’s like she doesn’t even exist. What is this lady lying about and why can’t I find anything about her ?

I googled the address of her home, which is on the paper work of all my patients. It actually doesn’t even have her name marked as the owner, which is a little off but whatever. She owns a 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom home. It’s actually quite beautiful. It has many details about it, such as the stunning barn, I also found out that they have a bidet in one of the bathrooms. But.. I don’t see anything about a basement. That’s weirdly off. Something doesn’t feel right about this lady, and I think I want to figure out what it is.

A week finally passed, I’m due to an appointment with Milo in about 2 hours. I spent most of my week canceling appointments because my head is so wrapped around what Milo told me last week. I also spent most of the week trying to read, I did some gardening. Who would think I have 3 acres of just yard and I have a small garden that takes up 7 feet of the yard. I enjoy it though, I love my little garden bed.

Vayda- Help Milo, it is nice to see you again.

Milo- Miss, I want to tell you that I don’t have a sister in my basement and I was scolded for lying. I’m sorry that I lied.

Vayda- Milo, you lied? That’s very serious to lie about. I don’t believe you could make that up.

Milo- well I did make it up. I lied to you. My mother told me I had to apologize.

I knew he wasn’t telling the truth. His mother scolded him because he was exposing something she didn’t want anyone to know. I have a very particular way when it comes to therapy, I know when anyone is lying. I was going to make it my mission to find out what’s going on at Milo’s house that his mother is trying to hide.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.