Fiction logo

The Midnight Witches

Sacred Ties (Excerpt)

By MK ColbertPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
2
The Midnight Witches
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Death was in the air tonight. It weaved its body within the branches and danced along with the leaves, haunting those not ready for its return. I longed for it to come because tonight was a special occasion for my brother and my best friend Miranda. They would become one for eternity within the underworld.

This had never been done before. The Coven of the Chalice would be the first to attempt such a union. There were only a few other witches within our coven willing to try this spell on a living human being. There was a chance that during the spell Miranda would die before transitioning but it was a chance that she was willing to take.

We quickly began to prepare the cleansing ritual of the location. The grounds of Bay Acre were a haunting place to those who journeyed through unaware of its treacherous pathways, hidden riverbanks, and groves of towering oak trees that appeared to reach out and grab you while blocking out the breath of the sun.

The forest floor flourished with vibrant greens of all shades bold, lush, and free. There was an unspoken truth of the freedom that dwelt within the forest. The coolness of the night caressed every inch of my curves through my black sheer bohemian dress, and I embraced it. I felt a cold hand upon my shoulder.

“Lily, please come and help me...” Miranda spoke gently as she walked away and placed the chalice on the old rock mantle and laid the spell bible in the center of the earthen mound.

Her hands were cold as ice and she was shivering from the night wind that carried the river’s essence. The candles upon the mantle began to distinguish themselves as the moon’s neon illumination cast a delicate glow upon our skins.

“Mother earth is getting impatient; we must hurry Lily! Belzar has been waiting too long for my arrival.” She uttered in panic.

“Calm down, Miranda. we will help you!” I pulled her into my arms briefly and planted a sisterly kiss on her cheek. She gave me a quick smile and pulled away frantically.

“We must hurry, for my father will not be pleased to know that I have run away to be with Belzar. How could I explain to my father that my love burns like fire since the Cave of Neesis? Do you remember that day Lily?”

“I remember, Belzar saved you from the Dragon Slygar. No one remembers better than me… Breathe, Miranda…”

I grabbed Miranda by the hands and placed them within mine. I admired the light of the moon dancing upon her red hair weaving throughout the shadows of the night and cascading along her innocent round face of freckles and lurid green eyes.

I would miss Miranda. She was my best friend and soon to be my sister in a whole new way. We spent many days and nights traveling up and down Rock Rose Caves, casting spells, and playing hide and seek within the forest. I could tell Miranda anything and she would hold it close to her heart, no matter what it was. Miranda smiled at me and accepted me within her arms as if I would never see her again. As she released me, I could feel the grief wanting to set in, the betrayal of being left behind.

I told myself I wouldn’t cry. As I glanced over my shoulder, I could see Miranda pick up our family’s spellbook and place it within the ring of special conjuring sigils.

Miranda then took the sharp blade and delicately carved her name alongside the elders into the magic oak tree which started to bleed. This was the beginning of the ritual in which Miranda became one with nature. Miranda grabbed her womb and fell to her knees. We stood by watching to see what would happen next. She looked up towards me and our eyes met.

“I can feel it, Lily, I can feel the transformation starting.”

“Do you need help, Miranda?” I asked.

“No, no, continue the preparations for the wedding…I will be fine”.

Miranda managed to get upright on her knees and allowed the spirit from the tree to trickle slowly into the sacred golden chalice. This chalice was special because it held a stone that powered the divine gateways between earth and the heavens.

Miranda would be leaving us once she made a covenant with Belzar. Belzar was the God of gates and keeper of the spiritual portals. He led souls from one world to the next but not without regret and envy. Belzar was cursed by my mother to remain in the spiritual realm after saving us from our father and I had not yet figured out how to break the spell.

My heart ached for my brother for he did what he felt was just. Thoughts of him reminded me of his sacrifice to set us free from our father’s wrath of wanting to strip us of our immortality. Father was a wicked half-man, half-god who was threatened by our growing wisdom and strength. Mother blamed Belzar’s insurrection on her new shameful position that cost her what she tried so hard to preserve… her own life.

Her fury caused her to curse Belzar only allowing him to step foot into the earth realm, once every seven years for one evening, after the sun sets under a full moon.

The truth is Belzar does not deserve Miranda. He will never be able to give her the love that she is worthy of receiving. Miranda is indebted to Belzar because he saved her, not because she loves him. I see Miranda out the corner of my eye picking up sticks and running towards the fire.

“Lily, Lily! the fire is dying, quick! add some wood.” Shouted Miranda.

“Sisters, would you please relight the candles?” Miranda continued to shout requests as she ran around the sacred space making sure everything was in order.

