Fiction logo

The Missing Railway

a short story by JC

By JCruzz.__Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read
1
Nothing matters not today

There’s a cool breeze that wakes me, where my hair touches my forehead. The migrating smell of fresh watered floor caresses my nose, from the rain of the night before. A smell that urges my body to get up, and as I struggle to do so my body aches in pain. I see a bruise up against my thigh, and a couple covering my stomach. I gasp in aspiration “Where am I?”.. was the first thought that came to mind. I try to look in every direction, in hope that I see someone, but no one is around. This is no ordinary place I seem to be in. I can’t see past the window in front of me. The window from what I soon come to realize is inside a train. A train that seems to have been abandoned, and half left restored because the inside doesn't look mistreated. However, as I keep looking around the train keeps moving with no intention of stopping, we keep passing station by station. "Am I the only one here?" I run to pry open the door but all doors are locked, and there is no way out. "Hello! Can anyone hear me! Why Am i here?" I scream. It's early morning, I can see the fog slowly disappearing from the sky. My heart starts racing, and the further we keep going the more the pain I start to feel. The only thing keeping me calm is watching the sunrise. I don’t have any recollection of today, or my past "I don't know who I am". I don’t even remember how I got here. Somehow I faintly remember the abandoned train I seem to be in.

The cold seats have started to latch on the bottom of my legs, and my hands have become frozen without feeling. As we pass by a railway I remember something, this particular station is on my way home. It’s the only railway that's a couple miles from where I live. A good glance upon to know it’s nothing you’d ever want to cross by twice, because it leaves a sense of solitude, to a bright sunny day. I hear voices on the other end of the train. “Who are they?”, I think to myself. “What is this place!? Why am I here?” I scream, trying to catch their attention, as I see them pass by each other. “Please help me!” as I bang on the door.

“Can you please stop yelling!!” as he fights his way through the door. I gasp.

“Can you please help me?” As I try to run outside he grabs me and stops me from leaving. I try to fight him off but his giant arms don't let me “Who are you!? Why am I here!?” I scream at him still unable to see his face clearly.

“You, Sarah, are here because this is the place you are meant to be at the time being. Do you remember at all what happened?” as he tries to keep me calm "Do you remember anything?" he says in all black uniform.

“Remember? Remember what!? And how do you know my name?” I tell him, and not a single memory did I have of anything that could explain my situation. The more he stands there trying to keep me calm the more confused I get.

"How could this place be where I’m meant to be?" I tell him "And what is that? What is this place?" As I take a glance at the other side of the train

“They’ll explain everything. Don’t worry, the important thing is you're okay. I'll try to get some Ice for you. I know you're in pain” As he steps back from the door.

“Don’t worry? What do you mean? Hey, Hey! Please don't leave. Get me out of here. You didn’t even tell me your name”

I'm left startled and in shock as he leaves, have I been kidnapped I think to myself. "What was that? On the other side of train? Computers? A system?". How doesn’t anybody see what's going on? This isn’t normal, this train isn’t supposed to be happening on the railway, this train isn’t even operational, it’s been missing for years. As the train keeps moving, the two men on the other side seemed startled by something coming from behind them. They leave in a hurry trying to figure out what was going on. There seemed to be smoke coming from a fire that had been started.

“Let me out of here!!!!!” I yell

“Hi Sarah, I don’t believe we have properly met. My name is Savannah, but you may call me Save. I believe these are yours” she says with a gentle voice, and red curly hair, as she hands me my glasses.

“Savannah?”

“Yes, most call me Savannah, but given the circumstance, since you aren’t any ordinary person, you may call me Save”

“Okay well Save, Who are you people? How doesn't anybody tell me what's going on? Where are we going?”

“We my darling are going where no one can ever reach but would dream to be in. That's where I'm taking you, and the guys you saw earlier are a part of it too”

“What do you mean? I can’t go wherever this is taking me. I have a life, things to do”

“I’m sorry but do you remember at all what happened last night”

“Last night?.”

All of a sudden it hits me. Nothing has made sense since I woke up. As I try to remember, I take a gaze outside. The sky has an asymmetrical manner to it. It never does. The sun always wakes up shining bright, and lighting straight ahead. As I do Savannah looks at me and leaves, as if she knows the only way for me to remember is if she's gone. She has a sense of worry in her as she walks away, but nothing about her makes sense either. While I try to recapture the moment I’m in, I see every station pass by one after the other. Everyone outside is living their lives as if nothing were to matter, like they weren't real. With every stop we pass that train moves a little faster, a little faster each time. I catch a glance upon something, as we pass by. A school “Alethread Elementary School”. As I see it I remember that’s my daughters school. Suddenly I remember everything. I call Savannah right away. A flashback kicks in

Savannah enters “Do you remember?”

“Yes, we were together last night. My family, we went out to eat like we do every Friday night right after work. But we got caught by something, three men were following us and my husband was trying to keep us protected, but as we were fighting them off he got caught and they took my daughter as well! I need to get out of here. I need to go find them, they need help!” as i try to leave the pain in my body doesn't let me.

“Yes. It’s okay, it’s okay don’t worry I got you. We are on our way to go get them. But we can’t go to them directly. We need to make headquarters first. They've already told us where to meet them”

“Headquarters, I’m sorry but you still haven’t explained to me how it is I’m here?”

“We saw you, my group and I. We’ve been following you and your husbands work for months, In hope to work with you. When we got there you were already outside on the floor, and as we were trying to get to you and your family, they took them away, and we were only able to save you.”

“Oh my god. How are we getting to them? Do we know they are safe? their location. My daughter is a kid she’s only 5, she doesn’t know any better, we need to get to them quickly please.”

"Yes, they've already told us what they want apparently we weren't the only one's who knew"

"Who else knows?"

Suddenly the train shakes and it started moving faster, and faster, and faster. It wouldn't slow down. "What's happening?" I scream, I look at Savannah, but she disappears into thin air, from far away I see everyone else started disappearing as well. "Ahhh!!" I scream , as I wake up from my sleep. I wake up to my daughter laying right next to me waving “Good morning mommy”. With my husband on the other side of me asleep. A cloud of relief sets in.

"Could they know?"

Why it was all just a dream.

family
1

About the Creator

JCruzz.__

Aspiring writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.