Fiction logo

The Miracle Box

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read

Today, like every day for the past year, Judy Trudeau had gone to visit her ten year old son, Timmy, in the hospital. He was in a coma, and she had been visiting almost every day to talk to him. She prayed and begged for him to wake up. He was hit with a baseball while at a game with his father, and even though she knew she shouldn’t blame John, she did. She grabbed Timmy’s hand and started talking.

“Do you remember when you were three? It was Valentine’s Day and you brought me a homemade card that read, ‘I loaf u mommy?’ I want another Valentine’s Day card. Please wake up, Tim.”

Judy took a deep breath before speaking again.

“Do you remember when I dropped you off for school when you were eight and you were too embarrassed to give me a hug, but when no one was looking you turned around and waved goodbye. I want to embarrass you again. Please, please wake up, Tim. Remember when… when…” Judy began to cry.

“Remember when he was five and we took the dog on a walk. The dog began going to the bathroom and he looked shocked, then pointed and asked ‘dogs go poo too?’” John said.

“John, what are you doing here? I didn’t hear you walk in,” Judy said.

“I just got here. I just wanted to visit Timmy,” John said.

“Well, you’ve seen him. Now you can go,” Judy said.

“Oh come on, Judy, be reasonable. I’ve been apologizing for taking him to the game since the day of the accident. I rue that day as much as you. When are you going to let this go,” John said.

“How dare you. I’m never going to let this go. Never, John. Do you hear me? And I don’t have to, you should have never brought him to that game. I told you he had school tomorrow and needed his sleep, but you took him anyway. This is your fault,” Judy shouted.

“You’re right, I’m sorry. That was a bad choice of words, you’re entitled to be angry. I just wanted some bonding time with Timmy. It’s what fathers do. Please just let me see Timmy. I want to sit with him for a minute. Just a minute,” John said and sighed.

“Father’s don’t put their children in comas,” Judy shouted.

“It wasn’t me, it was that damned ball,” John shouted back.

A doctor peaked his head in through the door.

“Is everything alright in here? I heard shouting,” the doctor said.

“Everything’s fine. Were just talking loudly. You can go,” John said.

“Is everything fine, Judy?” The doctor asked. John looked at Judy.

Judy inhaled air and said “Yes, everything’s fine. You can go.”

“Thank you Judy,” John said.

“Alright, I’m here if you need anything,” the doctor said.

“We won’t,” John said and closed the door on the doctor. He shoved a chair in front of the door to make sure the nosy doctor couldn’t get back in. He walked up to Timmy and began talking.

“I’m sorry Timmy. Your mother’s right, I shouldn’t have taken you to that game. Please wake up Timmy, I’d love to watch another game with you, this time on television. We need you back in our lives. We’ve all been miserable without you,” John said. John began to cry and fell on his knees, then put his arms around Timmy.

“I love you Timmy. I love you and miss you so much,” John said.

“I’m sorry for blaming you John. It’s not your fault. I’m just angry,” Judy said.

“It is. It’s my fault. I should’ve listened,” John said through sobs.

John got up and dragged the chair from the door to Timmy’s bedside.

“That pesky doctor better not come back in,” John said. This made Judy smile.

“It’s been so long since we’ve talked. I forgot how funny you can be,” Judy said.

“Maybe one day we can put this behind us. I miss you so much,” John said.

“I’ll never be able to put Timmy behind us. I miss Timmy,” Judy said.

“I didn’t mean Timmy. I meant the anger, the resentment. We should be there to support each other. This has been hard on both of us,” John said.

“Maybe one day. Maybe if Timmy wakes up. Until then, it’s hard for me to not be angry,” Judy said.

“I understand,” John said. John caught a whiff of body odor.

“Judy, when was the last time you showered?” John asked.

“I haven’t left Timmy’s bedside in three days. I don’t want him to wake up alone,” Judy said.

“I’ll watch Timmy. You go shower,” John said.

“I don’t want to go home,” Judy said.

“You do know the hospital has showers, right? They’re right down the hall,” John said.

“I haven’t left this room much. Promise to get me if anything happens,” Judy said.

“I promise,” John said.

Judy left the room to go shower.

Six minutes later, she ran back in the room and asked, “Is he up? Is Timmy up?”

“No, Judy. He’s still in a coma. It’s only been a few minutes,” John said. Judy started laughing, then she broke down in tears and fell to her knees again. John walked to Judy, helped her back up and gave her a hug.

