Fiction logo

The mirror

.

By PennyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The mirror
Photo by Дмитрий Хрусталев-Григорьев on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. And that, I had come to realise, was the sign that I would die soon.

I was born into this world like any other child, but my memories were different. From the moment I opened my eyes, I knew that I had been here before. I remembered my past lives with vivid clarity, the joys and the sorrows, the loves and the losses. I had lost count of the number of times I had woken up to find a new body staring back at me, feeling the familiar sensation of confusion and disorientation.

The only constant in my lives was the mirror. It was always there, following me from life to life, and showing up in different places. A friends house, in department stores, restaurants, you name it. Each time showing me a reflection that was never my own but it was always the same. Never the face of the body I was in, but always the same woman. For some reason, I was convinced it was the face of the first me. The one that started all this. She would look back at me with a knowing smile and I knew my time was up and I would die soon. She would never let me live for very long and I'd never seen old age. I always stayed as old as the face in the mirror. Come to think of it, the mirror didn't seem to age either.

The first time I discovered the mirror, I thought it was a coincidence. The second time, I began to understand. By the third time, I knew it was following me, haunting me. It was a curse, this constant cycle of death and rebirth. I tried destroying the mirror many times, but it always destroyed me.

In the beginning, I tried to find solace in my new lives, to build relationships and find meaning in my existence. I'd been people from all over the world. I've been a monk, a warrior, a dancer... I've been rich and poor from all corners of the earth. But I always knew that eventually, I would be ripped away.

As the lives passed, I began to feel more and more trapped, more and more isolated. I stopped connecting with family in any real way, it was easier because I knew it was all temporary. They would be gone soon, and I would have to start all over agin with new faces. I sometimes thought other lives repeated too. A grandmother who was now a cousin. Things like that. It didn't matter though, they didn't remember. Only I did.

My most recent life though... this one felt different. I could feel it in my bones from the moment I was born into this new body. A sense of unease that I couldn't shake and followed me around every corner. And then, one day, I saw the mirror again. This time, it was in a dark alleyway, surrounded by shadows. As I walked towards it, my heart pounding in my chest, I felt a deep sense of foreboding, a feeling that something different was going to happen this time.

As I stood in front of it, I saw the reflection, distorted and twisted like a funhouse mirror. It was her, but not her. A dark presence seemed to be lurking just behind my eyes, and I felt a chill run through my body.

I couldn't tear my gaze away from the mirror. It was like a magnet, drawing me closer and closer until I was inches away from its surface. And then, she reached out from behind the glass, grabbed hold of me, and everything went black.

When I opened my eyes, I was something else. I no longer had a body. The room was filled with a white and yellow light.

I heard the constant clicking, tapping all around me.

And with each sound, I knew that my nightmare had only just begun. The mirror was a gateway to a world of darkness, a place where my soul would be tormented for all eternity.

I no longer had a body or a face. The mirror wasn't haunted. It was me.

I'm just words trapped on a page. My life, created and intended for no purpose other than to chill whoever read its words. I was just a story in Penny's twisted creation.

Keys tapping louder and louder I try to get out but I can't take

contryl&(@£8hrwv2HELP! HELP!

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Penny

Thank you for supporting my page :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.