Marshae the eldest of the coven was already busy preparing the chalice with her two assistants. Marshae was the most skilled in black magic and a Seer. Marshae had jet black hair down to her waist, she was thin and pale and wore black lipstick underneath a black veil. She was eager to see what spirits would come to assist Belzar in taking Miranda into their realm. She prepared 4 glasses and poured red wine into them anchoring them in each direction around the sacred space, north, south, east, and west. The red wine would serve as an invaluable gift to our spiritual guests.

It was now time for me to focus and call on my ancestors and the spiritual council in hopes that they would honor this zealous sacrifice, being it was only my family’s chalice that would be able to open the gateway. Miranda began to remove her clothing and slip into a white lace gown, that once belonged to her mother. She began to get weak as she laid her now pale body down in the middle of the sacred circle.

The sisters hastily prepared her body by rubbing cedar, neroli, and frankincense oil over every inch of her skin. It glistened like the stars taken up companionship with the moon. They placed a floral headpiece upon her head and scents of lavender danced within the wind. Even in this state, Miranda was a beautiful bride.

I opened the spellbook and stood over Miranda’s abdomen. Marshae handed me the chalice and I dripped three drops onto Miranda’s stomach and then Marshae placed the rest in each glass of red wine. One sister stood behind me as added spiritual protection as I continued to read, and the others positioned themselves at Miranda’s feet.

“O Gracious Goddess and O Gracious God we enter the realm of both worlds. Weave, if you will a protective light around us. Divine Mother we ask that you show us the way for our sister may have a clear path to the other side.

“Miranda do you choose on this night to return from where you came and join in union with Belzar?”

“Yes, Lily I do.” Miranda said with a quivering voice.

The sisters take a large white sheer cloth like a veil and drape it over Miranda's body. They begin to sing to our ancestors. I hear the whispers of the council and feel a shifting in the wind. It has begun.

“Miranda, there’s no going back. They have agreed, Belzar will be here any minute.”

“I know, please hurry, keep going!” shouted Miranda.

“Wait, sisters! Do you hear that?” Marshae loudly inquired.

“No.” I replied.

“What sister?” asked Miranda.

“Something is coming, something is in the forest!” Marshae exclaimed.

“Hurry, Lily!” Miranda beckoned.

“I see lights, sisters, and I feel the energy of beast, many beasts! This will not end well if we stay here.” Marshae proclaims.

Marshae runs to an oak tree and places her ear upon it and listens and then places her hand on the earth while we patiently wait for her to tell us what we should do next.

“Run sisters, leave Miranda and run, go hide quickly or we will all die!”

I looked at Miranda who was terrified of us leaving her, but she knew that Marshae saw clearly, and her visions were never wrong.

“Who is it Marshae?” I asked, as I picked up the family spellbook and wrapped it in a manilla linen cloth.

“I can’t see them; I can only feel their hate!”

“Go, go, go sisters, I will be fine. Come back for me when the coast is clear, I will only slow you down. Hopefully, Belzar can take me with the ritual that has already been done, if not I will be at peace knowing that I tried.”

Miranda smiled and closed her eyes. We all kissed Miranda on the forehead and ran into the forest far enough to be hidden but close enough to see what would happen next.

Dogs began to bark, and you could hear the hooves of what sounded to be horses and the voices of men with bright torches. I pray they don’t burn my sister alive; the pain would be too much to bear. I strain to see but one of the men jumps down from their horse near Miranda and takes a sheet and swiftly covers her body as the other men are gathering around.

“Where are you Coven of the Chalice? What have you done to my beloved daughter? I will punish you all for this! I will find you witches!” the voice boomed like thunder within the forest.

My heart was racing even though my body remained still. I knew that voice. It was Gunter, Miranda’s father. He hated witches, especially because Miranda’s mother left him for a Warlock when Gunter refused to follow the path of our ancestors.

Gunter kneeled next to Miranda who had now passed out and he began to weep.

“Miranda, can you hear me?”

Miranda did not speak, and her body did not respond to her father’s voice. Gunter looked up at the men that stood around him and calmly proclaimed.

“Check her out, we may still have time to save her.”

A young man jumped off his horse, pulled back the sheer sheet, and began to examine her for any signs of injuries. He placed his head upon her chest.

“She has a pulse but it's faint, we must go now!”

Gunter picked up his daughter’s almost lifeless body and laid it on the wagon.

“I will be back for you! I promise I will be back!” shouted Gunter as he mounted his horse and rode off into the blackness of the night.

Fantasy
2

About the Creator

MK Colbert

MK a.k.a Maritta Kachele is a Jamaican American singer-songwriter, poet, film producer, and mental health/prison reform advocate. She loves to create new realms of exploration and enjoys writing diverse pieces.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.