“I know, this feeling is horrible. We’ve tried every medicine and treatment imaginable and nothing has worked. I’m here for you, let me be here for you,” John said. Judy wrapped her arm around John, fought back tears and said, “Thank you John. I just want this nightmare to be over.”

“Me too, Judy. Me too,” John said. Judy and John sat down and watched Timmy sleep.

“He looks so peaceful,” John said.

“He really does,” Judy said, a tear dripping down her cheek. They dozed off, then awoke to a pounding on the door a couple hours later.

“Visiting hours are almost over,” a nurse said.

“We’re his parents. We’re entitled to be here,” John barked.

“Oh, sorry,” the nurse said and scurried off. The nosy doctor came back into the room.

“Have either of you seen a drone flying around?” The doctor said.

“No, why?” John said.

“Apparently some wealthy executive at a pharmaceutical company is sending out packages of what he’s calling a ‘miracle cure.’ He’s claiming it can cure anything from cancer to comas. It’s not been F.D.A. approved yet, so it might not be safe. We’re trying to stop the deliveries. If you see a drone with a package, let me know,” the doctor said.

“Sure thing, doc,” John said and slammed the door on the doctor.

“I hate this job,” the doctor said.

John walked over to Judy and said, “Are you thinking what I’m thinking?”

“That it’s a little cold in here and they need to turn up the heat?” Judy said.

“No. We need to get that package before the hospital staff does. They’d destroy the only possible cure for Timmy,” John said.

“That’s a great idea, but how do we do that?” Judy asked.

“We leave this room and start looking,” John said. Judy stood up and they walked to the door.

After they opened it, they saw a drone with a box flying past them. John grabbed the drone.

“Gotcha,” he said. He pulled in the drone and slammed the door shut.

“Hurry, open the box,” Judy said. John ripped the box from the drone then ripped off the packaging.

“Hurry,” Judy shouted again.

“I heard you. I’m going as fast as I can. I need something sharp to get the damned box open,” John said.

“Will these work?” Judy asked and handed John a pair of scissors. John sliced open the box. Inside the box was a note.

John read the note aloud, “Inside you will find an injectable medicine. This medicine will cure most ailments, please inject into neck. Thank you. Willy, Bass pharmaceuticals.”

A nurse walked in the room.

“I’m just here too check in. Hey, what’s that box, is that a drone? Wait a minute, you’re supposed to give that package and drone to us if you…”

“Get out,” Judy shouted and charged at the nurse. She pushed the nurse out of the room and stood in front of the door.

“Hurry, John. Give the shot to Timmy, I can’t hold them off forever,” Judy shouted. John took the needle out of the box and injected it into Timmy’s neck. With help from a doctor and security guard, the staff finally managed to push the door open.

“It’s too late, John already gave the medicine to Timmy,” Judy said.

“What have you done? This is bad, you don’t know anything about the side effects. You don’t even know if this will work or not. Why would you do this?” The doctor asked.

“To save our son’s life. A dozen side effects aren’t half as bad as spending a year in a coma,” Judy said and crossed her arms.

“That’s right. If you doctors and nurses want to wait another ten years for F.D.A. approval, then you can screw off. Waiting a year was long enough, you bastards,” John said. Timmy’s arm started to twitch.

“That could be a side effect,” the doctor said and pointed to Timmy. John and Judy turned around.

Timmy slowly opened his eyes and said, “Mommy?”

“Oh my god. We’re right here, sweetie,” Judy said. Judy and John ran over to Timmy, grabbed his hand and started crying.

“Why are you crying?” Timmy asked.

“It’s a long story. What’s the last thing you remember?” John asked.

“Trying to catch a baseball,” Timmy said. John and Judy smiled.

“The baseball hit you in the head. You’ve been in the hospital ever since,” Judy said.

“Am I better now?” Timmy asked.

“You’re better now. Let’s go home,” John said.

“Thank god for the miracle box,” Judy said on her way out and pushed the doctor and nurse out of the way.

Copyright © 11/19/2022 by A.H. Mittelman. All rights reserved.

AdventureClassicalExcerptfamilyFantasyHumorLoveMysterySatireSci FiShort StoryYoung Adult

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Lucas Gazrie11 months ago

    Wonderful!

  • Hannah Moore2 years ago

    Wish fulfillment nagic

  • Another amazing story Alex.

  • Gal Mux2 years ago

    I am glad the son woke up but damn injecting stuff you don't know into a kid is dangerous. But I understand the desperation.

Alex H Mittelman Written by Alex H Mittelman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.